We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jalpaiguri
Certificate of Excellence
delhi
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great property”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The property is great you can actually feel close to the nature , rooms are spacious , bathrooms are good, and good ambiance, billiards table is screwed , food is ok like and No room service!!
They do provide bell boy service and hot water is sometime issue on first stay it was available the second time it was not. Pluck fresh fruit from tree and eat them if you want. People are very friendly.

Room Tip: if you want to relax then this is the place tv has only two channels good open pool, nice place to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gannitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sinclairs_Dooars, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review appreciating your stay with us! I am sure this will indeed be a help for all future guests to Sinclairs Retreat Dooars. Every positive feedback is an opportunity to feel good that we are on the right track and that our service is appreciated.

We do take in to serious account your complaint regarding the hot water service. Have directed our Maintenance personel to take immediate action and are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused. Thank you for letting us know, and we shall rectify this problem.

We hope you will return soon for yet another holiday with us and definitely an improved experience worthy of 5 star ratings!

Warm Regards,

Moloy Sarkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    85
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
81
43
3
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Went wthere few years ago with family to have a break after very heavy work schedule. Place is serene with lovely views. Provide for all basic necessities. Please be aware that is is in kind of middle of no where and you will enjoy either if you are in a group or are at peace in wilderness. Fodd is decent but basic. Rooms are neat and clean but like you would appreciate that in the green and wilderness you may find insects and lizards in the room. Nothin unusual and uncomfortable either.

Staff is very pleasant but have limitations due to location. Special meal orders need advanced notice. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janix500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sinclairs_Dooars, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which will be really useful for future guests! Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad the service, food and rooms lived up to your expectations and more – indeed an escape from routine life that can really recharge your batteries.

Do recommend us to your friends and relatives and return for your next holiday with us soon!

With regards,

Moloy Sarkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Sinclairs Retreat Chalsa was highly recommended by one of my colleagues who had visited the property few years back, when as I understand the property was in good condition and the food and service was good. As we were looking for a laid back relaxing holiday we decided on staying there for two nights on our way back from the hills. On arrival we found that the cottages were placed at quite a distance from the reception area which meant that we had to walk to our room from there. It was really difficult for my husband as he was not too well. The room was unclean with all flies and insects in it. We could not keep the doors open in fear of more insects and flies coming in and was stuck in the A/C room ( what difference if we go to a resort and are stuck inside a room without fresh air?) There was no view from the room except the back garden ( no flower trees) and the lawn in the front with a view which was also impaired by the lined up trees. I had expected a beautiful view from the room and was highly disappointed. The only place from where the valley can be seen is from the reception area. Since it was the full moon night, I had dreamt of walking in the lawn in the moonlight ( which is not possible in the city) , but was highly disappointed due to the strong floodlights all over washing away the moonlight.

The dining hall was adjacent to the reception area which meant every time we had to walk there for breakfast , lunch and dinner as there was no room service. The food spread was really very disappointing. As we had gone there on a package tour which included the breakfast and dinner we had no option but to go by the set menu which was a strange collection of dishes. Mostly rich Indian food with one or two dishes of chinese or so called continental. One day they served fried chicken ( supposed to be continental) which was deep fried oily staff with no accompanying vegetable. For lunch ( which was not included in the package) we were not allowed to order for any alacarte menu and had to again accept the strange buffet lunch being served. We were told that as there was heavy occupancy of the rooms, it was not possible to prepare alacarte for us. We had no choice. On enquiry we found that out of the 72 rooms, on that day only 25 rooms were occupied . If that is heavy occupancy then when is it sparsely occupied? We also saw that on some tables different food items ( not the set buffet items) were being served. Then why was the discremination?

For staying, I won't recommend Chalsa resort to my friends and family .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BhaswatiDasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sinclairs_Dooars, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent stay at the Sinclairs Retreat Dooars. I am sorry to read your concerns regarding the hygiene of our rooms. We do have insect repellants, however there can be no excuse for the excess insects. Please be assured that all your feedback has been shared with the Housekeeping.

We are disappointed that you didn't enjoy the Buffet breakfast. As you were visiting during the Puja Holidays, we were running high occupancy and during this time we serve meals in the buffet, but we do have a la carte as well. I'm sorry we failed to meet your expectations.

Regarding room service, due to the expanse of the Resort, we do not provide it. And, this is mentioned on check-in. We have also put up a note at the Reception regarding this.

None of our rooms have a view of the tea gardens or forests, and we have not mentioned this anywhere. We are surprised that you expected the same.

We look forward to your visit once again, and shall ensure you have a great holiday. Sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards,

Moloy Sarkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We looked forward to finishing our trip to India at Chalsa mainly to go to the two National Parks nearby. Unfortunately we arrived ontues and the parks are closed on Wednesdays so we decided to go straight away to Goramara. The desk organised a jeep which left at 2pm, The jeep was hardly roadworthy and stalled everytime he stopped. We reached the park at 2.30 got in at 3.30pm, stormed around and left at 4.30pm seeing only peacocks. The pool was green and filthy but were informed it would be clean by the morning, as we had nothing much else to do around area. In the morning it was still not clean - they were trying but it was a big job. We decided not to waste 2 more days here and left without any compensation being told that we booked with Agoda - whats the difference we still paid our money up front months ago. On a good note the food in the restaurant was very good and the room was OK after requesting an updated room..

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room - near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sinclairs_Dooars, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to place your detailed feedback on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to Sinclairs Retreat Dooars. Your comments have been noted and we can understand your disappointment with respect to the parks being closed, but this wasn't in our hands. Also, tourists do spot animals in the park, like rhinos and elephants, and we are surprised that you didn't, but we this isn't in our control either.

We have written to Agoda for a refund, so we can bear the cost of your entire holiday, and are sorry to not have met your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back once again with a hassle-free experience.

Kind regards,

Moloy Sarkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a great time at this resort. Right from our pick-up from Bagdogra airport , daily sight-seeing , food , leisure activites , spa....we were delighted by the care . Our room was huge , spacious & airy. Staff were very courteous , friendly and warm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sourav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sinclairs_Dooars, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments, and we are so happy that you left us with lovely memories.

We also sincerely thank you for your kindness in letting us know you were delighted with your stay, leisure activities, food and our service.

We are sure you will return to Sinclairs Retreat Dooars for your next holiday and while assuring you of our best service standards, we promise that we will have an even more memorable holiday the next time.

Warm Regards,

Moloy Sarkar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My experience with the hotel was completely horrible. It could have been a bad timing. But the looks of it though being exceptionally amazing doesnt help the services. I did get the taxi just on time, but there on, my experience went bad to worse. The room looked pretty but had lizards and all types of insects in wardrobe area, which kept me from keeping my stuff there. There was no electricity the entire night, and it was a pleasant thing. The generator fuel went off and we had sit in with candles for the complete time i was awake. I had a bad breakfast, which added on to making me feel terrible about the stay. I wouldnt recommend anyone coming to the hotel for i think the services cant help so much to getting this hotel to becoming better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AarshiAiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sinclairs_Dooars, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Madam,

I was shocked and disappointed to read your review, as this is the first negative review that we have received on TripAdvisor. What I would really like to know is if you had approached any of our Managers to redress your issues, instead of suffering in silence and waiting to get home to write about your dissatisfaction in a travel forum.

Our housekeeping team takes meticulous care to keep rooms and the resort clean and tidy. Since you visited during the monsoon, the appearance of insects and lizards is high, but these problems can be easily rectified. We regret the inconvenience that this may have caused you.

I can only wish you had approached our Chef with your issues regarding the food.

We sincerely wish every guest leaves Sinclairs Retreat Dooars with a truly memorable holiday experience so such reviews even though distressing are given utmost importance. It enables us to check operational procedures and take immediate and necessary action.

Do call us directly for your next visit and we assure you that we can meet and even exceed your expectations of our Resort.

Warm Regards,

Moloy Sarkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

sinclairs Dooars is one of the best resort in Dooars. its beautiful cottage style rooms are soo beautiful and luxurious. its good for leisure holidays. forget all your tensions here and rejuvenate your life

Room Tip: go to the base category room (Deluxe room ). even the base category rooms ate soo b'ful and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 124TARUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sinclairs_Dooars, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for appreciating your stay with us. Glad to hear that you found our Resort the best in the region. Our team will be pleased to note your mention of the beauty of the resort. Almost all our guests say that nature has blessed us with picturesque views which gives them an opportunity to take lovely photos. We wish you had posted some of yours!

Please recommend us to your friends and family and we hope to welcome you back once again.

Kind Regards,

Moloy Sarkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jalpaiguri
12.0 mi away
Aranya Jungle Resort
Aranya Jungle Resort
#1 of 4 in Lataguri
140 reviews
24.1 mi away
Royal Sarovar Portico
Royal Sarovar Portico
#1 of 27 in Siliguri
312 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Summit Barsana Resort & Spa
14.3 mi away
The Reserve Gorumara
The Reserve Gorumara
#1 of 4 in Gorumara National Park
113 reviews
12.1 mi away
Lake View Resort
Lake View Resort
#10 of 20 in Lataguri
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa

Property: Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa
Address: Chalsa Hill Top, Jalpaiguri 735206, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Jalpaiguri District > Jalpaiguri
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jalpaiguri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sinclairs Retreat Dooars located at Chalsa Hill Top in the Dooars region of West Bengal is spread over 20 acres of verdant green. Built in complete harmony with nature, the resort is ideal for those seeking rest, rejuvenation and adventure. The property has 66 rooms and three suites. These rooms and suites are in cottage style accommodation, with each cottage cluster having six rooms. The USP of our property is to 'come and live with nature'. The resort has a spa with steam and sauna, an olympic size swimming pool and a children's wading pool. It has its own organic farm with medicinal shrubs, flavouring herbs, exotic vegetables and aromatic plants. An air-conditioned multi-cuisine restaurant The Banyan Tree allows you to view the green while enjoying your meals. The Tusker Bar sets the ambiance for a cool evening where guests can enjoy drinks. The Bamboo Grove cafe is an epicurean delight and serves fresh and hot snacks. Recreational facilities croquet, cycling, table tennis, badminton, night cricket/football and billiards. A children's park and a library with a large number of books is available. The very essence of Dooars is its rich wildlife and exquisite flora and fauna which can be experienced in the reserve forests located nearby. The region is also famous for its lush tea gardens and is ideal for trekking, white water rafting and bird watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa Jalpaiguri, West Bengal, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing