We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn by the Rose Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn by the Rose Garden
Ranked #2 of 13 Belleville B&B and Inns
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

A lovely Victorian house, rooms are large and comfortable and very clean, towels changed daily.

Really good breakfast, nice patio to sit out on and enjoy a glass of wine. Didn't try the pool but looked inviting as weather v hot in August.

Easy walk into town, though not much there on main street, very quiet. Try the Boathouse for good fish meals, there are 2 marinas on the lake side and some lovely gardens to walk through.

Hostess/owner was very welcoming and nothing too much trouble.

Very close to bridge crossing to Prince Edward County would def recommend visiting Picton, the Lake on the Mountain which has 2 eateries both very good with lovely outdoor views, plus the Waupoos Estates Winery, very picturesque place to sample wine, take a tour of winery and eat.

One minor niggle re the Inn, on first entering the house found the smell of pot/pourri candles etc to be a little over powering (probably made worse by my head cold, but husband agreed smell bit too much), but first thought is - what is the perfume smell hiding in such an old house? Answer absolutely nothing place is lovely, just think she doesn't require quite so much perfumed smell.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliveoil54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We loved this Bed and Breakfast ! The owner was very welcoming and gracious! The breakfast was :fresh fruit, quiche, toast, cereal, eggs, croissant etc - very yummy! My niece enjoyed swimming in the pool. The Inn is a beautiful Victorian home, the rooms are large and bright. We felt at home and would definitely stay here again :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was the first time we have stayed at a B&B and it was an excellent experience. Property was easy to find and was in a lovely mature neighbourhood. It was very quiet and would be a great place to stay in the summer with the two patios off the main floor and the outdoor pool. Interior is victorian decorated with antiques, high ceilings, antique light fixtures etc. It does have adequate bathrooms but nothing that would wow you. The rooms, bathrooms and the entire property is very clean. Breakfast was great and the owner of the property is very pleasant and accommodating. Will definitely return if we need accommodations in Belleville again. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gorman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed at this beautiful house for 12 nights with my husband. Our hostess, Sandra, was lovely. She was so friendly and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for her. Our bedroom was 'Heavenly Dreams' and it was clean, comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was plentiful with lots of fresh fruit, cheese, toast, warm croissants and more. Sandra did us pancakes and maple syrup on two mornings, what a treat! We needed a late check out as we were not being picked up for our trip home until 6pm. Sandra just let us keep the room until we were ready to go as there was no one else booked into our room that night. This is a beautiful house and a real treat to stay in and only a short stroll to the shops.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and clean, you will not be disappointed with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancingQueenBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, VT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Located on a quiet leafy street beside a gorgeous public park called the Rose Garden, this B&B was the perfect choice for our stay in Belleville. The house is Victorian era with high ceilings and a gorgeous main stairway. Our room (the Best Nest) was spacious and comfortable (and I think all the rooms are quite large). The ensuite bathroom was on the smaller side in our room, but with a great shower and lots of space on the vanity for all our things. There is a large common room, a beautiful dining room and outside porch. While we did not use it, there is also an outdoor pool. WiFi was excellent. The B&B is walking distance to several excellent restaurants, and we also enjoyed just walking around the park and the surrounding streets. Breakfast was great and our hostess very kindly accommodated our request for a slightly earlier time. We highly recommend this B&B if your travels take you to Belleville.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Maples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed at the Inn by the Rose Garden for one night in March. I stayed in the room called Wine and Roses. I very much enjoyed my stay. The house is beautiful and very well restored. The bedrooms and comfortable and very clean. There is a large bathroom, also very clean.

The breakfast consisted of warm croissants, a selection of jams, fruit as well as eggs and cheese. Coffee, tea and juice were available.

The location of the hotel was good. Possible to walk or take a short drive to get to downtown Belleville.

I would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joy604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We booked 2 rooms four ourselves and a couple of friends of ours. We stayed for one night at the end of a day of touring the wineries in Prince Edward County. Our friends had the room called 'Heavenly Dreams', we had the big double room called 'Wine and Roses'. Both rooms were lovely, spacious, clean and very comfortable. Hostess-owner Sandra made us feel very welcome. We walked about 10 minutes to the main street for a fabulous dinner at 'Capers'; it was nice to be able to walk there and back. We slept wonderfully in the very quiet rooms. Breakfast in a beautiful dining room overlooking the side-yard consisted of warm flaky croissants with home-made jams, cheese, fresh fruits, cereals, toasts, hard-boiled eggs, yogourt, juice, and ample freshly brewed coffee.

Room Tip: The other rooms looked nice too, but ours I though had the best bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDO44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belleville hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belleville
BEST WESTERN Belleville
#2 of 7 in Belleville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
2.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Belleville
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Belleville
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Belleville
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Belleville
Comfort Inn Belleville
#5 of 7 in Belleville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Rose Garden

Property: Inn by the Rose Garden
Address: 144 Bridge St E, Belleville, Ontario K8N 1M7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Belleville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Belleville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn by the Rose Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian century home with high ceilings, beautiful mouldings, and grand staircase offers a delightful place for a business trip or vacation. Dining room and parlour are available for common use. A wet bar in the dining room features fridge, microwave, kettle, coffee maker and assorted teas for guests. Large bedrooms all have en suite bathrooms, desks and televisions. WiFi is available throughout the Inn. In the summer there is a deck with covered and uncovered sections, plus an outdoor swimming pool for guests to relax at. The Inn is situated within walking distance of downtown, the Bay front, and the hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Inn by the Rose Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Rose Garden Belleville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing