We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't return”
Review of Cafe E

Cafe E
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Wouldn't return”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This place seems like a decent menu but the food isn't very impressive. Sandwiches were very plain and small, and the hot chocolate tasteless. Deserts looked unappealing and service was slow. A disappointment, but cheaply priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Upscale and delicious”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Very nice place located across the Empire Theater. It is quiet, clean, excellent food and drink selection. Pricing is reasonable with potential to overspend on some items. I liked soup and sanswich, my family also had salads and Café Late.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yuris63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Food was wonderful”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Food was wonderful...staff is very nice. Food was made, presented and enjoyed. Ingredients were fresh. We will go back. They do need more parking :)

Helpful?
1 Thank makerofdreams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pleasant small cafe”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

A pleasant soup and sandwich cafe with plentiful desert selection. Ingredients tend to be of hotel quality. Very busy at lunch time. Entrance is in the parking lot off Front or Pinnacle in downtown Belleville.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This is a first for me and I was reluctant to add this review considering how great of a rating I had given it in the past, but... something has seriously changed and I am left scratching my head wondering if the baker/cook have been abducted by aliens or the owner of this once fabulous cafe has made a serious error. The last two times the orders had significantly smaller portions. We heard the the baker flew the coup so that explains the absence of the mouth watering moist and decadent carrot cake and the taste of the sandwiches (we ordered chicken avocado) was rather bland and missing some serious secret ingredients. The service is still incredible (waitresses are top notch) but I can't understand what happened? I am so sad.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whatsthefrequency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe E also viewed

Belleville, Ontario
 
Belleville, Ontario
Belleville, Ontario
 

Been to Cafe E? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing