We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service”

Sakai Japanese & Korean Cuisine
Ranked #53 of 474 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Had dinner here recently and I was very impressed with the service and quality of the food. We were busy chatting that we weren't ready to order dinner, but the waitress was excellent, coming back periodically to see when were ready. We didn't feel rushed and it was appreciated. We had several maki rolls, sushi and sashimi. The rolls were huge. I couldn't get over the size of the portions here. The sushi was amazing and also very large portions. You could literally drape the salmon around the rice twice. The chef sent over some complimentary fish tempera which was a nice touch. I will definitely come back to Sakai!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 35CanuckGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    27
    3
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I had an evening out without the kids and decided to have sushi in Burlington. Looked up a couple of places online and Sakai got good reviews so we decided to try it. It was delicious. It was a Wednesday night and the restaurant was steady. Our greeter and server were very friendly and the food was excellent. I had the sushi dinner and the quality of the fish was fantastic. The miso soup was also delicious. Next time I come back, I'll try some of the Korean dishes which also looked delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skettyroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, B.C.
Level Contributor
184 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Korean and Japanese Wow”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

The interesting Korean dishes provide a nice balance to the Japanese sushi. We had starters of sushi and sashimi followed by "stew and soup like" Korean dishes. This is a popular restaurant. They must be doing something right. The food was very very good

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doreenandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Burlington!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We absolutely love this restaurant and have been many times. The wait staff and sushi chefs are incredibly friendly. The atmosphere is also very authentic. Make sure you try the new Sakai roll if you can handle a decent amount of spice. We will continue to be loyal patrons.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Djurilj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always excellent and highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Amazing food! Friendly staff always! Fair prices! One of the best restaurants I have ever been too and will keep going back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cdnscubagirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakai Japanese & Korean Cuisine also viewed

Burlington, Ontario
Burlington, Ontario
 
Burlington, Ontario
Burlington, Ontario
 

Been to Sakai Japanese & Korean Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing