We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up and down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Up and down”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We just came back from Langdon Hall and even though I loved the grounds, the swimming pool area and the service I must admit the Spa was very disappointing. Very small and awkward layout - the manicure/pedicure area set up in the hallway while you are passing from Reception to the change room; sitting area is very sad as it lacks in privacy. No indoor swimming pool, just a small hot tub, the treatment room was very small and without any character/decor. The massage therapist wasn't the most welcoming person either. I don’t believe she smiled even when she greeted me.

Positive - The Canada day barbeque was nicely set up with love band playing light jazz, food was good and the fireworks were held right in their garden. I would come back for their afternoon tea but it is not a Spa destination for me.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DinaSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    85
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
63
257
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My bride and I spent our honeymoon here. Langdon is a meticulously tended resort on an enormous estate. There is attention to detail, in the design of the property both outdoors and in, and staff are helpful and available, without being familiar or snobbish. Food, much of which is grown on the estate or by local farmers, is exquisite. Considering the very high quality of the accommodation and food, prices are very reasonable and inclusive - they don't nickel-and-dime you like, say, Fairmont or Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

All I can say is that the food/ wine is the best and deserves the high rating it regularly receives. It is not cheap by any means but for a special occassion, this is the place to celebrate. The service was excellent but not intrusive. We enjoyed our croft rooom which was seperate from the main building and included a wood burning fireplace. We did the package that included a spa credit and dinner/brunch.

Room Tip: Croft/Stable Rooms if you like privacy but luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsrfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife and I spent the Easter weekend at Langdon Hall after hearing great things about it. The grounds and hotel are beautiful, it has a grand drive leading to the country house - as someone who has seen a lot of country hotels in the UK this was a lovely treat. The only downside is the surrounding area which is a little drab but not the hotels fault!

On arrival we were met with a fantastic concierge who took our bags and arranged check in. It is fair to say all the staff were fantastic bar a couple of older staff members who were not as good, one in reception and one in the restaurant , both whom seemed put out to offer any kind of service and a slightly 'snobby' feel.

The room was out in the out building and was lovely - it was a good size and the bed was fantastic with great views over the walled gardens. The bathroom was also beautiful with a big bath and walk in shower. It also had a fire in the room which was a great touch. If I was being very picky it did seem there were a few unfinished touches in the room - not an issue but given the cost this seemed a bit odd.

The grounds were lovely for running and my wife enjoyed the spa. We also enjoyed golf at the nearby Bear Creek. Another high spot was the afternoon tea which was good fun and a bit of an indulgence.

Sadly the dinner did not live up to expectations as the waiter (or kitchen) forgot about us leading to a 50 minute wait before our starter - when it did arrive it was also cold and we were too tired to really enjoy it - this was a shame given how excited we were to eat there. It was also disappointing there was no apology offered at any time.

Overall this hotel is a great escape option from Toronto. It is certainly expensive and might not match up to the country house experience that you could get in Europe but it is a great hotel and offers a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thompj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tofino, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2011

From the moment one arrives at this amazing retreat you feel like royalty. Amazing cuisine prepared by Chef Jonathan and his kitchen brigade, superb service and a well informed and prepared sommelier made for a magical and productive environment for hosting our clients to a business dinner. The level of service just keeps getting better and better, definitely should be rated a 5 diamond for the accommodations as well as the restaurant and with the new guest room renovations almost complete maybe it will happen soon. Wonderful grounds for running, walking and meandering about. I highly recommend for business dinners and meetings or a magical retreat for couples, don't miss the spa, and the wood burning fireplaces are a special touch.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We went for a weekend getaway with our young baby. We were a little unsure if it was a good idea, as this seems to be an older or couples kind of place, but it was perfect! Just an hour away from home, but it felt like a real vacation. Our room ('Cloister Rooms') was beautiful: big super-comfy king bed with sitting area, fireplace, lovely spacious bathroom. Design is updated country - fresh, and airy. It was spotless & quiet (double door to hallway). It smelled great & also had nice windows that opened wide for a lovely breeze & a nice view too.

We ordered room service - delicious! Our dinner would have been impressive in any sit-down restaurant - very impressed that they maintain that quality in a room-service meal. Continental breakfast, also in the room, was nice.

Everyone we encountered was very helpful, friendly & professional, and never intrusive. The grounds are expansive - I'm sure beautiful when Spring fully arrives. The spa looked nice, seemed small from the part we saw, but we did not have any services (maybe next time).

All in all, an outstanding stay at Langdon Hall. Definitely one of the best, if not the best in Ontario & nearby areas. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JabaGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

This review is for the spa alone, not the hotel (although it is gorgeous). I recently visited for a half-day of spa services with my very pregnant cousin. We were blown away by the impeccable service, the quality and the value.

Every person we interacted with at the spa (at least ten different people) was engaging, friendly, and bent over backwards to wait on us hand and foot (literally!). I'm not sure how they find such friendly and courteous employees but they are clearly doing something right - at least three of them have been there for ten years or more. And all of them are complete pros at what they do. I've never in my life had a manicure last as long as this one has. And you get to take home the bottles of nail polish. A brand new one is used for every client. They also paid extra attention and care to my cousin and her pregnancy.

We ordered lunch mid-way through our services and when we emerged from our massages, lunch was waiting for us, set up at a private reserved table in the beautiful lounge, complete with a flower on the table. The attention to detail here is striking. Complementary coffee, tea, juices, flavoured waters, biscotti, etc.

I could go on and on but suffice to say that Langdon Hall is one of the best spas I have ever visited. It was not just clean - it was spotless. I live in downtown Toronto and I would rather drive to Cambridge and Langdon Hall than go to Stillwater or Elmwood in Toronto (which are more expensive). It would be a wonderful retreat for a weekend away at the hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dokchampa2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cambridge / Kitchener
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
2.2 mi away
Kitchener Inn and Suites
Kitchener Inn and Suites
#1 of 14 in Kitchener
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Langdon Dr, Cambridge, Ontario N3H 4R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langdon Hall offers a quiet and peaceful environment best suited for romantic get-aways that require an elegant setting. As a member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux association, the property prides itself on creating a unique experience brimming with all the charm, character, cuisine, calm and courtesy you would find at the finest Relais & Chateaux property. Located one hour west of Toronto, Langdon Hall was built as a magnificent summer home in 1898 for the granddaughter of John Jacob Astor of New York City, a gentlemen who made his fortune in several areas of business including the Waldorf Astoria, the greatest hotel of its era. In 1987 Langdon Hall began its transformation into a hotel and now offers 60 guest suites, a full service spa, the only five-diamond award wining restaurant in Ontario. In addition to the main dining room the property features a casual bar and private dining rooms featuring wood-burning fireplaces, and 75 acres of expansive gardens and trails. For three consecutive years the readers of Conde Nast Traveller selected Langdon Hall as the number one hotel in Canada. Nearby amenities include championship style golf course, canoeing, theatre, horseback riding, biking and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel And Spa
Langdon Hall Country Hotel
Langdon Hall Country Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa Cambridge, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing