We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque, serene: a perfect hideout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jalpaiguri
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Picturesque, serene: a perfect hideout”
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I visited the Silclairs retreat Dooars with my family and friends.
This was my first visit to this hill top resort. the reception staffs were very warm and cordial. Manager Mr. Avijit Ghosh took personalized care of us.
The resort has about 60+ cottages spreaded over a huge area.
The resort is located at Chalsa Hill overlooking the Dooars Valley.You may enjoy it as a peaceful retreat or a base for exploring the natural attractions of the Dooars; or a convenient access point for adventurous trips.
You may chase the butterflies with your camera, listen to the chirping birds and feel how evening comes.
When we were there the reception hall was having a face-lift . With the renovation works around the serene atmosphere was somewhat disturbed. But the resort staffs did everything to make our stay pleasant.
Two things that you may expect and won't get are: Internet center(unless Mr. Ghosh offers his laptop) and room service.
Walking down to the restaurant from the cottage may be a problem during rains.
But overall, Chalsa Hilltop retreat is an amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drlahiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    85
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
81
43
3
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

The location and the whole setup and facilities is amazing

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuldip45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Blair, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Every part of this luxury resort emits tranquillity. The public spaces are no exception. On the second level of the building, guests can find the library with reading terrace. Books on culture, art, wildlife and history can all be found here. Take a dip in the swimming pool or have lunch on the surrounding deck. The pool is located in the heart of the gardens so the scenery is epic.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

The service in this hotel is unbelievable. We were made to feel as though we were long-loved family who had returned home. Everyone from the door greeters/bellmen to the beach guys to the dining room staff I must mention that the entire staff were wonderful. The location is terrific - the beach is beautiful. there are two pools: one for kids/noise and one for grown-ups/quiet. This was the best part that the resort offer two pools- So, that the elder could swim in peace atleast in the swimming pool- Dont feel offended, as i myself have two little brats.

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank piyushm89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear Sir,

It is our pleasure to have had the opportunity to host you at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars. We appreciate the feedback that you have provided.

We receive many compliments on the quality of service that is available to families when they stay here. Creating a memorable experience for children is something that we really focus on.

I have to agree with you that our location is one of our greatest assets for which we get numerable compliments.

We hope that you will be able to visit us again in the near future. Looking forward to welcoming you once again with our signature grace, warmth and care.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Had visited the resort for a small holiday .located on a hilly terrain the atmosphere is very secluded.The cottages at that time were neatly decoraded in ethinc gujrati style.
The location being very seren it was a nice and relaxing expirence,food was something that needed some improvement else very part of the stay was enjoyable.
The swimming pool,the play room all contribute towards making the stay memorable.
Just sitting in the hitel premise and enjoying the sceninc beauty is a pleasure.
additionally visits to nearyby locations with tea gardens and forest areas were remarkable expirences.
Lot of rennovations had been going on at that time and hope the resort will be much more a pleasure to visit now.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ab_silig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

The Sinclairs Dooars Retreat is located on the nice tableland just after bend to Chalsa village from main road. There are approximately 20 one level buildings around huge green field which looks like golf field. The field and each way between buildings are edged by trees and all territory looks like nursery. The reception and restaurant budding has portal which leads to other big green meadow at the edge of the tableland with open view to the end out valley is scattered below. It is good idea to enjoy by dust and dawn from wicker armchairs just are placed on this meadow. The other nice point of view is Watch Tower (3 levels approx.) just near big 50 meters swimming pool. The rooms are spacious and good equipped.

According these facts this place would be the pearl of West Bengal resort business but there several circumstances which are barriers. Fist of all many buildings need to be renovated. This Retreat was opened at 1999 and it looks like nothing had done since 1999 to keep this place in good conditions. Especially it concerns Ayurveda SPA center which is at pool area and saves signs of previous power. We saw only two massage therapists but there were many signs that some years ago Ayurveda master was here and not only massage offered for clients.

If you seek quiet place for lazy relaxation this is the good place for it. You can swim after wakeup, have a breakfast on the edge of tableland and tan at pool or hike or bicycle through many tea plantations which are a lot just after gate of Sinclairs Dooars Retreat.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuslanaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We had stayed at this property during 2008. The resort is situated at Chalsa hill top and it is about 64 kms away from Siliguri and about 80 kms away from Bagdogra airport. Our room was comfortable with lots of spaces and with all modern facilities.Lots of indoor as well as out door activity facilities were available there. Staffs were friendly. A must place for nature lovers. You can have a complete peace of mind there. Highly recommended if you wish to rejuvenate yourself.

  • Liked — Environment
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank redbus2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jalpaiguri
12.0 mi away
Aranya Jungle Resort
Aranya Jungle Resort
#1 of 4 in Lataguri
140 reviews
24.1 mi away
Royal Sarovar Portico
Royal Sarovar Portico
#1 of 27 in Siliguri
312 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Elgin Silver Oaks, Kalimpong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Summit Barsana Resort & Spa
14.3 mi away
The Reserve Gorumara
The Reserve Gorumara
#1 of 4 in Gorumara National Park
113 reviews
12.1 mi away
Lake View Resort
Lake View Resort
#10 of 20 in Lataguri
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa

Property: Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa
Address: Chalsa Hill Top, Jalpaiguri 735206, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Jalpaiguri District > Jalpaiguri
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jalpaiguri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sinclairs Retreat Dooars located at Chalsa Hill Top in the Dooars region of West Bengal is spread over 20 acres of verdant green. Built in complete harmony with nature, the resort is ideal for those seeking rest, rejuvenation and adventure. The property has 66 rooms and three suites. These rooms and suites are in cottage style accommodation, with each cottage cluster having six rooms. The USP of our property is to 'come and live with nature'. The resort has a spa with steam and sauna, an olympic size swimming pool and a children's wading pool. It has its own organic farm with medicinal shrubs, flavouring herbs, exotic vegetables and aromatic plants. An air-conditioned multi-cuisine restaurant The Banyan Tree allows you to view the green while enjoying your meals. The Tusker Bar sets the ambiance for a cool evening where guests can enjoy drinks. The Bamboo Grove cafe is an epicurean delight and serves fresh and hot snacks. Recreational facilities croquet, cycling, table tennis, badminton, night cricket/football and billiards. A children's park and a library with a large number of books is available. The very essence of Dooars is its rich wildlife and exquisite flora and fauna which can be experienced in the reserve forests located nearby. The region is also famous for its lush tea gardens and is ideal for trekking, white water rafting and bird watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa Jalpaiguri, West Bengal, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing