We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Wasn't That Bad...”
Review of The Marigold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marigold Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Brampton
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed 10 nights and saw a little bit of everything in this hotel. Bearing in mind that it IS a budget express hotel I don't think it was too bad. I wouldn't let children run around unattended here as I saw a couple of suspicious "transactions" outside the building and the smell of smoke and weed was heavy on some floors. Cleanliness is NOT the strong suit of this hotel. That being said, the staff, both front desk and housekeeping, were helpful and courteous. As has been said in other reviews the 6th floor smelled better and was quieter than other floors. I'm happy I was there. Breakfast was neither good or bad- just a simple deluxe continental. There are PLENTY of simple restaurants around hotel to choose from. If I ever come this way again I'll stay here simply because the price is unbeatable combined with the good central location.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good value for money hotel, bit too dark for decour& nothing had changed since I last visited 7years ago.. The facilities were of ok.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rajinder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is cheap and dangerous! When we were at the hotel there was a big rap party... Prositute, weirds peapoleand 3 polices cars... The parking is not secured, it a Ghettos hotel...If a girl go alone in this place it dangerous for her! They want a 100$ deposit... The room was ugly and not clean at all! DONT GO THERE! IT DANGEROUS AND NOT COOL AT ALL!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The front desk customer service wasn't very nice. The breakfast area wasn't ready to accommodate customers in the morning. The hotel hallway was very stinky and some features in the room wasn't working and clean. The maintenance staff was very nice and they tried to help make our tip as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rejean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Marcelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It's an ok place to stay for the rates, room was comfortable on the 6th floor but please stay away if you need the internet. We were there for 3 nights on personal trip at the end of June and the internet sucks. I depend on the internet for my business it was very slow.
I asked the manager what was going on and they said the provider they are using is not the best. They mentioned they will look to see what they can do in the future. I don't imagine anytime soon.
Breakfast was no big deal, don't expect any eggs, or sausages, mainly cereal, muffins etc.,
The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable.
It can be noisy on weekends as the rent out rooms to people having parties.
Location was ok, in the heart of downtown Brampton, close to restaurants, other shops,lots to do.
The gentleman who takes care of the grounds and making sure everything is safe was great.

Room Tip: Stay on the 5th or 6th floor, manager says those rooms are better. Stay away from the 1-3rd floor n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afiaOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardJohnson14820GM, Front Office Manager at The Marigold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for you your review. For the most part the internet is reliable, why on that floor it gives issues ?? we are indeed looking into it. We advertise our breakfast as continental , not buffet, so in actuality we give more than a standard continental breakfast. As in any hotel we try and curtail any party activities as soon as we are made aware of it. We do not rent "party room" on purpose.
As you mention we do have a gentleman on staff to watch for that sort of thing. But iam glad you did enjoy your stay . We did enjoy having you , I apologize on the issues you did encounter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brampton hotels
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Brampton
120 reviews
Days Inn Brampton
#5 of 12 in Brampton
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bramalea
Monte Carlo Inn - Brampton Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marigold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marigold Hotel

Address: 226 Queen St E, Brampton, Ontario L6V 1B8, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn and Suites - Brampton)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Brampton > Downtown Brampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Brampton
Price Range: £64 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marigold Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only minutes from Toronto Pearson International Airport and attractions such as the Hershey Centre sports and entertainment arena, this hotel in Brampton, Ontario offers complimentary continental breakfast and free local calls. The guestrooms at the Marigold Hotel feature coffeemakers and free wireless internet access. Guests can also visit the business center for shipping and fax services or use the internet kiosk in the lobby. The Marigold Hotel is just a short drive from attractions such as Canada's Wonderland theme park, the Toronto Zoo and the Woodbine Race Track & Casino. Shopping and dining is also available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marigold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites - Brampton Hotel Brampton
Howard Johnson Brampton
The Marigold Hotel Brampton, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing