We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local hotel”
Review of Visitors Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Visitors Inn
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice local hotel”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The hotel is clean, people are friendly, and services are good. It's not a resort, it's not a 5*, but it's a nice place to stay near McMaster and the freeway. Indoor pool and jacuzzi looked nice, exercise room is small but reasonable for a hotel of this size.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hurwitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    89
    25
    7
    8
See reviews for
74
41
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My parnter and I were attending a wedding at McMaster University. Being originally from the Hamilton area, I know there isn't any really nice hotels in town, and wasn't sure where we would end up staying, but decided on The Visitor's Inn based on good Trip Advisor reviews. We just needed a place to crash at the end of the night, and for the most part the hotel was fine for this. My only grips are that 1) we were told the entire hotel was non-smoking, but there was a distinct cigarette smell in our room, and 2) all of the nine of the pillows on our bed were so big and firm that I had hard time getting comfortable and falling asleep, and now 2 days later, I still have a stiff neck. Otherwise, the hotel and our room was clean, and appeared to have been updated since the time some of the photos on the website were taken. The hotel staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful, the mattress and bedding was comfortable, and the size of the room was decent.

Room Tip: Most of the King rooms are on the ground floor, and have a motel-style door leading out from the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa Prefecture, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed there for a week, the rooms were clean, its close to friends I was visiting. The rooms were actually very big, and the beds were very comfortable. I did not eat at the restaurant although the food looked decent from what I could tell. Decent value for the money too, I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubanito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

I am staying here on buisness. The university actually recommended it and glad they did. The staff is great very friendly and always great you with a genuine smile. There need to be more inns like this and I guess I could say I travel a bit this is my 8th buisness trip this year. The salad I had at the restaurant was ok but I rarely get a great salad. Mcmasters U is within walking distance about 15 min walk, and 5 min by taxi.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Saltyrodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed in the Jacuzzi suite here over a long weekend in February. The room was huge! This was probably the best thing I could say about the room though. It was definitely in need of a revamp. I don't think the room has been updated since the 90s. Everything just looked tired and old. This would have been fine to manage with, but it wasn't even that clean. The glass tops on two of the tables had smudges from the last guest, and there was someone else's hair in the Jacuzzi. I had breakfast in the restaurant the next morning, and the food was pretty good though.
Until the hotel invests some money into updating the rooms (and keeping them clean), I don't think I will visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pahboh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I am an international student. I went to Hamilton and while I was looking for an accomodation I stayed at the hotel for 3 days.

THE STAFF: they were very very friendly. The first day, when i got the hotel there was an old man in in front desk who maybe wasnt so good since he looked quite tired of my bad english (although he was all the time trying to keep a false smile pretending to look friendly...). The rest were pretty good. They helped me at anything I needed or any doubt I had.
Last morning I was at the hotel i went to the restaurant to have breakfast. The woman that was working there was really really friendly. She was from Scottland as far as I remember and was chatting with me.

THE ROOM: it was reallyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy biiiigggggg!!!! I was alone and I had 2 double beds, a big sofa and an hugeeeee desk. There was a flat TV but I didnt use it. It was very clean, and it was cleaned everyday. The bathroom -- good enough. I didnt need more. It dont think it was noisy at night (Ive read in some commets that some people werent so happy about that)...what is important to sleep well.

THE FOOD: As i said before I only had breakfast the last day i was there and it was good. Good price and quality.

THE PRICE: for a spanish person it is expensive, but the rest of hotels are also expensive in a spanish view point so...comparing with the rest of hotels of hamilton, I think it was the best ratio price-quality.Ive read some other hotels that everyone who stated there were very happy because it wasnt hotel, there were kind of houses where you could stay in some rooms but their cost was 130€ per night as far as i remember...well i dont think you should pay that much when you could go to Visitort Inn hotel that its cheaper and you will spend a very good stay there.

LOCATION:It was quite close to MacMaster University. I counted exactly 20 minutes walking and there was a bus stop close to the hotel.

I saw the swimming pool although i didnt use it. It was good enough for a hotel.

CONCLUSIONS: I recommend this hotel. Id say its the best choice if you want to stay in Hamilton due to its ratio price-quality.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cnd85Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed here in October, mostly friendly Staff ,small but good restaurant,serving excellent breakfast. Very nice pool for an early morning swim for those with jet-lag.Rooms comfatable with large beds ,downside was small wardrobe and the noise from highways bothsides of hotel .Parking is free and buses stop outside hotel.Overall great Value for money

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernwrinklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
693 reviews
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Downtown Hamilton
Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visitors Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visitors Inn

Property: Visitors Inn
Address: 649 Main St W, Hamilton, Ontario L8S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Visitors Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Luxurious and affordable". Our array of exceptional accommodations includes 60 tastefully appointed guest rooms featuring all queen and king size beds, Kitchenette rooms, Special Jacuzzi Suites, and Two-Bedroom Family Suites. An extensive list of in-room amenities including: Flat Screen TV’s, cordless telephones, FREE WiFi, individually controlled heat/AC units, coffee makers, irons & ironing boards, fridges, cable & satellite TV, free local calls, personal safes, hairdryers, alarm clock radios, complimentary newspapers and more. Unwind, relax and enjoy our beautiful indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, and exercise room. Other features include Paparella's Restaurant, Conference facilities, and plenty of free parking. Conveniently located minutes from McMaster University/Hospital, and Downtown Hamilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Visitors Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visitors Hotel Hamilton
Visitors Inn Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing