We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to celebrate Graduation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Babelfish Bistro - CLOSED

Babelfish Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$37
Cuisines: Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Babelfish Bistro features "upscale comfort foods" served in a cozy urban room, accompanied by excellent service. Compliment your meal with wines from our exceptional selection, followed by decadent house made desserts. We are the perfect size for private gatherings of 25 to 40. Reserve online with the "Reservation Widget" on our web page up to 14 days in advance!
Khajuraho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to celebrate Graduation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a great dinner with terrific service and exceptional food. We were celebrating our son'graduation from Guelph. We had reserved the dinner from Vancouver several weeks ahead. We welcomed and made to feel right at home. The appetizers were excellent- spinach salad, fried brie were mouth watering. The Atlantic salmon (while Pacific) entree was cooked perfectly. Not cheap but well worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iroller868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    34
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Upscale comfort food in Guelph”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went to Guelph for father's day. I chose Babelfish Bistro because their menu had something for all the different taste all six of us have. Everyone raved about the food. I had the wild caught Hawaiian Wahoo, which was delicious and I only order wild caught fish, it was nice to see an exclusive and rare choice, I didn't expect this for a small place like Guelph. There is a nice wine list and on Tuesday you can bring your own wine. The bathroom, although downstairs, were very clean, every chef knows a clean bathroom is a sign of a clean kitchen!The ambiance is the only thing that I would change. It is dark, the decor could be much better, and the service although impeccable could be more friendly and knowledgeable of the menu. For the quality versus price, this is a good choice, and if you are like me, looking for items on the menu that you can't cook at home, this is the place. I cannot stand going out and finding items on a menu, which I can very well cook at home, I always look for originality and taste.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadastealady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous service Fabulous cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Celebrating my mother-in-law's 60th birthday with a surprise party at Babelfish Bistro was definitely the best choice. The service was impeccable the food was exquisite. Serving over 35 plus and the lil ones can be a bit tricky, but everyone's food was served hot and the taste... delicious. We rented the entire restaurant for the day and it was definitely the best choice Thank You Babelfish for making our special night even more special.

Helpful?
Thank ShayPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acton,ont. canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“VERY NICE FOR A SPECIAL OCCASION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I went for dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The restaurant lived up to all the reviews we read. The place is small and intimate. The food was excellent and the staff very professional. Their service was prompt, but not overbearing. Price would depict for us anyway that it would be a restaurant we would visit only on special occasions. Dinner with appetizer and wine for 2 is approximately $100 without taxes or tip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathyv29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Still a Quality Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

It's been some time since I'd visited but a birthday celebration seemed like a good reason to return here. The mussels with white wine sauce were top-notch. My strip loin cooked to perfection and tasty. My wife went for the ribs. She really enjoyed them. Visit was mid-week and the place wasn't crowded although we had made the precaution of reservations. Note to myself: Must not wait so long before repeating.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babelfish Bistro also viewed

Guelph, Ontario
Guelph, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing