We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not The Most Attractive Area Of Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not The Most Attractive Area Of Town”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Checked in on New Year's Day with my husband and 21 yr old son as he had an exam to write the following day. Chose the hotel based on the proximity to the school. Thought the downtown location would be good to kill some time in, however being New Year's Day, nothing was open. We were surprised at the people asking for money outside of the hotel area. Parking was in an attached underground garage, however it was an additional $8 per day. The lady working the front desk was very pleasant and tried very hard to find us a restaurant that was open...however we ended up at Tim Hortons. The music piped in the lobby was too loud while trying to conduct the check in business. The guest floors were accessible by your key only. Tried the gym looking for a treadmill but there were only elipticals, free weights and some bikes. None of the bike equipment screens would power on, guess all need a replacement battery...kind of annoying. There was a nice pool area and hot tub off the exercise room. Our room was 811 and included two queen beds. A packet containing ear plugs, an eye mask and some lavender spray was included in the room. Wired internet included (bring your own cord) or wireless. Had breakfast the next morning in the on site restaurant (that was closed the night before but is usually opened all day) and it was very good and the server was very nice. Would stay here again if we have to be in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandye7685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thanks Sandye7685 for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and taking the time to share your comments. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experiences. Thanks for taking the time to add photos to your review. Your business is important to us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    82
    61
    31
    21
See reviews for
68
65
27
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NW Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Pros: Walking distance from GO transit station and Copps Coliseum
-Spa services available on site for additional cost, which my husband enjoyed
-Restaurant with good food and decent prices.
-Gift of sleep essential items (eye mask, lavendar linen spray, ear plugs)
-Decent price
Cons: Bathroom small...the toilet was right in front of the sink, very tight squeeze
-the area surrounding hotel is not very nice.
-the neighbourhood was not very nice, lots of rough looking people about, and not a lot of restaurants that appealed to me (but may appeal to other people)
-rowdy, loud guests on our floor (first)...however, we were all there for a Guns N' Roses concert, so that probably explains it ;)
-tv remote and one telephone didn't work, but not enough of a concern for us to call front desk, if we had it probably would have been taken care of right away.
Overall pleasant experience...front desk accomodated early check in and late checkout with no issues. There is a pool on site, didn't use it but it looked very nice.

Room Tip: Pool and spa services are on first floor, so lots of traffic on that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelphoodie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

First time in Hamilton and stayed at Crwone Plaza for the weekend. Your rooms are typical rooms; though me and others thought the bathrooms are a bit small. But i also heard that the bathrooms are smaller on the upper floors (i was on the 8th) than the lower floors (friends were on the 1st).

Staff were helpful enough. Asked for bottled water at night, and was provided. the guests next door came in at 2am and decided to have a party. The walls are paper thin and I actually got woken up in the middle of my sleep. I called the front desk to lodge my complaint and the noise was promptly dealt with! Try to not get a room facing the elevators, u will hear them go up and down all night.

also, this might seem a bit daft, but a lot of us has the same 'problem'. We thought there wasn't black out blinds in the windows and slept with the light from te street coming in!! and because the hotel provided earplugs and a sleep mask, we thought 'oh that's why there's a sleep mask, thats why theres no black out curtains'. But actually, the next day, we discovered that the black out curtains were hidden behind the sheer curtains!!! Trust me, it wasn't just me, more than a few people had that mistaken lol!

Was going to try the pool and hot tub but didn't have time, but the pool area looked like it was pretty decent size and it goes as deep as 7 feet.

And as other posts mentioned, there were a lot of student activity going in out of lobby. But I don't think the students are allowed to use the faculties and restaurants.

Location was downtown Hamilton, quite a few restaurants an pubs around. Hotel restaurant had crappy coffee FYI.

Other than that, it was an okay hotel. Nothing above and beyond. Conference paid for hotel so if u got a decent deal, it's not bad.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkstrwbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel on a business trip twice.

Pros: Room, Customer Service, and Hotel Restaurant

Customer service was by far very good.

The food from the hotel restaurant was very good and prices very decent. I really enjoyed the service from the waitresses always nice to talk to and funny.

The room was very clean and comfortable. Overall the hotel is great solely for sleeping and nothing else!

Cons: Noise, Internet services, School Bus, Location

The room was located on the first floor across from one of the conference rooms. Throughout the week there seems to be a class held there. I hardly had one wink of sleep because of all the running back and forth the hall and the unusual rappings from someone at the door. During the middle of the morning, I would be rudely awakened the sound of street cleaners down in the streets below. In the bathroom, I could always hear this squeaking sound...at times I thought the hotel had mice or something...perhaps it was a leaky pipe.

The internet is pretty much crap for both wireless and wired connections. A dial-up connection is pretty much better than what Crowne Plaza offers. In order to read any e-mail from my work I had to connect to use my smartphone. I finally got fed up trying to constantly refresh the webpage to load a website. I think half the problem is probably the hotel not putting a password on their wireless router.

The power receptacle at the desk was broken, which made inconvinient for charging up my laptop.

In the mornings, I have to take a taxi to get to my workplace for training. Everyday I was there I ended up being late because of school buses blocking the exit area in front of the hotel. The taxi driver everytime complained to the bus drivers that they need to make space, but they refuse to back up. They laughed at the taxi driver as he tried to squeeze out of the parking lot. The last day the taxi driver had to drive over the curb just to get out...that is just ridiculous! One morning I was waiting for an elavator to goto my room and just as the doors open I almost get run over by female students dressed in uniforms. The girls dashed out of the elavator bumping right in to me without not even the common courtesy to apolgize...they instead run out of the hotel to hop the "same" buses outside which made me late for work.

The hotel is located directly downtown. Me and friend decided to go out for a walk outside the hotel during the evening...big mistake! Drug dealers, people dressed up in black clothes staring you down if you look at them, and the yelling and cries of the homeless people. I could not help but keep looking over my shoulder because i was afraid someone was going to mug me. Just to avoid going outside to look for something to eat for supper, I, and my co-workers always went to the restaurant inside the hotel for our meals. The second stay in Hamilton...we always stayed in the hotel during the evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJB123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I was in town on business for 3 nights and the person coordinating our travels booked our rooms at the hotel. I am a platinum level priority club member so I was happy to get the extra points. I was a bit disappointed that I was not upgraded on the room. I overheard the receptionist later having a discussion with the valet parking attendant that the customers should not upset her as she could put them in rooms that weren't that great. I was a bit surprised to hear this as she said it while I was sitting in the couch not far from the front desk. I don't think that it was directed at me but am still surpised that she said it at all.

The hotel itself is in good shape with the rooms being clean and everything in working order. I will agree that the bathroom (at least in 728) is quite small for a bigger person. The king size bed is comfortable and the TV is a nice flat screen. I would have liked to have seen a safe in the room but it is not the downgrading my review. I was on the 7th floor and had access to the executive level room that includes a complimentary continental breakfast as well as a computer for checking email, etc. There is also a business centre in a seperate location that I tried as well and was in good working order. I had dinner at the restaurant the first night of my stay. Overall the food was good (I had a pizza) and the beer was cold which is what I was looking for. An interesting note is the number of what appear to be full time students that live at the hotel. With that being said I did not have any on my floor as I think they are mostly in the lower floors. We had some members of my group on the lower floor and they were not disturbed by the students.

Room Tip: I had a room that was away from the front of the building and was quite--room 728.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stroudcrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager IHG Care at Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Dear stroudcrowd,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you were overall please with your stay.
I am concerned about the conversation you heard between the front desk agent and
the valet and I apologize for that. I am forwarding your review to upper management of the hotel so they can go over it with the staff. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Hope to see you again soon.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Beautiful hotel, good location and the service was excellent.
The only drawback is the rooms are a little small but they are very clean.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Femoscorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

In town for a wedding so not downtown too much. Room was large and seemed recently renovated. Staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant was excellent but underused. Easy access once you know where you are!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GentlemanJimOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
684 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
221 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#14 of 20 in Hamilton
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 150 King St E, Hamilton, Ontario L8N 1B2, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Downtown Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Plaza Hotel And Conference Center Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing