We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fort Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the last night of our Canadian vacation because it was close to the Peace Bridge (less than 10 min). The hotel was very nice and spacious and the staff and locals were very pleasant. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a pleasant stay overall.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lynnard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Review3236, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for sharing you stay on Tripadvisor, We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to let others know about your stay. We value all our guest opinion and hope to see you again the next time you are in Fort Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    93
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
76
60
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a great accommodation choice as a base for visiting in the Fort Erie area & even Niagara Falls, albeit a good 30 minute drive from the Falls. It is very clean with nice facilities such as indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna's, exercise room and, a restaurant that opens for breakfast and dinner. The restaurant is nothing to get excited about but has decent food at reasonable prices and is licensed for liquor. The staff was very friendly--with Blair at the front desk being particularly helpful re our questions about the Fort Erie area. There is lots of free parking with the hotel situated adjacent to a sports and municipal center, so in a very quiet setting. It is also "pet friendly" albeit with a $30 charge and with only certain rooms available for pets--so do let them know in advance. This hotel is NOT for those seeking night-time excitement--it is quiet and "away from the action". As an example A nearby Italian Restaurant we enjoyed (Rina's Place) closes at 9 a.m. during the week! We were just looking for a home base in the area with good, clean facilities at reasonable rates--so it worked great for us!! :-) Oh yes, I'd be remiss not to mention the great pillows and excellent sleep we enjoyed there!

Room Tip: Let them know in advance if bringing a pet so that the appropriate room will be reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Review3236, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
It was our pleasure for have you as a guest at The Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre. All departments in the hotel try their best so that all guest have a positive experience while staying at the hotel. Thank you for sharing many features this hotel has to offer on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

- the room, while clean the amenities were a gamble. Spoke to others staying there. Some rooms had microwave, some didn't. Mine had no microwave and no fridge. Plugs were hard to come by.
Staff go missing at front desk. Had one fella finally give up waiting to ask for a towel after being in the gym, who knows where the girl at the front desk was and there was no notification when she would be back. When most places are offering complimentry coffee or water in the lobby, this place had none. There is no free continental breakfast. The business office for guests had a printer that never worked and the staff had no technical savey to even help, They had difficulty printing from a simple jump drive.
This is what happens when there isn't enough competition in a small town. Needs a Clarion HO secret visit.

Room Tip: Insist on microwave and fridge at a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Review3236, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. As the new General Manager here at The Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre I want to let everyone know that certain types of rooms have microwaves and or fridges. At any time a guest can request either for a charge. We have a common area with a microwave for everyone to use. Our staff is here to help unfortunately during a 24 hour period there might be only one staff member to assist with all guests. Our goal outstanding customer service for every guest who enters the hotel. We hope to see you on your next visit to Fort Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Well kept and in good condition. Nothing spectacular but not a single thing to complain about. It has an on prem restaurant but we didn't try it. Check out the Green Acre restaurant across the street for casual dining.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Review3236, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you. for your comment. Well kept, good condition, free parking, free wifi, fabulous restaurant on site, pool, whirlpool, patio, banquet facility, meeting rooms, business office for guest and free smiles from a great friendly front desk staff to greet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our room and the facility itself including pool were quite clean. Comfy beds and general cable. Does not come with free breakfast. They have a restaraunt but very pricey. Go to tim hortons down the street. Internet speeds in room only about 45 kbps ... try moving a chair cleoser to the door or go tothe lobby for excellent speeds. A bit pricey but tye condition and choice hotels points and buy 2 get 50 gift card still makes it well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the wireless signal if you require internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Review3236, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Good Service, clean facility, new daily specials, new bar specials, free parking, free wifi, free Business Centre, We have something for everyone. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hamburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked this hotel based on reviews. We were in the area for one night and wanted a King Room. Our room was clean but smelled of bleach... which didn't bother us so much. The bed was very comfy as were the pillows. The Front desk help, V was his nick name, was very friendly and helpful. The lobby and amenities of the hotel are good although we didn't get to use them. What makes this a 3 instead of a 4 for me was the noise of the air conditioning unit (louder then normal start and woke me on a few occasions during my night (I sleep with ear plugs every night and still woke me) And the mini fridge had been left open and was not working properly. We didn't complain because we just used the ice bucket instead. Also, I feel that this hotel could use some upgrading... the rooms are a little worn and could use newer curtains... but now I am just being fussy.
A HUGE plus for me was the late check out. We made the request and were allowed to have the room until 1 pm! If we were in the area again, we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Review3236, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor.ca. A one night stay could end up being a life time of repeat business here at The Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre. Behalf of myself and the staff we all work very hard as a team to be the best hotel in Fort Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here while visiting Niagara Falls for the long weekend. It was easy to find and very big. The parking is great; nice and close. There are a few entranceways but front desk is easy to find.

Beautiful lobby with fireplace and fountain. We didn't try the restaurant but it looked nice. Lidia, the front desk agent, was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about area highlights. She was quick to check us in and very nice.

The room we were in was large with 2 beds, since they were packed that night. Nice decor, very clean room, fresh scent. Bathroom was well sized and shower was spacious.

Thanks for a great stay, we'll be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Review3236, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for sharing the wonderful comments about the hotel and staff it is appreciated very much and look forward to your next visit in Fort Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Erie
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Fort Erie
Comfort Inn Fort Erie
#2 of 6 in Fort Erie
120 reviews
2.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Fort Erie
2.5 mi away
Haven Motel
Haven Motel
#4 of 6 in Fort Erie
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
13.8 mi away
The Peninsula Inn
The Peninsula Inn
#12 of 128 in Niagara Falls
451 reviews
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rose City Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1485 Garrison Rd, Fort Erie, Ontario L2A 1P8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Fort Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fort Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Excellent Service Above Hotels In Fort Erie If quality service is important to you, then you belong at the award-winning Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites of Fort Erie / Niagara Convention Centre. Our hotel near Niagara Falls is conveniently located near Queen Elizabeth Way to keep you connected to Buffalo, NY, Toronto and downtown Fort Erie, Ontario. Our hotel's location at the 'Gateway to Canada' ensures you'll find plenty of attractions nearby. Our hotel's location on Lake Erie and proximity to Niagara River and Niagara Falls gives you plenty of outdoor options. You can also visit the local wineries, tour Old Fort Erie, or go shopping at the many markets surrounding our hotel. Fort Erie Civic Centre Complex, Town Hall, Erie Personnel Corporation and other businesses are also convenient to our hotel's location. Fort Erie business travelers benefit from our corporate amenities, including seven meeting rooms, an exclusive Executive floor and a 24-hr Business Centre. We go beyond other hotels on Lake Erie to give you a comfortable stay. You can eat at Freeland's Restaurant and Lounge, play games in the Arcade and relax in the indoor, heated pool, whirlpool or sauna. Each room has triple-sheeted bedding, a large TV and a work area with free high-speed Internet access, and many rooms have mini-fridges, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and more. For an excellent stay in Fort Erie, Ontario, our hotel's staff invites you to the Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Centre
Holiday Inn Fort Erie
Fort Erie Holiday Inn
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre Fort Erie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing