We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much!”
Review of Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Portugal Cove, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't expect much!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A business colleague booked a room for me at this hotel on a last minute business trip. I don't expect/need much when I'm traveling for business but I do need cleanliness. This hotel wasn't clean. I don't stay at this group of hotels alot but in the past they have been decent. Not this one. One good thing was that it was really quiet. I think I was the only person in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear NLTRVLR, So sorry to hear your stay was not satisfactory this is definitely not the normal experience that our guests encounter. We wish for you to reach out to us either by telephone or email to discuss what exactly was wrong with your stay so that we may correct any deficiencies that you found during your stay.

Sincerely
John Mattinson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    63
    49
    17
    17
See reviews for
58
42
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was a quick stay and last minute booking. Room was very comfortable, convenient to stores. It was a little hard to find tucked into an industrial park. Complimentary breakfast was a welcome surprise with bacon, cheese omelets, fruit, waffles, yogurt, variety of pastries and really good coffee. The staff was friendly. We will definitely stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTampa928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear LoveTampa928, Thank You for your Great Review. Happy to hear the you enjoyed the Breakfast. We hope that you make it back to see us again.

Many Thanks
John Mattinson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for business for 3 nights in August 2014

- Rooms look a little dated. but for 90 dollars a night, acceptable.

- Free cable TV and free wireless internet in hotel room
- Free breakfast include sausage, eggs, waffle maker along with other things you would normally find at a continental breakfast.
- fitness center was okay (4 machines, 2 treadmills, 1 stationery bike and 1 elliptical)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side facing away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chengbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Chengo, Thank You for your review and we appreciate your patronage. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

John Mattinson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This would be a quick stay hotel for travelers....Possibly convenient if you are heading to USA, (or back).
Located just off the QEW, yet a slightly hard to get to off of an industrial road and parking lot.
Rooms are a little small compared to contemporary standards. Beds are ok, (pillows NG), older bathroom and furniture, but flat screen tv at least....and reasonably priced.
Windows don't open, I hate that !...A/C was ok, but fresh air is always a nice option.
Continental breakfast is ok, but the room is way to small, so be prepared to bring a plate back to your room or into the lobby.
The staff was friendly and efficient, (It's always pleasing when staff not only know why they are there, but also how to do their jobs).
An ok overnight stop, but if you are really fussy it will not be up to the amenity/decor standards of other brands and/or newer properties.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank You Gr8Canadian for your review, we appreciate the time you took to review the Quality Hotel Hamilton. We as a team take pride in ourselves as being a very dedicated crew of Hoteliers and we are happy to hear that the staff efficiency was evident. We will pass on your other concerns to owners and senior management for their review. May the remaining of your Summer go well, Safe Travels.

John Mattinson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here 2 nights, can't wait to get back to my own bed. Usually for the price that we paid for this stay beds are of a better quality, comfy. These were rock hard!

On the up side breakfast, make yourself was a fair selection, eggs, sausage, variety of items to toast, oatmeal, cereal and waffles, yogurt, included for the nights stay which is nice.

The staff was very friendly and quick to attend to you.

Good location, halfway between Niagara Falls and Toronto, right off the QEW (literally), so you can hear the traffic somewhat at night, this didn't bother us too much, but they are doing road work which continued through the night, that was a sound problem.

Free Wi-Fi, a plus. gym consist of 2 machines (and this is called a gym).

Priced a little high for what you get but comparable to others in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the highway, may be a little quieter. Not really much of a view, maybe try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAMCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you PAMCD for your review, so sorry the bed in your room was uncomfortable. We would love to hear from you so we can get more specifics on the room you had stayed in, so we can look at the quality of the bed. We were very pleased to hear the breakfast, staff and location were good. Regarding the gym we do have 4 cardio machines available in this room, we will review how we present this going forward to eliminate any confusion to what the space offers.

Sincerely,
John Mattinson
Guest Service Manager
905-578-1212
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, very clean and comfortable room, complimentary FULL breakfast is very impressive! Will highly recommend to friends and family. Staff are very friendly and uniformed security guard at night time makes me feel safe staying at this hotel. Had a good night sleep!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
To Theresa T, We were Very Excited to see your Review of our Hotel. Clean and Comfortable are key to any nights Stay and that was what we have seen in your review. We look forward to all the Friends and Family you recommend us too and we hope to provide them the same service that you received. See you again real soon.
John Mattinson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for a wedding. Super friendly staff got me in right away and even gave me access to a microwave oven as I brought my own meals from home. The room was very comfortable and clean. Nice variety of foods at breakfast time and even yummy cookies along with coffee and tea at the front desk in the afternoon. (and I was happy that they had real cream along with half and half; real cream is hard to come by in the US).

Despite a 20 minute drive to downtown Hamilton I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerfromtheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
To TravellerfromtheD, we as Staff and Management would like to Thank You for Staying with us and for giving us the opportunity to Shine. We will be posting your recent review for all the Staff to see and so hope we have the opportunity of your Patronage again in the Future.
John Mattinson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Comfort Inn Hamilton
#12 of 20 in Hamilton
118 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
684 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel

Property: Quality Hotel
Address: 49 Goderich Rd | QEW & Centennial Parkway, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 4W8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hamilton)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Hamilton is the perfect choice for business as well as leisure travellers due to its exceptional location, proximity to all the key area attractions and businesses, and modern onsite facilities. Travellers looking for family friendly Hamilton hotels would not find a better place to stay at with their kids during their visit to Ontario. Quality Hotel Hamilton is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Hamilton Holiday Inn
Quality Hotel Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing