We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Low Cost Hotel in Hamilton”
Review of Days Inn Hamilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Hamilton
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Low Cost Hotel in Hamilton”
Reviewed 18 March 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times, for one or two nights. It is wonderful value for the price. And the location is excellent if you want access to the downtown core and McMaster.
The room amenities are good; there is a fridge, microwave, iron, and a great flat screen TV. The staff are fairly courteous, too. Ben and Jenn are outstanding at the front desk.
The free breakfast which starts at 6 am is carb heavy, but plentiful and the coffee is good. The overnight clerk does a good job setting it up and is happy to assist with figuring out the toaster etc.
The one drawback can be the teams and children who tend to populate the hotel. They can be quite noisy running up and down the hallways. However, the front desk will deal with it if you complain.
I think the second floor at the rear is the best location, due to proximity to the street.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mycallingcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnhamilton, General Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Appreciate your repeat business and your excellent comments. See you soon. All the best.

Azim Kassam
GeneralManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    142
    127
    54
    74
See reviews for
124
113
65
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel twice when visiting hamilton and you get what you pay for. Cheap prices but not the cleanest rooms. Carpets were stained which was kind of concerning and the beds are AWFUL. I have the worst sleeps and my back ends up killing me in the morning. I would suggest staying at a different hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnhamilton, General Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
I am really sorry that you did not have a good experience at our hotel. I can assure that you will have a better experience next time.

Azim Kassam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I was on business in downtown Hamilton recently and stayed at Days Inn.
The location was convenient and I walked most days to the convention centre. However I don`t advise you do this at dark. The desk clerks, both night and day were excellent and I used the breakfast room 2 days out of the 4 and it was ok.
My room was very clean and spacious. I was in room 222 at the rear of the hotel, which I requested and it was VERY quiet.. The only downer was the crowd of smokers hanging around the front of the hotel in the morning in their pajamas. My advice, build a small enclosed gazebo for them so they don`t crowd the hotel front. I appreciated the NON-SMOKING policy. As for a food tip!! La Cantina LA very average... not impressed save your money... The best meal was a small quaint place called KOOSH !! Fantastic food, all origional recipes and hand made pasta from the chef who personally greets you and makes you feel like he genuinely appreciates you there. Its about a 10 minute cab ride but worth every cent. Reserve a table as its only got around 12 and fills up fast.
All in all, if you have to be in Hamilton... stay at the Days Inn and explore the restaurant and nite life around Mcmaster Uni.
Thanks Days Inn , I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firedog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnhamilton, General Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Appreciate your time for the honest and excellent recommendations. All the best.

Azim Kassam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We appreciated the early check in and free parking which allowed us to visit with family living nearby. The breakfast was first class and the opportunity to leave our car in the parking lot after checking out was an added bonus to our delightful stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnhamilton, General Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, 20 January 2011
Thank you for your kind words.

Azim Kassam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

unbelievably rude front desk, tried to check in 20 minutes early and would not even check to see if my room was ready. Did not even ask my name or how long I was staying. Was told to come back at 3pm. Other guests in our group had checked in at noon. would never ever ever recommend this place to anyone. area is sketchy.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmbo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnhamilton, General Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, 5 December 2010
Sorry about this, but I am sure that when you had arrived, all the rooms that were clean, were given to your friends, and the nite before we might have been busy. That's why we say check in time is 3 pm, and if we check in somebody early, then we are in problem, if we do not, then even we are in trouble. Once again sorry.

Azim Kassam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Ontario
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Stayed at the Days Inn Hamilton on Main St E. Oct 23. It was a good price and the room had one queen bed, fridge, microwave, LCD TV and wireless Internet. There were no issues except the parking lot was full so we had to park down the street (100 yards). Kudos to the desk clerk who made sure we found the right parking lot at 10:00 PM. The free breakfast was simple with some cereal, bagels, toast and some fruit. No bed bugs were seen, which is a concern these days. It was a Sat night so it was a bit noisy as people were up until 2-3 in the morning. The fitness center was not worth using.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heritagehei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnhamilton, General Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, 5 December 2010
Appreciate your honest comments. Thank you.

Azim Kassam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

This hotel is the definition of an "average" hotel. It was clean enough, the room was nice and clean, the location was close to downtown (within walking distance) and the service was so-so.

I only stayed here for one night. The experience didn't get off to a good start. We tried checking into the room a couple hours early as we had just gotten off a bus from Toronto. I realize that hotels have a check-in time, but I've found that generally the better hotels will let you get into your room ahead of that time if you talk to them nicely. When I approached the front desk at this hotel and asked to check in early, the woman at the front looked at me as though I had two heads! She said "Well sir, you're extremely early. Check-in is at 3:00" (note: we arrived at around 1:15 pm). I explained that we had just gotten in to town and that we were not picky about the location of the room, but she didn't even bother to check her records to see if anything was available. She did at least let us leave our bags behind the front desk so we could start exploring the city.

Other than that, the stay was entirely "average". Average value and as clean as you'd expect any hotel room to be. I will say that the room was larger than an "average" room, so the extra space was quite nice.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to pretty much anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnhamilton, General Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, 19 October 2010
Appreciate your frank remarks. We will try our best to make it above average. All the best.

Azim Kassam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
221 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
673 reviews
Quality Hotel
#11 of 20 in Hamilton
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Comfort Inn Hamilton
#12 of 20 in Hamilton
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hamilton

Property: Days Inn Hamilton
Address: 210 Main St E, Hamilton, Ontario L8N 1H3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Downtown Hamilton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hamilton 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Hamilton is a new hotel located in Downtown Hamilton. This 100% smoke-free hotel offers complimentary Continental Breakfast, Fitness Center, Free Local Calls, Free Wireless Internet and Free Parking. All rooms have Fridge, Microwave, 32in LCD TVs, Iron, Ironing Board and some rooms have Jacuzzi Tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Days Inn
Days Inn Hamilton Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing