We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE AND RELAXING WITH GREAT FOOD”

Cafe 13 Main Street
Ranked #5 of 320 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe 13 is located in a historic bank building in the heart of the Galt section of Cambridge. We provide fresh food using local farms and products to contruct interesting yet affordable dishes.
Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“NICE AND RELAXING WITH GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We visited Café 13 for the 1st time with friends and were realy impressed. It was nice not to have any TV s. but music quietly in the background. The food was excellent. All 4 of us were very pleased with our lunch . The fish & chips were about the best I have had.. Our waiter Mark added to our enjoyment and gave great service. We will be back, in fact we made reservations for our next visit before we left.

Bill

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SantaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    104
    41
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Quick bite”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stopped here on the way home from Southworks Outlet for a quick bite. For 3pm the restaurant was quiet. We were seated promptly by the bar and served quickly. I had the meatball sandwich with brie cheese and caramelized onions. I expected it to be messy but surprisingly it had little sauce. Tasty but sweeter most probably because of the onions. The accompanying french fries were crispy yummy. May delicious items on the menu but couldn't try them all! ;) Cost was typical pub. Ample free street parking for a Sunday afternoon as it appeared many shops along the street were closed!?!?!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bemti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice to go somewhere other than a chain”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Down town Galton is so pretty and when we stopped in here on a cold winter night we were in for a treat. Great tom Collins, good variety if beer, and food (gluten free burger and pasta) was great.

Would recommend to others.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Only_live_0nce2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Reliable Pub Fare in Historic Galt”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We've been to Cafe 13 a few times--it's a reliable place to pop into for local beers and huge burgers. The shoestring sweet potato fries have been perfected: deep-fried crispiness and just-enough saltiness.
I went with my sister and her fiancee just before they headed to the KW airport. I knew the burgers would keep them satiated until Calgary--though they weren't brave enough for the Dirty Burger (bacon, blue cheese dressing, carmelized onions and deep fried pickles). I had the Cajun chicken club wrap--only because I'd already had two burgers this week. The garlic pesto wrap is neatly and tightly wrapped and grilled with a good ratio of romaine greens, crispy bacon, aioli and chicken. Though, the chicken doesn't scream cajun at all.
The amber Cranberry lager by Railway City in St. Thomas had an agreeable tart, finish. If you are committed to drinking good beers, the bar staff are eager and keen to share the tasting notes of what they have on tap.
Be sure to go downstairs near the restrooms to check out the vintage photos of the 1974 flood that swamped downtown Galt. And, ask someone about the oddities of the cafe--13 bar stools, 13 bar taps, 13 whacks to the headless torso. Yes, there are ghosts, tall tales and superstitions alive and well here. And, the best burgers in Galt.
Evenings are best to visit the pub as it can feel too dark and somewhat depressing during the day.
*From an early December visit I can also attest to the rich and savoury goodness of the Welsh Rarebit on offer. Hot melted cheese and Mornay sauce on a baguette is perfect winter's eve filler with a Mill Street Cobblestone Stout.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtorti7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Menu”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

It was great finding a cozy place with a gluten free menu. Too bad there are no gluten free desserts such as a chocolate mousse. I don't come to a restaurant to eat fruit...sigh...really?
But it was cozy for a date and warm on a snowy night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnastasiaAmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe 13 Main Street also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Cafe 13 Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing