We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place I've ate at in a long time”
Review of Dundas Diner - CLOSED

Dundas Diner
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
1 review
“The best place I've ate at in a long time”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It's a friendly atmosphere as soon as you walk in. They make you feel like you've known them. For years. The food is very good and you will not leave hungry or this has been my experience. This is one of my favorite spots to have a good meal and conversation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh, home style food ... fast.”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Recently renovated / reopened family owned and run diner located on Hwy 2 W. in Belleville (avoid the N. Front St fast-food strip traffic / congestion) -- added bonus of ample parking right in front of diner. Their renovations included making the restaurant and washroom facilities easily / fully wheelchair accessible.

Basically breakfast (all day specials) and lunch eating spot (7am - 2:00pm). However, due to growing popularity they have expanded to 7 days now to include Sat / Sun.

I have ate lunch there several times over past weeks and found food quality excellent, service friendly, welcoming and almost as quick as from a franchised fast food place. However, even if it wasn't, the food would be worth waiting for. Home made burgers are the real deal like Mom used to make, the Reuben sandwhich I had another time was great - complete with sauerkraut as it should be. There are daily lunch specials that go beyond the usual diner / deli menu.

Ask about their own special Dundas Diner dessert -- Fluffer "something or other" (forgot the full name). Something truly different in a light, refreshing type dessert.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundasDiner, Manager at Dundas Diner, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Now OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK!!! Come in and enjoy 7-2:30 Monday to Friday...8-1 Weekends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Erie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's home made!!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Dundas Diner has a breakfast or lunch special for under $6!!!
Home made burgers from fresh, home made soups.... Everything is so good, but the western sandwich is amazing!!
Unfortunately they are only opened during the week for breakfast and lunch... But I was advised if I have a party of 10 or more they will open Saturday or Sunday but with a limited menu.
Still a nice idea!!! For a family get together or a ball/hockey team or our motorcycle group!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scuba_Budda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundasDiner, Manager at Dundas Diner, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed your visit! This just in... we are now open for breakfast on Saturdays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dundas Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing