We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great energy but where is the food?”

Salsateria Rebel Foods
Ranked #143 of 381 Restaurants in Guelph
Cuisines: Mexican, International
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great energy but where is the food?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

If one of the owners hangs out there and personally pul6ls out a chair for you, you know it can't be too bad. But the thing is, the owner himself seems to be a very relaxed guy. So if you are in a hurry, good luck getting served in there. However, a lazy 4 hour long world cup viewing with friends? Bingo! Salsateria is it!

It has a high energy atmosphere without being noisy. As long as you don't mind forgetting about the food, and the almost non existent, you will enjoy the energy and colours. I am not a big fan of their food anyway. Compared to Chipotle Mexican Grill for example, their Mexican food lacks flavour.

Perfect for a place to hang when you just want a drink an appetizers and are in no rush.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the food but the service is HORRIBLE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I go to salsateria fairly often but every time without fail I get so annoyed with the service. If its not the food being forgotten its waiting 25 minutes to get your bill (even after asking multiple times). We were at the restaurant today and we watched a couple come in sit down and be ignored for atleast 20 minutes right as they were ready to get up and leave WE (the customers) flagged down a waitress and told them that these people have been waiting awhile. The staff are under trained and there is usually not enough of them. If it wasn't for the delicious food I would never go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KylieVirtue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

I'm a bit of a Mexican/Latin food snob, spending the last 10 years in the southwest U.S. If there is one thing I miss more than anything (other than the sun!), it's the amazing latin food. Salsateria is decent - their street tacos aren't especially flavorful, but their burritos are huge and their nachos are great. Good value.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BCG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best salsa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

IF you really want an authentic taste of the south then salsateria has it down. Their salsa's are of course the best in town and really why argue when so much is in a jar and tastes so blah? Get your socks knocked off!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosslyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“dine and dash”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

This place always hits the spot. Their salsa is a bit oily but I tend to buy it because it's always easier than making your own. Staff are usually pretty chill, late at night it's a total magnet for drunks though so be warned.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salsateria Rebel Foods also viewed

Guelph, Ontario
Guelph, Ontario
 

Been to Salsateria Rebel Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing