We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another gem in Guelphs restaurant scene.”
Review of 39 Carden Street

39 Carden Street
Ranked #15 of 386 Restaurants in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: 39 Carden Street is a bistro in the heart of Downtown Guelph. Our menu features an inspired cuisine, with a modern twist, prepared fresh daily using the finest local ingredients. We showcase snack, weekend brunch, lunch and dinner items on our unique menu. 39 Carden Street is the perfect venue for any occasion.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another gem in Guelphs restaurant scene.”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Our first visit and we will be back. The food is good, the staff are great, the decor and atmosphere is just right. The pace of service was just right for people who want to enjoy being together. The wine by the glass feature is a great way to pair wines with foods when everybody has different dishes.
Another gem in Guelph good places to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    43
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great service, interesting menu items”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A friend and I came here for lunch; the restaurant just recently (as of a few weeks) opened for lunch (has been open for dinner for a while). The lunch menu had several interesting choices, a bit of "something for everyone" (vegetarian, meat lovers, soup/salads, and fish dishes). I created a lunch from two "snacks" from a "snack menu" (a quinoa salad and a tuna roll); my friend had the quinoa salad and a split pea soup. The quinoa salad was excellent and a bit of a surprise given its name: the primary ingredient was spinach, with quinoa and toasted sunflower seeds playing a supporting role. The tuna roll (4 small pieces) was "just OK" (the rice was very cold, and the textures of the rice and fish had merged together, so perhaps the roll had been prepared earlier and refrigerated). The wait staff was very attentive, polite, and cheerful and helped make the lunch very pleasant. The next time I visit, I will definitely try a dish from the cafe's standard lunch (or dinner) menu (see their web site).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice for a special event”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We experienced 39 Carden for the first time last week and found the food excellent. Menu changes regularly and is listed on a blackboard - you can buy wine by the oz..which I thought very cool. Service was great - we never felt rushed and the waitress was extrmely pleasant and informative about all of the menu items we asked about. Had a great time...did not find it cold as others have and we sat by the window....just be aware that this place ain't cheap. We will go again for sure but did find the prices a bit on the high side.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nbcOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Impressive first impressions-will definite return”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Some of the best oysters on half shell paired with sake, delicately and deliciously complemented with wine vinegar and minced onions--great starter for a Valentine wine paired dinner. We appreciated the flexibility to substitute pork belly bun (oriental style) for my wife. Almond soup with pork shoulder was creamy, delicate and beautifully presented with tendrils, paired with unoaked chardonnay. Then the dilemma of choosing between the baked stuffed whole trout (which looked delectable at the next table), and the fabulous grilled ribeye that we chose. Served in its own skillet on a bed of spinach and surrounded by roasted turnip slices. Horseradish infused au jus perfectly completed the presentation. Mashed potatoes in a side fry pan finished the mains. Generous portions that we will enjoy today! The South African pinotage (Grinder) was a perfect match. Truffles, substituted with 'London fog creme brulee' (infused with earl grey tea) at our request, served with Taylor Fladgate LBV 2008, was the perfect finish. The service was attentive and friendly, willing to accommodate our special requests without hesitation. All this for $110 plus tax and gratuity. The view through the large front window of children skating across the street was heart warming. We particularly appreciated the wide variety of selection, creative presentations and rich flavours (without excessive use of salt!). We will return soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“If you can get into the wine and dine, you have to go”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I love the food here in general, and the service has always been great. Being able to make my own tasting menu because of all the small plate choices is a huge hit. They have a wine and dine every month, and this is where the kitchen gets to do whatever they want, and their passion shows. I'm fortunate enough that I have eaten at many of the top restaurants in the world, belong to pretentious underground supper clubs and know food. The wine and dine was on the same level as anything i've ever eaten but at half the price of what I'd have paid in a known food city(or.less).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 39 Carden Street also viewed

 

Been to 39 Carden Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing