We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Luxurious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norfolk Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Norfolk Guest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Guelph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Luxurious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I came to Norfolk to celebrate our anniversary. We loved how private the Grandview suite was and the two person Jacuzzi.

I was disappointed that the fireplace didn't work, even when I used the labeled switches on the wall. The bed was very comfortable, though it would have been better if it was a king size. If you enjoy bed and breakfasts, you will love Norfolk.

Room Tip: Spring for the Grandview suite. You will be very glad that you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janetperry, Owner at Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
WE really appreciate all comments our guest makes, it helps us to improve.
King size beds are the next phase in upgrades but will not happen for a while since the Queen beds are all new. Changing bed size also means change room decor as well.

The reason the fireplace did not work was because there is not a switch on the wall for the fireplace. The wall switch is for the lights above the fireplace not the fireplace itself. You must turn the fireplace on manually at the bottom of the fireplace. So that is why it did not appear to work for you. It is in perfect working order and always has been. Perhaps we can place a note with instructions in the room to make it more clear for future guests. Thankyou for your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    13
    5
    5
    9
See reviews for
16
80
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merrickville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My daughter is in her 4th year at U. of Guelph and my husband and I have stayed at Norfolk House many times over those years, when we come to visit her. We have always been more than happy with our experience there. Twice, we've even been up-graded to a bigger room than the one we reserved, at no extra cost. The decor is lovely, elegant and spotlessly clean. The jacuzzi baths are what we really look forward to, after a 5 hour drive. Breakfast is always spectacular and Janet is a friendly and pleasant host. After our daughter moves on from U. of Guelph, we might have to keep coming back anyway, just to enjoy a stay at Norfolk House.

Room Tip: Any room is a good one at Norfolk House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary-Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Third time visitor - impressed every time. This is one of the most beautiful B&Bs I visit. The rooms are gorgeous and spacious, the same goes for the washroom . The beds are always comfortable and I never have trouble sleeping. Great food, great service.

Room Tip: Grandview or Penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I have stayed here before, and will continue to go back as often as I can. This time, my boyfriend and I stayed overnight for my birthday. What a wonderful gift! The room was gorgeous, spacious (bigger then my apartment in Toronto), and luxurious. I would have to say that the bathroom was my favourite, with a beautiful 2 person jacuzzi and an awesome walk-in shower (that I believe one could live in). Janet has always been such a welcoming easy-going hostess, which is always greatly appreciated. Let's not forget the large wrap around balcony and as always, the super comfortable beds. Just love this B&B.

Room Tip: I've stayed in multiple rooms, they are all extremely nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maybe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband had booked a room for us a month in advance with a $100 deposit for our wedding day as a surprise to me. I found out on the evening of being married, that when he went to drop off our bags that morning, they had lost our reservation. When they finally found it (computer glitch they told him), they said they were full.

He suggested that couples who had made a reservation only a week ago (and were not due to arrive to the B&B for a few hours) should be bumped and we should get a room because we reserved a full month ago and it was our wedding day. They proverbially shrugged their shoulders.

We were moved to a small room in the Delta Hotel in Guelph, which was a complete disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janetperry, Owner at Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
It was very unfortunate that errors occur beyond our control. This reservation was not lost. The groom booked online with our third party reservation system, however he failed to complete the reservation.He never received a confirmation. He admitted to us that he stopped while filling out the forms online. On our end it shows us the date that the reservation was attempted and what time and that it was online. The unfortunate part is that the room inventory was not removed due to the incomplete booking by the client.
I brought the client into the office and showed him everything on our computer and assured him that regardless of the circumstance we would make sure this did not ruin his wedding day. Within the hour I had called the Delta hotel and arrange to have the best room available for the couple. I explained the situation to the hotel front desk clerk and asked that this couple be taken very good care of. I personally went to the Delta and placed fresh flowers in the room, a bottle of wine, spa products, chocolate dipped strawberries and a note. I took care of the breakfast ,parking and offered a free room at Norfolk as well. I took care of the entire bill which was our way to make sure they were happy. I called the Delta several times during their stay to make sure they were happy. The gentleman at the front desk reported that he was impressed at our level of customer service and that he said the couple enjoyed their stay and all the extras that I had provided and paid for.

Our policy for booking a reservation has never included a payment of any kind, simply a credit card number to secure the room. We never received any money from this client as a way to secure the room. Most of our conversation took place over the phone and the groom did ask us to bump another client to accommodate them and we did not agree to do that as his reservation was never completed and confirmed in the first place.

We went out of our way to make this couple happy and we did everything possible to make the day special for them. We called our reservation system provider and have let them know they need to put some more measures into the system to make sure this type of error does not happen again.
There will always be things that go wrong along the way, it's how you deal with them that is important. We care about every client and our immediate response to turn the situation around and level of care shows we are a great place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed at the guesthouse many times and just left once again and cannot wait until I go back. Wow it is so clean, and so comfortable. Again The owner updated the rooms. I'm so impressed as always Janet made me feel at home.

Thank you can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Rent the grand view or Turkish
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Norfolk is by far my favorite, and the best, place to stay in Guelph. Very comfortable beds, elegantly decorated rooms, most of which have large jacuzzi tubs. I travel extensively for business, and Grandview/Penthouse rooms are up there with any of the nicest rock star hotel rooms I've stayed at anywhere in the world. On this visit I stayed in the Provence and Queen rooms on different nights. This B&B is obviously great for weekend getaways, but also works well for business visitors i.e. fast wifi, quiet rooms, convenient to biz district and university,

Janet is a very congenial host, and serves great breakfasts (included in price). She is also quite knowledgeable about local restaurants/amenties/events, and can offer recommendations based on your personal tastes/preferences Lastly, you can make a pot of (good) tea on your own in the evenings whenever you want, i.e. nice touch that makes for a good way to end the evening. Thanks Janet!!

PS: There is no swimming pool, mistakenly clicked on that rating. The jacuzzis are a little too small to do laps ;-)

Room Tip: Grandview/Penthouse rooms are excellent, Turkish and Queen rooms are great. Other rooms are also ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quietpc3400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guelph hotels
2.2 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Guelph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Guelph
Days Inn Guelph
#7 of 13 in Guelph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
4.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Guest House

Property: Norfolk Guest House
Address: 102 Eramosa Road, Guelph, Ontario N1E 2L8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniting the comfort and privacy of a magnificent heritage home with the services and amenities normally associated with country Inns and boutique hotels, the Norfolk Guest house brings a new level of luxury to the heart of downtown Guelph. Our boutique hotel style accommodations have been designed fusing old world charm with modern influences. Our exquisite suites feature private terrace, Jacuzzi hydro massage tubs and fireplaces, Norfolk Guest house is an ideal accommodation option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Norfolk Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Upscale Accommodations
Norfolk Hotel Guelph
Norfolk Guest House Guelph, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing