We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Burlington
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I stayed at this hotel a couple weeks ago and I was disappointed with the stay in general.

The rooms were small and dark and the windows tiny. There was opportunity in the bathroom for repairs that were not essential but cosmetic.

I am a priority member and normally stay on the executive level however the booking was done by my head office in another name which it needed to be in for business purposes so front desk said they could not upgrade me unless the file changed names. As a platinum member Id like to think theyd go out of their way to accommodate me.

Room service food was just alright but I will say that the man that delivered the room service was more than pleasant and by far the best experience I had with this hotel. If I were to have to stay in the area again I would be looking for another hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chyla1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2010

Thank you for your review as we appreciate your feedback to better our hotel. We understand your concerns with your guestroom and we are happy to say that we will be updating all of our guest rooms in the near future. We have begun making some updates and have completed renovations with our Restaurant and Bar, Alloro, as well as our Ballrooms, Lobby and Front desk.

I do apologize for the misunderstanding with the upgrade that, every Platinum Priority Club Member, should receive. We do our best to accommodate all of our Priority Club members as you are our most loyal customers. It is important to us to do whatever we can, to make your stay the best. I would also like to thank you for your comment about our room service gentlemen as he was able to brighten your night despite not having the accommodations that you were looking for.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your comments, as we do hope that you will return to see all of our changes, once they are completed. We are looking forward to completing our new look and improving our property to better serve our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2010

We went to the Burlington Holiday Inn Jul 17 and found it to be quite good. Room was clean, staff was nice, pool was big, and Internet service was fast. The only negative was that the poolside hot tub was not working. It was very quiet at night. We were impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heritagehei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2010

Thank you for your review about the Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that it was a peaceful one. We like to hear about all of our guests comments so that we may improve our service and product to be better each time. I do apologize about our hot tub not being open while you were here, however we do want to make sure that our hot tub is maintained safely and so once a week we empty the hot tub and then refill it with fresh water and then it takes about 15 hours to heat up againg. Once again than you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Our church had a 2-night retreat at Holiday Inn Burlington. The reservations department was wonderful ... all bookings (some were for 1 night some for 2) were accurate and they had all 11 rooms (except 1) ready for us at 1 p.m. when I checked in.

We had 2 suites on the 2nd & 3rd floor. The location of the suite was perfect as there were no other rooms beside us or on the floor above us. Each suite had a parlour room/sitting room with 2 sets of loveseats and 1 double/queen sofabed. There was also a wet bar and a washroom. The parlour room could accommodate over 20 people and we used it like a meeting room. It had its own fridge and flat-screen TV. For the 2 rooms connected to it, one had a king bed and the other had 2 doubles. Each room had their own microwave and fridge which was very handy.

The 6th floor executive room had more privacy and you need to swipe your room key to operate the elevator. Free bottled water and bath robe were offered. All rooms in the hotel had free WI-FI and the speed was surprisingly fast for a hotel.

We enjoyed the small but well-equipped gym and played air hockey and ping pong for a bit ($1 deposit paid at the front desk to get a set of lousy rackets and ball...better bring your own). There were also arcade games and pool tables. Most of them cost $1.50 per game. The Holidome was well decorated and relaxing. Adults could sit and chat at big round tables while watching the kids play.

Since it's only one hour's drive from Toronto, its location was perfect for our church retreat and we had already booked the hotel for next year's retreat. There were lots of good restaurants nearby. The Mandarin was even better than the Toronto ones and Red Lobster was quite good too! There were a few restaurants opposite the hotel (Tucker's, Boston Pizza, The Keg and Jack Astor) and you could get some discounts from the Burlington Coupon Book that was placed in every hotel room in the Holiday Inn. You could get 25% for a group of 4 at the Royal Botanical Gardens. The hill of Lilacs at the Aboretum was amazingly beautiful in late May!

Although the hotel was not new, the Alloro Restaurant and many of the rooms were jyst renovated. I would definitely recommend this hotel for different kinds of group use. Can't wait to stay there again in 2011!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wismergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyGuelph, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2010

I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. We appreciate the time and effort you took to write everything about our hotel. It is important to us that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay and it makes us very happy to read that your stay was a good one. Looking forward to your return in 2011.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I am a frequent traveler and a platinum Priority Culb member with Holiday Inn. I pick a hotel based on location not on price or brand. Now I know Holiday Inn isn't the top of the line hotel chain but I expected at least a clean room and maybe breakfast at a resonable price. The room was dated and worn, the iron didn't work, the heating and air conditioner emitted dust and smelled like mold. During the night and early morning the fire alarms went off. I was less then rested for my business meeting the next day. I am not surprised Priority Club didn't send me their usual customer satisfaction survey after my stay.
To add insult to injury I found out in the morning the restaurant was closed due to construction and had been closed for months. There was a buffet set up near the pool. All I wanted was a quick cup of coffee a slice of toast and a place to sit and read my newspaper. $16 for a piece of toast and a cup of coffee!
I stay in Burlington 30 or 40 nights a year and it will be at the Hilton Gardens a mile away.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LogisticalOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyGuelph, Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2010

We value all of our customers feedback and welcome the opportunity to rectify any guests dissatisfaction as it is in our best interest to ensure that all guests have a positve stay. It is unfortunate that all your concerns were not brought to our Manager on Duty, available 24 hrs a day, to be resolved. Effective Dec 20th, 2009 Alloro, our new Restaurant and Bar, opened serving Buffet and a la Carte where a bill for coffee and toast would have been only $4.52 or the Deluxe breakfast buffet $16.94.
We thank you for being a Platinum Priority club member signifing your loyality to the Holiday Inn brand. You will be pleased to know that we are making multi million dollar changes, and have completed our lobby, restaurant, ballrooms and upgraded our guest room tv's to brand new 32" flat screen t.v's. We hope you will return to our award winning hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

i stayed here for a night despite i live in downtown Toronto. I did not expect much as i have know this hotel's existance since 1980, the year i moved to Toronto. I was with a group of recumbent cyclists who travelled up to Toronto from Niagara Falls to do a weekend of biking. We were on our way to Niagara Falls, and this hotel was our choice for the saturday night stay in our two day journey to the Falls. Much to my amazement, the hotel turned out to be top notch, the best Holiday Inn i have see so far. Had i not known the veyr existance of this hotel, i might have thought that it was new and its exceptional accomodations were means to impress the guests. The room is meticulously clean, and the air conditioner is like new. I cant think of anything to criticize this hotel. The buffet breakfast is just perfect, i enjoyed it and i must say i have stuffed my face before the 60 miles cycling journey We also dined out in Mother Tucker's, a buffet restaurant just across the street. The mean was also most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldbutcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We were coming in to Burlington from out west for a family reunion. We called the hotel to ask which airport was better to land in--Toronto or Hamilton. The woman at the desk said that Burlington was half way between each and that Hamilton was a little less stressful to travel from. She then sent us directions from both airports to the hotel. When we checked in, the woman at the desk saw that our children were very excited and to keep them occupied she gave them little welcome bags with crayons and a plastic top. We were also offered an upgrade to a "holidome facing room." It was the best $10 a night spent! Our room had a sliding glass door to the courtyard where the pool facilities and games were. I could sit on the balcony and watch the kids play knowing they were safe. Children 12 and under eat for free so instead of going across the road, we dined in the restaurant. Again the children were given crayons and actually asked directly what they would like to eat instead of looking to the parent to make the decision. The orange roughy was cooked to perfection and the rice made a nice change to potatoes. The pool area is open until 11pm so the kids could play again before bed. The rooms had what looked like new mattresses and linen. The bathroom floors were heated which was a pleasant surprise when you got up in the middle of the night! Breakfast was taken again in the restaurant and were offered a breakfast buffet. Lots of fresh fruit, yoghurt, pancakes, sausage and loads of pastries. The server in the morning was very pleasant to us even though they were quite busy. The front desk staff were super friendly and helpful. They were able to answer all of our questions and even provide us with a better map then we were given to find the hall for our reunion. Thank you all for making our first trip back to the area with our children a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houltonmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

I was here with a Toastmasters conference. The amenities of the hotel are superb. The room was extremely comfortable with very comfortable beds with many pillows. Coffee maker, microwave and fridge in the room were very convenient.

There was no fan in the bathroom, which was a negative. Also the toilet was dirty - black under the rim. The floors were heated though.

The service at our conference presented an opportunity for improvement. Half the meals were served late - when other people were already on their dessert. Also, dirty dishes were left for an extraordinary amount of time - a real turn off. Some people were unable to get a cup of coffee, and the bar had limited selection.

The desk staff were very friendly and helpful, as was the bartender. The corridors are tired looking and need refreshing. The restaurant was a bit pricey and some of the staff there were not at all friendly.

This hotel has the potential to be a really wonderful place, with a small improvement in service and a bit of updating of the premises. It's a bit expensive the way it is.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechTravellerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyGuelph, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2009

Thank you for you feedback. We appreciate comments like yours in order for us to ensure all of our customers are satisfied. We have addressed both our housekeeping department as well as the banquet department with your concerns. We are very happy to here that you enjoyed your stay and that our front desk were friendly and courteous.

We would like to inform you that our property will be undergoing renovations in the near future and hope that these renovations to come will only make things even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 14 in Burlington
179 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto / Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Burlington
Quality Hotel Burlington
#5 of 14 in Burlington
441 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington
3.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 3063 South Service Rd., Burlington, Ontario L7N 3E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Burlington
#5 Business Hotel in Burlington
Price Range: £77 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre provides guests with quality service and accommodations, designed to meet the needs of today's Business & Leisure Traveler, with both comfort and convenience in mind. Our hotel is the largest Hotel & Conference Centre "Under One Roof" in the Burlington area. We are only minutes away from Burlington's Business District, Downtown's One of a Kind Shops, the tranquil shores of Lake Ontario, and landmark attractions such as the Royal Botanical Gardens & IKEA. Located halfway between Toronto and Niagara Falls, we are an easy and convenient location to stay. Join in the excitement of the Christmas lights at Spencer Smith Park in December 2015. We are located within a 20 minute drive of the new Tim Hortons Field, Home for the Hamilton Tiger Cats. We are "At Your Service". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel And Conference Centre
Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario, Canada
Burlington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing