We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Brock Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn(Guelph)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$162
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$159
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$71
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
121
96
68
18
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
96
68
18
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssausagestone roadsmall fridgehotel is locateddecent breakfastspacious roomrecommend this hotelbagelsguelph universitywe've stayedfree breakfasta great place to stayhot breakfastconferencetournament
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nothing great. Room clean, if a little tired. Breakfast OK. Staff good. Reasonable price and comfortable. Ideal if on business at the University or for a conference. Plenty of parking. Good location for University.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrWig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very nice, comfortable and clean accommodations with excellent front end staff and just over a 10 minute cab ride to downtown Guelph. I would recommend this hotel for business, couples, and families or even travelling alone. I will definitely stay here again if I have something going on in Guelph.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank terrisvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our plans were in Kitchener, when it turned out that both the Kitchener and Cambridge location Best Westerns were fully booked, we booked this one in Guelph. A bit of a drive from where we needed it, but totally worth it. Thankyou Best Western.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketan N, General Manager at Royal Brock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for the kind comments, it is encouraging to hear positive and kind words from our guests. We strive to provide a superior customer experience and we are elated to read your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Mom, dad, and two daughters studying in Guelph and Waterloo reunited for a day and stayed here at a really good rate. The room could not have been cleaner and the beds were supremely comfy, with crisp high-quality sheets. Although we were in the wing nearest the street, we could hear no traffic and had a great snooze. As well, breakfast was excellent. Alas, we didn't have a chance to try the attractive-looking pool.

On the other hand, at check-in the desk guy went beyond efficient to the point of being abrupt. The corridor that led to our room was 1970s in aroma and appearance--did we just miss Alice Cooper? One of the lamps between the beds didn't work. There was only a single night table, and it was placed between the beds, which meant that the people sleeping on the outside had no place for tissues or a glass of water that might be needed during the night. The TV, although it was a digital flat-screen, had a 1950s picture with lots of snow and a squished image. Outside the patio doors was a narrow grassy area separating the building from the parking lot; this area was plain scruffy, thoroughly littered with beer caps and cigarette butts. Poor signage makes it possible to get locked into a corridor when trying to walk through the hotel to the front desk area, meaning you have to go outside and circumnavigate the entire building to reach your destination.

To be clear, though, the room itself was great and the overall experience was very positive and enjoyable. We would stay again in a flash, and probably will in a couple of weeks. Maybe by then hotel staff will have addressed some of my whinings.

Room Tip: CAA members always get a discount.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketan N, General Manager at Royal Brock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for the review and we appreciate your feedback and find your input of paramount importance on our development and continual improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed here twice, a year apart, on two separate business trips.

The first time, the swimming pool was inexplicably closed for repairs. When I came back nearly a year to the day later, same deal: pool closed for repairs.

I asked the hotel staff what was up and was met with shrugs. So, basically, no pool. The fitness room is not much bigger than a closet.

The concrete 70s architecture makes the hotel feel a lot like the South building residences on campus a few blocks north. Oddly, several people in Guelph told me there was a plan to convert this Best Western into student housing, so maybe that's appropriate.

This place is handy to campus but would be a long walk to downtown.

The rooms were... okay. Nothing horrible, just a bit tired.

The free breakfast buffet was depressing.

After four days, I walked over to the much-nicer new Delta hotel and was quoted a government rate that was the same as the Best Western's standard rate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushiboy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketan N, General Manager at Royal Brock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your candor, it is unfortunate your experience was not up to your expectations, and for this we greatly apologize. We strive to provide the utmost in service and standards, and take your comments very seriously as a tool for our improvement. We sincerely hope you enjoy your next visit to Guelph.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews