We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough place, decent value”
Review of Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice enough place, decent value”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I'm a big fan of Holiday Inn Express - stayed at many over the last few years. This one, as another reviewer noted, is a little bit below their usual excellent standard. Hard to pin down exactly what it is about the place that lends that impression: the hallway ceilings seem unusually low, leading to a dark, cramped effect. They've done a bit of a slap-dash paint job on the room doors - you can see excess paint where someone should have done some taping and didn't. The room was fine. We were "upgraded" to a jacuzzi room with a queen bed...the tub was nice, I'll admit but we had reserved a room with a king bed. I think this upgrade was just an admission that they didn't have the room we'd asked for. Also, travelers should be aware that there is a garbage dump/transfer station around the corner and we could smell it from time to time while outside. Never while inside though.

Apart from that, still decent and we didn't regret staying there. Room was in good shape, didn't find it dated at all. Everything worked including the jacuzzi. A shelf in the bathroom needed minor repair, we advised the front desk upon departure. The included breakfast was good as always, staff very polite. All the other Holiday Inn Express locations I've stayed at have rated 5 stars, this one gets a 4. Still would stay there again, as the location suited our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elwood2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    62
    49
    16
    15
See reviews for
57
41
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel partly because of the name and partly because of the location. Most Holiday Inn Express hotels are pretty updated and modern and you kind of expect a standard of accommodation. This one is not. The room is clean, but very dated. The furniture is from the 70's. Our first room smelled of strong stale cigarette smoke, and we asked for another room. The air coming from the second room AC was very musty. It stinks. When we asked about getting a new room to get away from the cigarette smell, the staff told us that they have been smoke free for 2 years but they still have several rooms that smell like cigarettes. They very graciously put us in a new room without question. The staff is very nice. Our second room just smells old. This hotel is tucked into an industrial area and near a highway. There is breakfast themed restaurant attached but not much else within walking distance. Fast food and other chain restaurants are within driving distance. I would stay elsewhere if I come back to Hamilton.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Greg C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online.

However, I am sorry to hear that you didn't find your room to your liking. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the dissatisfaction this has caused you and we deeply regret the inconvenience the smell has brought you. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable accommodations.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, FL
Level Contributor
219 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Located in the warehouse district between Hamilton and Stoney Creek, Ontario, this was a pleasant surprise at the end of a long day of travel. The room was clean and well cared for, the bed was comfortable, and they do have a free "continental style" breakfast. The staff was polite and professional. I'm not sure I would have found it without the GPS. The hotel is easily seen from the highway, but one has to drive "around the block" through the warehouse area to reach it. I will stay here again, the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daytona_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

this hotel is on the old side, but overall it is OK. The beds are comfortable, the front desk associate was very pleasant when we checked in. The only downside to it was the breakfast, I was a bit dissapointed that there were no omelettes for breakfast considering it was a Friday. I would come back if I had to.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldantimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Not the quality expected from a Holiday Inn Express. Early March visit, inside hotel temp was likely high 80's F temperature. Airconditioner was so loud it stopped me from sleeping. Nearby party started at 2 am and I could hear the people talking through the air vent across from my bed. Called front desk at 2:45am , nothing happened, and I could even hear the yelling over the AC. Called again at 3:15 and even offered them to hear it in my room. Finally subsided at 3:30 am and the next morning, the explanation was that the party was from two floors down, and only started at 3 am and they only checked out my floor and the one above and below. Find it hard that air vents skip a floor. I also find their time record keeping disappointing. Is there not a security guard that is supposed to walk the floors at least sometime within that 1.25 hour period? Food at breakfast okay but at that point I was not a poster child for "I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express lastnight".

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Dear Mark L,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

ontario
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

our family stayed at this hotel a few days during a very difficult time - the staff were excellent and even provided us with a better rate due to our circumstances... the hotel is quiet, comfortable and easy to locate.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I stayed at this property for one night on a business trip. Normally I'm quite happy with Holiday Inn Express properties as they are usually newer properties with clean simple modern rooms. This hotel definitely looks like it was some other property and converted over to an HI Express. The rooms were quite old inside and needed a major refresh. The bedding just felt old and used. Breakfast was your typical fare from a HI Express and was good. The check-in process was fairly easy and I got a little snack pack for being a Priority Club Member. If you don't have a car there really aren't any restaurants that you can go to within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gord_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear Gord_Mtl,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had because of the room conditions. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. I hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to stay with us and hope that this occasion did not deter you from staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Comfort Inn Hamilton
#12 of 20 in Hamilton
116 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
673 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#14 of 20 in Hamilton
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel

Property: Quality Hotel
Address: 49 Goderich Rd | QEW & Centennial Parkway, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 4W8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hamilton)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Hamilton is the perfect choice for business as well as leisure travellers due to its exceptional location, proximity to all the key area attractions and businesses, and modern onsite facilities. Travellers looking for family friendly Hamilton hotels would not find a better place to stay at with their kids during their visit to Ontario. Quality Hotel Hamilton is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Hamilton Holiday Inn
Quality Hotel Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing