We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and experience”
Review of Royal Brock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Brock Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Excellent service and experience”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The staff at the Best Western Plus Royal Brock Hotele and Conference Centre in Guelph were very well trained, professional, relaxing and a joy. We highly recommend this hotel as an excellent place to stay and enjoy the surroundings and the food. Great value and memorable. Thank you Best Western!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    91
    62
    16
    14
See reviews for
81
62
21
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is an older hotel but was renovated 5 years ago. The picture of the room on the internet was exactly the same in person. We had a large room with a cathedral ceiling. Very comfortable and quiet as this section of rooms were only on one side of the hallway. Breakfast was included and actually good. The swimming pool is a rare outdoor one. Nice to be outside in the summer. All this for the best and very reasonable price in town. We will definitely go back. I'd recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a cathedral ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PitaMooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nothing great. Room clean, if a little tired. Breakfast OK. Staff good. Reasonable price and comfortable. Ideal if on business at the University or for a conference. Plenty of parking. Good location for University.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrWig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very nice, comfortable and clean accommodations with excellent front end staff and just over a 10 minute cab ride to downtown Guelph. I would recommend this hotel for business, couples, and families or even travelling alone. I will definitely stay here again if I have something going on in Guelph.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank terrisvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our plans were in Kitchener, when it turned out that both the Kitchener and Cambridge location Best Westerns were fully booked, we booked this one in Guelph. A bit of a drive from where we needed it, but totally worth it. Thankyou Best Western.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketan N, General Manager at Royal Brock Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for the kind comments, it is encouraging to hear positive and kind words from our guests. We strive to provide a superior customer experience and we are elated to read your review. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Mom, dad, and two daughters studying in Guelph and Waterloo reunited for a day and stayed here at a really good rate. The room could not have been cleaner and the beds were supremely comfy, with crisp high-quality sheets. Although we were in the wing nearest the street, we could hear no traffic and had a great snooze. As well, breakfast was excellent. Alas, we didn't have a chance to try the attractive-looking pool.

On the other hand, at check-in the desk guy went beyond efficient to the point of being abrupt. The corridor that led to our room was 1970s in aroma and appearance--did we just miss Alice Cooper? One of the lamps between the beds didn't work. There was only a single night table, and it was placed between the beds, which meant that the people sleeping on the outside had no place for tissues or a glass of water that might be needed during the night. The TV, although it was a digital flat-screen, had a 1950s picture with lots of snow and a squished image. Outside the patio doors was a narrow grassy area separating the building from the parking lot; this area was plain scruffy, thoroughly littered with beer caps and cigarette butts. Poor signage makes it possible to get locked into a corridor when trying to walk through the hotel to the front desk area, meaning you have to go outside and circumnavigate the entire building to reach your destination.

To be clear, though, the room itself was great and the overall experience was very positive and enjoyable. We would stay again in a flash, and probably will in a couple of weeks. Maybe by then hotel staff will have addressed some of my whinings.

Room Tip: CAA members always get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketan N, General Manager at Royal Brock Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for the review and we appreciate your feedback and find your input of paramount importance on our development and continual improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed here twice, a year apart, on two separate business trips.

The first time, the swimming pool was inexplicably closed for repairs. When I came back nearly a year to the day later, same deal: pool closed for repairs.

I asked the hotel staff what was up and was met with shrugs. So, basically, no pool. The fitness room is not much bigger than a closet.

The concrete 70s architecture makes the hotel feel a lot like the South building residences on campus a few blocks north. Oddly, several people in Guelph told me there was a plan to convert this Best Western into student housing, so maybe that's appropriate.

This place is handy to campus but would be a long walk to downtown.

The rooms were... okay. Nothing horrible, just a bit tired.

The free breakfast buffet was depressing.

After four days, I walked over to the much-nicer new Delta hotel and was quoted a government rate that was the same as the Best Western's standard rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sushiboy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketan N, General Manager at Royal Brock Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your candor, it is unfortunate your experience was not up to your expectations, and for this we greatly apologize. We strive to provide the utmost in service and standards, and take your comments very seriously as a tool for our improvement. We sincerely hope you enjoy your next visit to Guelph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guelph hotels
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Guelph
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Guelph
Days Inn Guelph
#6 of 13 in Guelph
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Brock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Brock Hotel

Property: Royal Brock Hotel
Address: 716 Gordon St, Guelph, Ontario N1G 1Y6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Brock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is conveniently located directly adjacent to the University of Guelph, government offices and close to commercial, retail and residential areas, all in a beautiful park-like setting in Guelph, Ontario. The Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is ideal for the business traveler with all the value added amenities you've come to expect including complimentary high speed wireless internet access, free local, calling card access and toll-free calls and a complimentary hot breakfast. For the leisure guest, traveling through Southwestern Ontario, the Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph boasts a seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck from May to September and plenty of free parking for your accommodation needs. When travelling through Southwestern Ontario, consider the Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph for your next reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Brock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Brock Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Guelph
Ramada Guelph
Guelph Ramada
Royal Brock Hotel Guelph, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing