We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Customer Service Ever!”

Ponderosa Nature Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ponderosa Nature Resort
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Not only did I witness someone who was apparently a manager, speak to other customers inside the club house as if they were bumbling idiots but I also overheard the owner speaking ill of people who were near the hot tub she was sitting in.
This is terribly unfortunate because the place is lovely.
The food is over priced and tasteless and you aren't allowed to bring a picnic with you.

Bare Oaks is a far better Nudist Resort for us even if it means driving a little further.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stopped in a week ago on a friday morning weather ws probably 27 and sunny I found the staff quite friendly welcoming and informative. As for the facilities the outdoor pool as well as the indoor pool were quite chilly (indoor pool was under some small reno but still useable) the outdoor hottub was also only lukewarm but the indoor hottub was very nice and hot Also Sauna was very good Facilities were very clean I ttok a walk around the grounds which was mainly a seasonal small cottage/trailrt type area and met a few locals who were also friendly
The resort was very quiet for a hot day though perhaps I will try on a weekend if i can get past the $38 day pass fee

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I will be back, but I do have one complaint, a day pass is far to expensive, I stopped in hoping to use a shower a few weeks ago and was told.....$36.00 , I got a shower in a carwash in downtown Milton for two bucks and could have showerred twenty of us.....ok turn around boys and girls.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We just spent three days and two nights at the Ponderosa Nature Resort. What a pleasant find - we just found their website and were able to get a room the same day we called. Everyone was very friendly ... the restaurant and dining service was outstanding. By no way is this a 5-star Caribbean party palace but it is a 4-star diamond in the rough. You just don't find this type of customer and dining service in nudist resorts in the Tri-state Michigan area. Every staff member was fabulous and we were treated like long lost family. A special order of banana pancakes was no problem ... red snapper with shrimp for dinner excellent ... cowboy steak was enough for two people. The food and drink prices were very reasonable and the portions plentiful.

The only reason this resort is rated 4 stars vs 5 stars is the resort is more like a B&B vs. a hotel meaning the nine guestrooms share a bathroom on the same floor. But being a nudist resort it isn't really a big deal if you see your neighbors on the way to the restroom nude or partially nude.

The majority of the guests were full or part-time residents in housing or trailers on site. The resort caters mostly to couples and families. We wouldn't suggest the resort for singles.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank skydancer_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

This was almost perfect. If I were to pick fault, I would say that the food choices could be better. Too much junk food for our tastes and difficult for vegetarians. Otherwise the facilities were clean and well-maintained and the staff friendly and helpful. If you've never stayed at a nudist resort before, this one would be a good start! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank W0lfshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Mostly camping and a few motel rooms. The rooms are very small and average. Outside there are 2 pools. The smimming pool is large and cold. The conversation pool is great and has a swim up bar. There is a big hot tub outside and I hot tub inside. This is a nude resort. The people are very nice and there is above tennis courts and volleyball.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Williamwilliams79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
732 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osler House
#1 of 2 in Dundas
85 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Nature Resort

Address: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Hamilton
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Nature Hotel Hamilton
Ponderosa Nature Resort Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing