We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Preserved: A Gem of the Past”
Review of Dundurn Castle

Dundurn Castle
Ranked #2 of 150 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience a guided tour of this 40-room Italianate-style villa built in the 1830's on Burlington Heights; the former site of a fortified military encampment established by the British in 1813.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautifully Preserved: A Gem of the Past”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Absolutely worth seeing. Tour guides were excellent, house is gorgeous and truly allows the visitor to step back in time. Definitely a History Buff's Heaven :) Gift shop is very cool, lots of neat things to pick up and fairly priced :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GREENQUEEN08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    151
    41
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
729 reviews
341 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable But Rude Tour Guide”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

It has been a number of years since I have toured place but took a friend of mine from the USA on a tour today. Were able to use a coupon to get a discount for this guided tour. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and had good control of children touching things plus not playing attention to what was expected of them on such during such public places. Place is still the same but different format in what I remember from the last tour I was one. Tour took about 45 minutes in length. What I found out after the tour that the tour guide was rude to several adult members of our group. For example, getting dirty looks for being the last ones within our group, etc. Was advised by them that they were offered two free passes to other City of Hamilton museums based on what happened to them here!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gistel, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice tour, not expensive”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

For around 10 CAD you can do the guided tour through the castle. Tour guides in 19th century clothing guide you through te castle and the service quarters whilst giving an explanation of every room and what activities happened there. After the tour you can visit the war museum, where the war of 1812 is explained.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Atrofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Extremely rushed and disappointing tour of a lovely historic house”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

While the house itself contains many lovely and interesting artifacts from the mid-1800s, and provides an interesting glimpse into the life of an obscenely wealthy family living in this time period, the tour is so rushed that you really don't have time to look at anything. For the price I had hoped to get more than a fleeting glance at each room, only to be rushed along by the slightly impatient guide. The information given by the tour guide was not what I was interested in hearing, as it focussed mostly on the family who lived in the house and their personal lives. The guide was not able to answer my questions about the furnishings and paintings or provide much historical context. I felt like I paid far too much for a very rushed tour. Extremely unsatisfying experience, overall. Felt a little ripped off. Cannot recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RamblingGal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Being from western Canada, I was excited to see where the history that we studied in school actually took place. Dundurn Castle is beautifully restored, and the staff on our tour were very knowledgeable and answered all of my questions.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dundurn Castle also viewed

 

Been to Dundurn Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing