We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch On A Fine Patio”
Review of West Plains Bistro

West Plains Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
West Plains Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 473 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: French inspired dishes served in a warm atmosphere.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Lunch On A Fine Patio”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Recently had lunch at this establishment in Aldershot (a western suburb of Burlington). Great food, good service and awesome little patio made for a great time. Limited though selection of wine although we were able to find a nice Pinot Grigio to go with our meal. Worth another visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarthaFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    51
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, service and ambiance”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Had dinner here last Saturday, the food was good, well presented, service was prompt and helpful and the atmosphere was pleasant. I will come back again! A nice change from the chain restaurants such as Kelsey's and Montana's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank dfrfez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We went for a family dinner with 6 adults, including some who had been there before and raved about it. Everything we had was absolutely delicious. Menu items we tasted that were especially yummy included the pasta special, French onion soup, strip loin (served with beets,string beans, and mashed potatoes), chicken supreme, salmon, surf and turf (filet with scallops and Bearnaise sauce), and Caesar salad. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great dining experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Very small Bistro and you need reservations even for lunch.
Food is excellent. Parking a problem but can usually be solved if you look around. Never had a bad meal here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottalanmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
383 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Second time was fine, not spectacular”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is my second visit to this cozy little restaurant. As before, it was quite busy and reservations are required.

There seemed to only be two people serving and as a result service was slow.

Our appetizers took a while to appear, but the bread and butter were very good and we filled up on it.

We tried the pate (so so) and the shrimp (not bad). Neither were hot when they arrived but we said nothing as we were pretty hungry.

Our main courses were okay. The fish and chips had a lovely big piece of fish and the homemade coleslaw was excellent. My sliders were not to my liking; there was nothing wrong with them, I just didn't like the taste of the meat.

The desserts in the display case looked amazing but we didn't try any.

Overall, it was an average meal and somewhat slow service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmberK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Plains Bistro also viewed

 
Burlington, Ontario
 

Been to West Plains Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing