We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad lunch spot...”
Review of Melville Cafe

Melville Cafe
Ranked #72 of 316 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighbourhood: Downtown Cambridge
Description: Melville Cafe located in the School of Architecture, downtown Galt, Cambridge. A comfortable place with a beautiful view of the Grand River, where hot coffee and the morning newspaper are the perfect companions. Serving the best cappuccinos, homemade desserts, delicious cakes, thin crust pizzas, sandwiches, daily features as well as extraordinary soups and salads.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not bad lunch spot...”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I only visit Melville Cafe for business lunches. I have been there numerous times and always find it to be a bit of a wait and prices a little on the high side. The pizzas are good and I find the staff usualy friendly (albeit a tad clinical). They have a number of salads and can make a variety of caffeinated beverages and they have table and "bar" seating with a view of the Grand River. The patio is nice in the summer and I would suggest as a worthwhile lunch spot.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe!”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Wireless is good. Coffee is great. Breakfast Pizza rocks! We go as much as possible. It is a good place to take customers. Has a wonderful dessert bar.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Startupguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
335 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“A pricy little coffee shop in downtown Galt.”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is a great spot to stop for a coffee if you are out for a walk in the picturesque downtown area of Galt. Nice patio. It is pricey though for a cafeteria style establishment and I don't feel the value is there for most of the food items. We have never noticed any staff clearing off tables outside, in fact usually have to do it ourselves.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pizza Night not Great”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We normally stop at this place for coffee on saturday mornings and decided to try the pizza night. They say they have a stone oven (that looks like wood fired but its not), and the crust of the pizza was decent. The pizza itself had way too much cheese and was quite greasy. I washed it down with a $7 glass of wine that had been open for at least 2-3 days. We probably won't go back for that, but for baked goods and coffee it will still be the place of choice downtown Cambridge.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A bit on the slow side, but decent food”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Melville seems geared for its primary audience - students at the architecture school it is attached to. The pizza special on Tuesdays is a fantastic value for what is really their specialty, but the place is hampered a bit by the fact that it is geared toward an audience that doesn't value service as much.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N1120A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melville Cafe also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Melville Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing