We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love - we go every weekend”
Review of Mikado

Mikado
Ranked #56 of 473 Restaurants in Burlington
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Waterdown, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love love love - we go every weekend”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I have started going to Mikado over a year ago now - and we are hooked! The food is amazing and really fresh. Staff is very nice - chef comes and greets us personally when we arrive. Decor could use a bit of upgrading but don't judge the book by it's cover. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank princessjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The embodiment of average sushi joint.”
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

This place was ok all around I guess. I have to admit they had some interesting menu items that I haven't seen before. But over all it was pretty average and a little expensive for what you get.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank esloboda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My family and I have been here multiple times, and have been happy every time. Food is fantastic. Atmosphere could use a little work, but overall a great dining experience. Don't let the outside look fool you, this is a great restaurant. Prices are a little higher then average for sushi but food quality and location more then make up for that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iMike_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem of sushi in Burlington”
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

The quality of the food is impeccable. The variety of the menu gives you lots of options so its great for any occasion. Service was quick and friendly. I have never been dissappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyla5564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“No complaints....”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Getting acceptable sashimi when dining far from where the fresh fish swim, can be quite a challenge. So when you can walk from your office on such a warm, sunny day as this to a "comfy...Japanese style " restaurant with entirely acceptable sashimi and tempura is about as good as it gets in Burlington! That the waitress was Japanese was a bonus. For $14 one receives 7 pc of sashimi, 2 tempura shrimps and a mixture of fresh vegetables together with miso soup, salad, and a few rolls. Oh and house tea thrown in. It really is off putting when the tea is an add on. 4 grapes and a segment each of orange finished things off and we walked back to work, pleasantly sated by pretty authentic Japanese luncheon fare. And it didn't hurt that when we mentioned one of us was shortchanged one piece of sashimi, the house brought 4 more attractively presented on a shell. We'll return --even if the weather isn't so beautiful!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mikado also viewed

 
Burlington, Ontario
Burlington, Ontario
 

Been to Mikado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing