We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Re-visit Paris at 39 Carden”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 39 Carden Street

39 Carden Street
Ranked #13 of 381 Restaurants in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: 39 Carden Street is a bistro in the heart of Downtown Guelph. Our menu features an inspired cuisine, with a modern twist, prepared fresh daily using the finest local ingredients. We showcase snack, weekend brunch, lunch and dinner items on our unique menu. 39 Carden Street is the perfect venue for any occasion.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Re-visit Paris at 39 Carden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I toured Paris last summer and go to 30 Carden whenever we want another taste!
We have visited Carden for anniversary, birthday, and Valentine's this year...as well as lunches and drinks and apps. Never disappointed! Staff and food are both extraordinary. Wonderful selection of wines. Interesting and fresh menu choices. Valentine's menu was the best I've ever had for that occasion and the price was unbelievably good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Crabbeymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    43
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
247 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great take on the French bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Have dined at 39 Carden several times over the past few months, each time for dinner -- sometimes as a couple, sometimes with friends. Each occasion has been great.

It's not a big place, but there are plenty of seating options, including larger tables. The patio is nice and large, though it's shaded so you'll want a sweater for evenings. The decor is sweet -- french bistro without being over the top.

The menu changes constantly and is only posted on blackboards. This creates some issues with picking your dishes if you're eating with a group and are not in the sight-lines of the boards. We've had good luck taking photos of the boards to take back to our tables. Might be nice if the owners just caved and did daily printed menus.

The food is varied, with about a dozen "small plates" available either as apps or to compose a small plate meal. The mains are usually 8 or 10 in number (and usually include at least one seafood and one game option!), and there are a few desserts on offer each day. The offerings are creative, but can get a bit repetitive -- we had 3 of our asian-influenced small plates show up with the same scallion/garlic/ginger sauce, as if it was the only asian sauce ever invented. Good thing it was super tasty.

Wines are priced well, and though there are only a few options, they're good bottles. You can also order from the oenophile's list by the ounce for a higher-priced option. Bar service is also good, with craft liquors as well as the standards available.

Expect to pay about $50 pp for dinner with drinks, before tip. You can do it for less, or a lot more.

Service is attentive and consistently good, capping off the experience.

Definitely worth checking out -- whether it's for a romantic dinner, family brunch, or a casual dinner out with friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank McMarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Have gone twice ( both times for dinner) Food presentation (love it) Favours in the dishes are amazing. Love paperless menu (on a board) Had rabbit risiotto with mushrooms also gnoochi with duck. Must try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another gem in Guelphs restaurant scene.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Our first visit and we will be back. The food is good, the staff are great, the decor and atmosphere is just right. The pace of service was just right for people who want to enjoy being together. The wine by the glass feature is a great way to pair wines with foods when everybody has different dishes.
Another gem in Guelph good places to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great service, interesting menu items”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

A friend and I came here for lunch; the restaurant just recently (as of a few weeks) opened for lunch (has been open for dinner for a while). The lunch menu had several interesting choices, a bit of "something for everyone" (vegetarian, meat lovers, soup/salads, and fish dishes). I created a lunch from two "snacks" from a "snack menu" (a quinoa salad and a tuna roll); my friend had the quinoa salad and a split pea soup. The quinoa salad was excellent and a bit of a surprise given its name: the primary ingredient was spinach, with quinoa and toasted sunflower seeds playing a supporting role. The tuna roll (4 small pieces) was "just OK" (the rice was very cold, and the textures of the rice and fish had merged together, so perhaps the roll had been prepared earlier and refrigerated). The wait staff was very attentive, polite, and cheerful and helped make the lunch very pleasant. The next time I visit, I will definitely try a dish from the cafe's standard lunch (or dinner) menu (see their web site).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 39 Carden Street also viewed

Guelph, Ontario
Guelph, Ontario
 

Been to 39 Carden Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing