We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice fresh food, would go back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ora Italian kitchen + bar

Ora Italian kitchen + bar
Ranked #157 of 1,213 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice fresh food, would go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A friend and I went for dinner, eating at Ora for the first time. We ordered the fish tacos, and a chicken, brie, pesto, arugula sandwich with garlic parmesan chips. The food was fresh, and service was quick. The fish tacos were nice, with a wee bit of heat. We felt they lacked a bit of overall flavour compared to others, but they were nice. The sandwich was delicious. Again, perhaps it could have used more flavour in the form of a sauce but the flavours worked so nicely together with a fresh bun. The garlic parmesan chips were a treat. Crispy, served with some type of garlic mayo. We both enjoyed those. The wait staff were friendly and attentive. It wasn't busy at all when we were there, but we quite enjoyed the patio, and agreed we would return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    23
    6
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor, at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The food was alright.
The sauce tasted like it was from a can.
The cooks smoked on the side patio during the meal (where no one was seated but was still visible and upwind from where I was sitting).
$13 dollars for a small plate of pasta is pretty pricey.
The complimentary bread was very dry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Isaac V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst delivery experience of my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We ordered from this restaurant at 7:45 pm. Our food didn't arrive until after 10:00 pm. When it arrived, it was cold. Due to concerns about food safety (how long did it sit?), we ended up throwing almost everything away. There was no offer of a refund or even a discount from the restaurant. They just insisted it was the fault of the delivery service. I will never buy from this restaurant again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank avt1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Ora Italian kitchen + bar, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hello,

Please accept my apolgoes for the unacceptable time that it took to deliver your food lasrt Wednesday. I certainly can understand your frustration.

Just Eat, the site from which you ordered, is responsible for notifying and dispatching drivers. On the evening that you ordered, for some reason, there was a problem with communication between Just Eat and their normal delivery person and he did not arrive at the restaurant until well after a reasonable amount of time.

We did re-make all of the food prior to the driver leaving, however I certainly understand your being hesitant to eat it.

We do want you to enjoy Ora again, either as a dine in Guest or another delivery opportunity and I would be happy to treat your group to another experience for free.

I do hope that you are able to take us up on this offer and once again I do apologize for your poor experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Burnt food, bad service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had a large party reservation at this restaurant for a Birthday over the weekend. When we arrived at the restaurant, it was empty which had me worried a bit. They advised us that they had just had a huge rush from the Elton John concert and were out of a lot of things including a couple of their wines by the glass (the list is already small). It took over an hour for our food to come out, even though the restaurant was now empty. Most pizzas were VERY overdone and charred. They even had to confess that they had burnt one of the pizzas so bad that they couldn't even bring it out. When they re-made it, it was under done and gross. The bread they brought to the table was frozen on the inside. A few of the dishes were ok but overall the experience was not great and not worth spending the money on. Service was spotty at best.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Wasnt sure about heading to Hess village for supper, but we heard about a new italian restaurant and decided to try it out. The building is beautiful and the interior is a little rustic to go with some a little new wave. Well the food was outstanding and the service was even better.
Cant wait to go back. Thanks Megan for a great dinner!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frankie1234744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ora Italian kitchen + bar also viewed

Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to Ora Italian kitchen + bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing