We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rustic charm”
other travellers have booked this property
Berenice in its lovely open rural countryside setting.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Berenice in its lovely open rural countryside setting.
Berenice side pathway approach from the car parking area just above Berenice side view sloping pathway approach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Berenice in its lovely open rural countryside setting.
Berenice side pathway approach from the car parking area just above
Berenice side view sloping pathway approach
Berenice in its open countryside setting
Berenice view with our two bedroom gite Cedia shown in the distance
Berenice wonderful open views from the veranda
Berenice entrance doors from the veranda with its wonderful views
Berenice sitting-room open fireplace and seating, with two comfortable sofa-beds and a chair
Berenice part of the sitting room with the larger of the two sofa-beds shown
Berenice dining area in the sitting room, with the smaller of the two sofa-beds and the chair
Berenice sitting-room and dining room area
Berenice hallway access to the three bedrooms, kitchen, and bathroom
Berenice double bedroom with large wardrobe space provided
B erenice twin bedroom with large wardrobe space provided
Berenice bunks bedroom with large wardrobe space provided
Berenice well equipped kitchen
Berenice bathroom (with shower over bath), washbasin and toilet
Berenice bathroom (with shower over the bath) wash-basin and toilet.
Berenice washing machine in the bathroom
Berenice with another lovely open view from the veranda
A lovely sunset view from gite Berenice
Berenice gite evening sunset view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bellefontaine, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Denise T
Starston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic charm”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We so enjoyed our stay in Berenice, a very comfortable gite. We particularly enjoyed the simple french charm and the wonderful position. The views were uninterrupted and it was a joy to sit on the balcony with a glass of wine and watch the sun setting.
There is lots to do and see in the area and it many lovely walks.The whole area is very unspoilt
So restaurants are filled with locals and delicious truly french food.We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the charming gite
Liked least: Leaving it!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your kind review and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inès D
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2018
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour dans notre gîte de Bérénice qui est en effet situé dans un bel endroit de campagne que vous avez clairement apprécié.
(in English: We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our gite gite Berenice which is indeed set in a beautiful countryside location that you clearly appreciated).

Il est regrettable que vous vous sentiez lésé à l'égard du dépôt détenu pour réparation à la vitre brisée de la salle de bain. Cependant, il est apparu qu'il a été endommagé de l'intérieur du gîte car les morceaux de verre brisés étaient à l'extérieur. Ce que nous avions précédemment conseillé et vous aviez convenu pour le dépôt de dommages à utiliser pour le coût de reglazing et de rendre la fenêtre - référence le sentier de correspondance qui s'est passé sur TripAdvisor.
(in English: It is unfortunate that you feel aggrieved about the deposit being detained for repair to the broken bathroom window glass. However, it appeared that it was damaged from the inside of the gite as the shattered glass pieces were outside. This we had previously advised and you had agreed for the damage deposit to be utilised towards the cost for reglazing and making good the window - reference the corresponence trail that occurred on TripAdvisor).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Berenice!

Translation into English of their review above follows:
The house is very quiet on the edge of a small village. The view from the terrace is simply fantastic: large meadow, wooded hills and an unlimited view into a wide plain, over this landscape we have experienced beautiful sunsets. Within a radius of about 6-8 km are several shopping possibilities and good restaurants to be found, as well as pharmacy, post office and tourist information offices. We have made many interesting trips to impressive churches, museums, castles, cathedrals and monasteries. The Mont St. Michel is reachable in about 1 h, Also a trip to the interesting island group Iles Chausey has inspired us. There are also many possibilities for hiking. The holiday home is lovingly and comfortably furnished. The kitchen is equipped with everything necessary, as well as enough dishes and glasses. There is no TV connection and no internet connection, so you can go back to a book (some English books are available) or play one of the many existing games. With a few brought along DVDs was also provided for the evening TV entertainment - a DVD player with a large screen in the living room next to the open fireplace, which on cool evenings for cozy warmth. In the bathroom there is a shower over the bath and a washing machine. Although the weather was not as nice as planned, we could do a lot and in the different restaurants the Norman cuisine. We have been very comfortable for 3 weeks - thanks to David, Deirdre and Charlotte, who took care of laundry and cleaning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabian E
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié l'emplacement merveilleux et vos séjours de vacances à notre gîte.

Cependant, nous ne pouvons pas comprendre vos préoccupations au sujet de la propreté intérieure du gîte que la famille de nos amis restaient juste avant vous et n'avaient pas de tels problèmes que vous décrivez.
(Nos amis ont un gîte juste à proximité du gîte Berenice).
Nos amis et notre propre nettoyeur ont tous deux visité pour nettoyer le gîte après le départ de leur famille le week-end avant votre arrivée.

Aussi, pourquoi ne nous contactez-vous pas et / notre nettoyant immédiatement après votre arrivée avec vos prétendues préoccupations? Cela n'a aucun sens.

Le lave-linge a été utilisé pendant votre séjour sans que les portes du tambour ne soient fermées correctement. Cela a donc gravement endommagé la machine qui doit maintenant être réparée ou remplacée.

Nous nous excusons si la véranda avait de l'herbe coupée de terre, mais malheureusement cela était probablement le résultat du travail de jardinier le matin de votre arrivée. Nous leur avons demandé de faire en sorte que la véranda soit balayée après que le travail se fasse à l'avenir.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the wonderful location and your holiday stay at our gite.

However, we cannot understand your concerns about the interior cleanliness of the gite as the family of friends of ours were staying just before yourselves and had no such problems that you describe.
(our friends have a gite just nearby to the Berenice gite).
Our friends and then our own cleaner both visited to clean the gite after their family's departure on the weekend before you arrived.

Also why did you not contact us and / our cleaner immediately on your arrival with your alleged concerns? This does not make any sense.

The washing machine was used by yourselves during your stay without the drum doors being closed properly. This has consequently badly damaged the machine which now needs to be repaired or replaced..

Our apologies if the veranda had grass cuttings dirt on it, but unfortunately this was probably the result of the gardeners doing their work the morning of your arrival. We have asked them to ensure that the veranda is swept clean after work is done in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing