We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional on all fronts, also lakefront”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Erie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeshore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Fort Erie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
c0ldy
1 review
“Exceptional on all fronts, also lakefront”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Ruth and Richard are brilliant hosts and the home itself is spectacular; large and bright, clean, and directly on the lake. I was surprised to find that there are no mosquitoes which made the evenings spent on deck that much more enjoyable for my wife and I.

We stayed in the Brock / feature room, which has a large window facing the lake. The room is spacious, the bed is comfortable--everything is kept in immaculate condition. We took a look at the other rooms for future reference and noted that they are all comparable in size to a master bedroom you would see in a typical home.

Breakfast is of high quality and is served in the sun room which faces the water. The food is delicious and fresh; even if Cora's was on the water I would still prefer to eat here.

We intend on coming back. There is a personal touch put into everything that takes the experience from good to great and makes it memorable. R&R (Ruth and Richard) cannot be beat.

-Dan

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0ldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Hosts are pleasant,professional, informative, and great cooks! Beds were great, rooms were spacious, location is wonderful. An excellent experience. We enjoyed cycling to Niagara Falls and to Port Colborne, winery tours in Niagara on the Lake, and exploring Old Fort Erie.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

First of all, you will not be able to find better hosts than Ruth and Richard. Engaging, interested in their customers and a joy to spend time with. The B&B is exactly what the discerning traveller is looking for. Beautiful accommodations with all the little touches. Comfortable beds, private washrooms, towel warmers, coffee makers, big flat screen TV's and an incredible kitchen where the hosts create wonderful breakfasts and mouthwatering snacks. And the large deck that overlooks lake Erie and the Buffalo skyline is the perfect place to relax after a day of cycling, touring or playing a round on the excellent Bridgewater golf course, which by the way, will only set you back $57! This is also the perfect spot for cross-border shoppers. From the B & B it is no more than 5 minutes to the border. All in all a fantastic find. I give it my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I grew up in a first class hotel on the Gulf of Mexico and have rarely seen hospitality of it's caliber, but Ruth and Richard have pulled out all the stops for this lovely home-away-from-home. Friendly and warm hosts they are also interesting people and I will remember my lovely conversations with them as well as the stunning view from my room and the amazing vegan breakfast they were only too happy to provide. I highly recommend this wonderful place and I can't wait to go back myself!

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marisong5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at Lakeshore Bed and Breakfast. Ruth and Richard were fantastic hosts. They were very accommodating to our special requests. The view from the deck was spectacular and the whole experience was extremely relaxing. Our 5 year old daughter loved playing in the yard, and enjoyed splashing rocks into the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctortaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Great rooms with all the amenities of a 4-5 star hotel. Lage well appointed rooms with coffee maker, flat Screen TV,soft fluffy robes and large en suite. Booked last minute with three buddies to experience some of the areas great golfcourses. Our host Richard made it real easy booking a round for us at his home course Bridgewater, a classic Stanly Thompson designed course $57 all in, what a deal. Really like the settup, especailly the huge deck overlooking Lake Erie and the stunning sunset of the Buffalo skyline sipping one of the regions local wines, does not get any better after a days golf.
Had no idea there was so much to do. Golf, wine tours, Niagara Falls and short drive to Niagara on the Lake. My wife is already to book the girls for her annual fall shopping trip to Buffalo, she says it is 15 minutes from "shoppers paradise". Compared to her spring trip she says her and the girls will have savings of $150 each on accommodation for two nights, "more to spend at the shops". .

Room Tip: .Rooms are all good, the King overlooking the Lake is real special, my top pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We often travel with another couple for weekend bike riding excursions, and we decided to explore the Niagara Falls region's extensive network of bike paths on the Canadian side over a three-day weekend in early June 2012. We chose to stay in quiet Fort Erie, only a few miles from the Peace Bridge. This is a good location if you want to see the falls, the fort, the Welland Canal. Niagara-on-the-Lake is a bit farther, but still an easy day trip.

The newly-opened B&B was a perfect choice. It was easy to get to following an after-work drive from Cleveland. It's right on the north shore of Lake Erie with a scenic view of New York state directly across the lake and of Buffalo situated on the shoreline to the east.

The Lakeshore differs from most B&B's in that it is a newer home, only recently refurbished and opened for guests, and has exceptionally spacious guest rooms. The furnishings and decor are brand new, very comfortable, and absolutely lovely.

All three bedrooms are on the second floor, each with private bath. We stayed in the Brock (king bed) which has a beautiful view of Lake Erie. The other rooms face the quiet street at the front of the house.

Breakfasts were very substantial, homemade and delicious. Our hosts, Richard and Ruth, were friendly and clearly pleased to be able to share their home with guests. We were able to spend relaxed times chatting with them on the porch and patio. We hope to get back to the area for more cycling and when we do, we'll stay at the Lakeside B&B again.

Room Tip: All three rooms are very spacious and quiet. Rates depend upon the bed size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Erie
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Fort Erie
Comfort Inn Fort Erie
#2 of 6 in Fort Erie
119 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Fort Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#11 of 24 in Buffalo
1,790 reviews
2.7 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeshore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeshore Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lakeshore Bed and Breakfast
Address: 667 Lakeshore Rd, Fort Erie, Ontario L2A 1B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Fort Erie
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a location that is unbeatable. Directly on Erie Beach in Fort Erie and the Friendship Trail. Perfect for cyclists, hikers or joggers looking to get away from it all relaxing, listening to the waves. All rooms have refrigerators with freezers, ice, Keurig machines, cutting boards, wine glasses and coffee mugs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakeshore Bed And Breakfast Fort Erie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing