We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated Hotel”
Review of Royal Brock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Brock Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Updated Hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel may appear older on the outside, but the rooms have been nicely updated. The two-queen rooms are quite large and very comfortable. The bathroom was tiny, but they have a long mirror with a light and a power outlet in the room, so great for multiple people getting ready in the morning. The hotel is a drive to downtown, but is literally right beside the university, so easy walk if you are visiting U of G. There are also restaurants and a plaza within walking distance. I recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zann11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    91
    62
    16
    13
See reviews for
81
61
21
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room I stayed in was clean and comfortable. Nice view from the second floor balcony facing Gordon St. Trees help to block view of the traffic. University located directly across the street. Convenient place to stay for any events at the university.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guelph, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stay at Best Western several times a year usually, each time we come to visit, to see our Grand kids, we think is a great place to stay, very satisfied with staff and service, good value! Love the breakfast option so we can have a leisurely morning. All our visits have been very satisfactory, no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa,On
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here for three nights while taking a course at a local college. I was greeted quickly by friendly front desk staff. They provided information about the hotel and local area.

My room was a standard Best Western room with a queen bed, lcd tv and fridge. The bedding was fresh, clean and very high quality. The bed itself was a little firm for my liking though. The bathroom had been updated in the last few years though it did show some wear and tear. It was kept extremely clean during my stay.

The room did have a balcony which was an unexpected feature. It is unfortunate that the balcony did not have any chairs to sit on as the weather was so nice during my stay.

The hotel provided a complimentary breakfast each morning which comprised of at least three hot items along with cereal, yogurt, pastries, bagels, breads, juices and fruit. During my stay, there seemed to be a few young ladies sports teams staying at the hotel and boy could they eat. Some of the hot items went quickly as well as the cereal. The stay did a good job trying to keep up with the demand. The only negative was that the furniture in the breakfast area has seen better days.

The pool area was very nice and well kept. There a number of resturants within a very short walk from the hotel. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anywhere, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a colleague while attending a conference at the nearby university. I found the reception staff to be very professional and accommodating. Our room was pleasantly appointed and clean. The "cathedral ceiling" was a great touch. We didn't feel "boxed in." The cleaning staff was courteous, friendly, and thorough. They went out of their way to find us an extra luggage rack when we asked for one and to inquire if we needed any additional items. The breakfast room was bright and well laid out. The selection of food was appropriate and the employees keep the serving area clean and well supplied. The hotel is located in an area with several shopping centers and strip malls, which was very convenient. All in all, this was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalFromNY10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I’ve stayed here annually for the last four years. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the fitness room is good. They offer a complimentary breakfast, which could be better. Standard fare of eggs, bacon, etc. Nothing healthful, which is disappointing. My only complaint is that in order to get to the first-floor rooms, you have to lug your luggage up several stairs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel was accommodating to my family and the staff was very professional and courteous. Rooms were very large and comfortable. Breakfast was quite good--coffee was just ok for me, but I am a fussy coffee person. Enjoyed this place and would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guelph hotels
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Guelph
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Guelph
Days Inn Guelph
#6 of 13 in Guelph
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Brock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Brock Hotel

Property: Royal Brock Hotel
Address: 716 Gordon St, Guelph, Ontario N1G 1Y6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Brock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is conveniently located directly adjacent to the University of Guelph, government offices and close to commercial, retail and residential areas, all in a beautiful park-like setting in Guelph, Ontario. The Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is ideal for the business traveler with all the value added amenities you've come to expect including complimentary high speed wireless internet access, free local, calling card access and toll-free calls and a complimentary hot breakfast. For the leisure guest, traveling through Southwestern Ontario, the Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph boasts a seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck from May to September and plenty of free parking for your accommodation needs. When travelling through Southwestern Ontario, consider the Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph for your next reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Brock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Brock Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Guelph
Ramada Guelph
Guelph Ramada
Royal Brock Hotel Guelph, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing