We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to everything great service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Close to everything great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

It was wonderful to have a smoking room option, but I really needed a king sized bed also. Other than that food was excellent we had a wonderful banquet! The staff was accommodating in every way. The smoking rooms are tired looking and I am sure an upgrade is in the works soon. The location to all restaurants and shopping was great. We toured the Guelph area with the Canadian Hot Rodder Group and they were able to to take care of us as a group with fast check-in and out. The pool looked inviting but we were too tired by the end of our tours at night. Again very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 882Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel services, as well as, our unbeatable location. We would be honored to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Mandy Marsh
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    74
    55
    21
    14
See reviews for
100
46
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for two nights as our first choice, the Delta, was fully booked for our arrival night in Guelph. Check-in was friendly and efficient, room was dated and tired but clean enough. The carpet really needs replacing and please, please, please throw out the worn-out armchair already.
The room itself didn't smell of smoke, but you will occasionally smell smoke wafting from the second floor while waiting for the elevator (hallways open to atrium). Free parking helped cut down on the cost. The beds were fine, no fridge and the smallest hotel bathroom we've ever seen.
The hotel was in a very convenient location for our needs. For the price we paid (anonymous booking site), this hotel served our purpose. For the price they want on the hotel website or other booking sites, I would spend a few more $ to stay at the Delta.

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor smoking rooms, ask for outside room facing Stone Road Mall (quieter and with windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronski766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. All reviews are taken into consideration by management to identify areas of improvement. We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and hope for the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Mandy Marsh
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
163 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

When my client booked the reservation, I was very skeptical but this Holiday Inn was a cut above the others I've stayed at. Comfortable, clean room and very good breakfast buffet included with waitresses and good coffee. The only thing odd was charging $3.50 for a large bottle of water.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
The management of the Holdiay Inn Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre would like to offer our sincerest thanks for your glowing review of our property and for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Guelph.

Sincerely,
Mandy Marsh
Guest Servies Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I booked with Mandy and she is wonderful to deal with. I had a number of rooms booked and everyone commented about the friendly, efficient staff at the front desk - Jacqueline and Elizabeth.
Everyone had an great sleep and Tessa took great care of everyone at breakfast. A number of guests ordered poached eggs and they were done to perfection. We were celebrating a very special birthday and the hotel sent up a special treat for our guests.
All in all a great experience!
Thank you so much.
Terri and Terry

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are delighted to let our team know that you found their service to be impeccable. High praise indeed, we appreciate your generous comments. We hope that on your next trip to Guelph we will once again have the pleasure of having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tottenham ON
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for an early arrival at the Aberfoyle market. The hotel has a lovely lobby with restaurant and pool area. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable.
A nice touch is the atrium format, where you can step outside your room and look down at the lobby and pool.
The service was very good and very friendly. It is located close to a shopping mall, walking distance.
The only negative thing I have to say is that the elevator is very slow --- but since we weren't in any hurry, it didn't matter to us much.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the pool noise, ask for a room away from that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GetnThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre. We are glad you were able to enjoy all our hotel has to offer. We hope to have you return on your next trip to Guelph.
Sincerely,
Mandy Marsh
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Overall experience was Incredible...Management Mandy and staff are outstanding! Thanks so much! Housekeeping staff were so friendly and provided very quick service without question! I took my family of 5 there and we all enjoyed the room, pool and breakfast very much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay with us. As General Manager, your comments are invaluable to me. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Guelph.

Sincerely,
Benni Devasia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel from the outside looked tired. We choose this hotel for the pool/sauna and the fact that before this, Holiday Inns did not disappoint in delivering quality. Upon arrival we were met by Jacqueline who was absolutely delightful and helpful and the highlight of our stay. The room they assigned to us had been updated but due to a previous guest who believed in drowning in her perfume we were unable to stay in it. This did leave us wondering to the cleaniness of it that no one noticed this odor before re-letting it. When I mentioned this to Jacqueline she immediately apologized and gave us an upgraded room. While upgraded, this room had not been updated as well. The bathroom electrical plus was loose, the bathroom itself was poorly designed. It was not pleasant. However when we went to the pool the sauna was not turnd on. I mentioned this to Jacqueline and it was immediately dealt with so we could use it. The pool was good but the sauna definitely needed to be redone. You could see the signs of long wear on the wood and especially on the flooring which made me very glad I was wearing sandals. We would not stay here again and for quality, was overpriced I'm afraid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Please accept our apologies for checking you into a room that had some maintenance and housekeeping concerns. We are sorry you found inconsistencies with your stay but are proud that you thought so highly of our staff.
I welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally and hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves during your next visit to our city.
Sincerely,
Mandy Marsh
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guelph hotels
1.0 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Guelph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Guelph
Days Inn Guelph
#7 of 13 in Guelph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 601 Scottsdale Drive, Guelph, Ontario N1G 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guelph
#6 Business Hotel in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally located close to all major arteries, and a short distance from: University of Guelph campus Linamar Monsanto Mandel Scientific Cargill Nestle Waters OMAFRA Syngenta CFIA Semex The Cooperators Eli Lily Sleeman Breweries Danby Hitachi Owens Corning Bayer Crop McNeil Consumer TC Industries Tiger Drylac Denso Skyjack ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel And Conference Centre
Guelph Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing