We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely rushed and disappointing tour of a lovely historic house”
Review of Dundurn Castle

Dundurn Castle
Ranked #2 of 156 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience a guided tour of this 40-room Italianate-style villa built in the 1830's on Burlington Heights; the former site of a fortified military encampment established by the British in 1813.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Extremely rushed and disappointing tour of a lovely historic house”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

While the house itself contains many lovely and interesting artifacts from the mid-1800s, and provides an interesting glimpse into the life of an obscenely wealthy family living in this time period, the tour is so rushed that you really don't have time to look at anything. For the price I had hoped to get more than a fleeting glance at each room, only to be rushed along by the slightly impatient guide. The information given by the tour guide was not what I was interested in hearing, as it focussed mostly on the family who lived in the house and their personal lives. The guide was not able to answer my questions about the furnishings and paintings or provide much historical context. I felt like I paid far too much for a very rushed tour. Extremely unsatisfying experience, overall. Felt a little ripped off. Cannot recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RamblingGal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    153
    41
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Being from western Canada, I was excited to see where the history that we studied in school actually took place. Dundurn Castle is beautifully restored, and the staff on our tour were very knowledgeable and answered all of my questions.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great historic building”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great old house, lots of history shared in walk around tour. It is decorated for Christmas in typical decorations from the time period. Souvenir shop on grounds.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank beam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular house.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I went to a high tea bridal shower in the coach house in April of this year, and finally got the chance to see the actual house in June. It's been restored to reflect the 1850's when its original owner, Sir Allan MacNabb was in the prime of his life. Lots of great period pieces, my guide knew plenty about the house, and gave demonstrations of the service bells and gaslights (a first for a private residence in Hamilton in the 1850's). Be sure to grab a sample of shortbread while in the servants' quarters, it's divine!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellerfromtheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was well worth the visit and the shortbread made in the kitchen was great. Beautiful rooms and the convenience's the family had for the time were very interesting. Also very interesting how the children were raised as well!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dundurn Castle also viewed

 

Been to Dundurn Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing