We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Perfection!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

From the beautiful grounds to the amazing buildings - this was the perfect getaway!
Our room was luxurious with a real wood burning fireplace and feather beds and pillows to sink into. All the finishings are updated and classic and they really made you feel at home with real plants!
There is a garden where they grow their own food and a nice outdoor pool!
I'll be back! :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Strawberry1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    90
    50
    13
    6
See reviews for
71
271
13
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
846 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

From the moment you arrive on the fabulous property to the moment you leave you will be treated like royalty. It is located in the serene countryside with wonderful gardens, trails and amenities. The accommodations are serene and luxurious. The restaurants are terrific. The spa is great. The people are fantastic. We spent the days exploring Toronto and the local area and then returned to a perfect place. We would have like to stay another day or three. All personnel we encountered were tremendous. Mr. Le Chatton is a wonderful host and runs a great property.

Room Tip: Attic rooms have great views and more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was our first stay at Langdon hall but it certainly will not be our last. We spent one night here to celebrate our August anniversary - we're hoping it will become an annual visit. Our experience surpassed any expectations! Our room was even nicer than shown in pictures, the grounds are lovely, our dining experience perfect from the "amuse bouche" through to dessert, the wine list was superb, and the staff exceptional. Our one night stay gave us a much needed rest and seemed much longer than just one day and night. A stay at Langdon Hall is like a step back to a slower paced time when life was much more elegant!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrovere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband I just returned from a relaxing weekend at Langdon Hall, my parents generously babysitting our two kids :) This was our second visit, our first was in Dec 2012. While Langdon Hall is a wonderful escape in the winter (cozy, comforting, wood burning fireplaces), it is more wonderful in the summer time. We lucked out with gorgeous weather which really showcased this property's beauty. The grounds are well kept with beautiful landscaping and flowers. We got to make use of the gorgeous pool area with comfortable lounge chairs and plush towels. Also borrowed the property's bikes for a fun ride after breakfast and you can also hike one of the many wooded trails (watch out for the bugs!) on the property or play a game of tennis.
The food is the main reason a lot of people visit here and it did not disappoint. I was a little worried as there is now a new executive chef. Our dinner the first night was in the more casual Wilkes bar. I ordered the fish and chips which i am sad to say was average, but my husband enjoyed his burger. We opted for the tasting menu the next night in the main dining room, as we did on our last visit. Chef Bangerter's tasting menu paired with some wonderful wines knocked our socks off! It was imaginative, well thought out and delicious! The staff described each course wonderfully. Breakfast buffet also delicious with a lot of variety.
We stayed in the cloister rooms which are away from the main house for both our stays. These rooms are spacious, airy and well appointed with hair dryers, plush bath robes, showers preset to the perfect temperature and Nespresso coffee maker. We used the fireplace in the winter and this time got a room on the lower level in order to get a walk out terrace. Loved the little terrace area that is fenced off for privacy. The only thing I would say about the lower level rooms is that the wifi signal is very weak, a bit of a pain while trying to watch a Netflix movie in the evening :). I don't remember having this issue on the higher level. What I love about this property is all the well thought out finer details. From chocolates bedside in the evening to the valet service placing bottled water in your car when they bring it up to the main house for you, these are the things that make a stay special. Because it is a bit of a splurge the clientele tends to be a bit older (although we did notice more families with children here in the summer than we did in the winter). My husband and I are in our late thirties and find that langdon Hall does a great job at balancing this atmosphere with a youthful staff. A lot of the staff are in their twenties and are well trained, friendly and enthusiastic. Landgdon Hall is appropriately named a country house, as that is what it feels like. It feels like you are spending a wonderful relaxing weekend in the European countryside, hosted by a friend, away from it all. We will definitely return again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hqngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a lovely spot 1 hour from Toronto. The restaurant review was the appeal and it didn't disappoint. Fantastic food and service. The pool and grounds are beautiful. The rooms are lovely but my ONLY disappointment was the shower had no power. We stayed in the Cloister building and I recommend them, but beware if you like a power shower, these rooms disappoint.
we will absolutely return to Langdon Hall for another fall and winter break.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a good shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCtravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I had high tea on A Sunday with my sister in law and it was good. The wait though to book a reservation for it is about three weeks though as it's popular. The food was excellent. The only thing is that the waitress never came to offer more water for the tea and the original hot water that came wasn't hot enough. It's a pricey light lunch but a lot of fun to at least do once. With a tip it was about $100.00 for the two of us, that's small lunch and dessert pastries and tea.

My father in law also took my husband and I for dinner there as a celebration of our wedding. The service was great. The food was great. It was a very expensive meal though but worth it for the special occasion. For 2 couples, appetizers; dinner; dessert and wine/coffee it had to have been over $400.00. I'm not sure exactly as my father in law paid. I had always wanted to eat dinner there so for me it was a once in a lifetime experience!

Room Tip: I just ate at the restaurant I didn't spend the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I recently returned from a one night stay at Langdon Hall as a birthday treat. What a treat!
Langdon Hall is a converted country estate on a 30 acre forested property that completely isolates it from its surroundings. The long winding laneway through the woods effectively builds anticipation after leaving the main road. The main inn is a grand red brick mansion built in 1902 facing onto a very extensive front lawn and is a rewarding sight after exiting the woods and gives an impression of having driven back in time to the early 1900's. A large parking lot is hidden in the trees to the right of the main house, completely out of sight, preserving the illusion.
Accommodations are in the main house or in smaller, more modern two-story "cloisters" behind and to the side of the main house. Rooms are very generous in size with separate rooms for bathing and for the toilet, with both a bathtub and a walk-in shower. There is abundant closet space and built-in drawers for storage. Windows are large and open fully to let in natural light and air.
The grounds are large, private and exquisitely landscaped. There are numerous benches and upholstered chairs for guests. We particularly enjoyed the small pond at the rear of the house with its water plants. This area also is set for breakfast on days when the weather permits. The tables are set beneath a large tree cleverly pruned to act as an awning.
There is a croquet court for those with genteel tastes, and a delightful, small private heated outdoor pool with comfortable longing chairs and of course, a bar.There is also a large vegetable and flower garden which is well worth a visit.
The main floor of the house is very elegant but not imposing. There are several rooms for guests to sit and chat or read, a billiards room, a bar, small meeting rooms, and a beautiful large dining room with large windows facing onto the back lawn.
We felt very comfortable and welcome in our short stay. The ambiance and character of Langdon Hall is superior to any other accommodation we have experienced. We weren't expecting such a gem hidden in the rural Ontario countryside. Langdon Hall is a destination, not just a hotel and restaurant.
And in regards to the restaurant, that is a separate review!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
2.9 mi away
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kitchener
2.2 mi away
Kitchener Inn and Suites
Kitchener Inn and Suites
#1 of 14 in Kitchener
742 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cambridge / Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Langdon Dr, Cambridge, Ontario N3H 4R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langdon Hall offers a quiet and peaceful environment best suited for romantic get-aways that require an elegant setting. As a member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux association, the property prides itself on creating a unique experience brimming with all the charm, character, cuisine, calm and courtesy you would find at the finest Relais & Chateaux property. Located one hour west of Toronto, Langdon Hall was built as a magnificent summer home in 1898 for the granddaughter of John Jacob Astor of New York City, a gentlemen who made his fortune in several areas of business including the Waldorf Astoria, the greatest hotel of its era. In 1987 Langdon Hall began its transformation into a hotel and now offers 60 guest suites, a full service spa, the only five-diamond award wining restaurant in Ontario. In addition to the main dining room the property features a casual bar and private dining rooms featuring wood-burning fireplaces, and 75 acres of expansive gardens and trails. For three consecutive years the readers of Conde Nast Traveller selected Langdon Hall as the number one hotel in Canada. Nearby amenities include championship style golf course, canoeing, theatre, horseback riding, biking and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel And Spa
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country Hotel
Langdon Hall Country Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa Cambridge, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing