We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starter Salad”
Review of Kalays - CLOSED

Kalays
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Attire:Casual Payment Options:Visa Mastercard Parking:Parking Lot Price Range: $$ (10-30) Services: Takes Reservations Walk-Ins welcome Good For Groups Good For Kids Take Out Catering Waiter Service Specialties: Lunch Dinner Coffee Drinks Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/KALAYSSEAFOODRESTAURANT
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Starter Salad”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

True, it is not on the main drag, but it is worth the search. Particularly the scallop salad that started the meal for me. I am a great fan of scallops and have enjoyed them around the world. The introduction into a salad, however, with actual cucumber slices and tomatoes that matched the volume of lettuce was a very pleasant surprise. Restaurants should take a tip from the "less lettuce" approach. even if they have to charge more to compensate for the additional expense. Good job guys.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRWhiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    21
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent downeast cuisine!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent little restaurant in Belleville, Ontario. Was recommended by a family member and decided to check it out. Just a small restaurant but clean and really pretty. A little off the main street and might be a little hard to find if you don't know the area but worth the search. Extensive menu with lots of choices from down east. I ordered the beer battered one piece fish and chips (haddock) which came with a choice of soup or salad. I had a Caesar salad. My husband had one piece fish and chips but his was panko breaded and he had a garden salad. All the food was extremely delicious and the portions were huge (see pictures below). The Caesar salad was the best that I have had in a restaurant in a long time. The beer batter on the fish was thin and not greasy. The fries were excellent. The service was friendly. The bathrooms were clean. What more can you ask for? Definitely a 'do again'. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Newfygirl_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville
1 review
“Dinner”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Had the halibut for dinner. Root vegetables as a side were delicious. Perfect. Service and quality was second to done. Enjoyed Sandbanks wine.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Decent food, bit pricy and not fresh made”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Way better seafood then boathouse. Went to the store connected to the restaurant after placing my order for food to see if they had sushi grade fish to make sashimi with. While in the store I saw the chef pull out a lobster roll that I just ordered from the display fridge. Then I was served this exact same lobster roll in the restaurant for over double the price. Was obviously not fresh. Will not go back. Their rental room looked really nice for a private dinner b

Helpful?
3 Thank Dmatrix X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalays S, Owner at Kalays, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review. Our lobster rolls are made fresh at least 3-4 times per day. We make a few at a time as required and they are sold from our display case in the retail store and supplied to the restaurtant. All product for the restaurant comes from the retail store; For example, if you ordered fish the chef would have got it from the display case as well. This ensures our meals are made with the freshest product available which is what sets us apart from other restaurants as you mention. As per normal, there is a higher price between purchasing a prepared food to take home and heat up yourself or having it prepared for you in the restaurant. Also, your meal in the restaurant includes extras such as fries and coleslaw which is the reason for the price difference. The price from the display case is for the lobster roll only. Your experience is our normal procedures . The retail store supplies the restaurant with all fresh seafood they require to prepare the meals. My apologies if you expected something different from a Fresh Seafood Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
1 review
“Excellent feast”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

I had the halibut and fries. The halibut was lightly battered and not greasy at all. Fries were just right. Could not finish all my fries though I tried. My wife had the blackened haddock with root veg. She said the haddock was perfectly cooked. We will return.

Helpful?
Thank Jamlitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kalays also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing