We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, everything we needed”
Review of Visitors Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Visitors Inn
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, everything we needed”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We were in Hamilton dropping off our daughter to MacMaster U. Labor Day weekend. This hotel is conveniently located close to the university, downtown and major highways. Albeit the room was somewhat small, it had everything we needed; small kitchenette, fridge, microwave, stovetop burners, pots and pans, in-room safe, wifi, flat screen tv, large work desk, small table with two chairs, very comfortable beds, etc. The indoor pool and on-site restaurant are added bonuses. But what impressed us the most was the cleanliness of the entire property. Even the parking lot was impeccable! As far as the price is concerned, we found it reasonable.
When visiting my daughter or for any other reason we are in Hamilton, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    86
    25
    7
    8
See reviews for
71
39
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Seems all Hamilton,Ontario hotels are overpriced, as is this one, however the Visitor's Inn is "squeaky clean" and the staff is friendly, helpful and accommodating. Fairly good location close to freeways in a safer area of town. Nice pool,well serviced bar/restaurant, clean rooms albeit a little small. All in all, based on Hamilton's high priced accommodation (why???), as good as it probably gets.

Room Tip: First floor (lobby floor) easy to access. Rooms with two queens very cramped so go for one queen wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjredeemed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanaimo bc
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I should have known by the police in the lot on arrival this was a bad choice. Check in was quick no ID required to stay here not even to confirm it was my credit card. Pool was closed because it was raining outside? Had dinner in the restraunt. It was called VIP. Wrong!! The food was horrible. We ordered 6 meals 1 was edible. I felt sorry for the server (she was great), she heard it all too many times, all 4 tables sent back plates. Now were not picky but even the clubhouse was served on burnt toast. The room was clean. The view of, oops no view parkinglot or waste bins. This is a family hotel, the children running through hallways as thier play area will confirm that.Ask for a room away from the flute player. he starts at 6am and we had tp ask security to ask him to stop at 10pm. Needless to say I left very early the next morning with no intentions of ever returning.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We recently stayed for 5 days at this Inn. Alot of highway noise but if you want the convenience of the location it comes with the territory. The restaurant, front desk and cleaning staff were all friendly, accomodating and helpful, Beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows. Could use some updating but for the price we were satisfied and it was a good base for us for the few days that we stayed.Pool and hot tub were great.

Room Tip: Best bet is the side facing Main St. rather than the back facing the 403, though the downstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I spent a week at this hotel, and so we got a room with a small kitchen. A week is too long to spend in these rooms, but we managed (we had no other lodging options). The hotel sits between a major street and the highway, although the noise level is fairly low, especially in the back where the rooms are much further from the highway noise. The hotel staff was nice, although they didn't know much about the area (e.g. couldn't tell me where I could rent a bike). Also, our toilet never flushed right the entire time, and, after the maintenance person was "fixing it" 3 times, we would of thought they'd have upgraded us or provided some sort of amenity or reduced rate since we were there for such a long time. The housekeeping staff was very nice (and accordingly tipped). The rooms are all the same size, so you have more space if you get the Queen plus sofa, rather than 2 Queen beds. The furnishings are "tired looking". The hotel is about the only option close to McMaster...my guess is that if other hotels were built in the area this one would step it up a bit.

Room Tip: ask for the quietest side (probably the highway side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinersView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I stayed at the Visitors Inn for four nights with a friend. We decided to take a trip to see Niagara Falls and it turned into a long weekend trip. The reason we chose Hamilton was because of the proximity between Toronto and Niagara Falls (about 45 minutes in either direction). The Visitors Inn was a nice hotel for the price and I saw good reviews for it. The hotel and room was clean and nicely updated. Everyone we ran into at the hotel was very nice and helpful. We were in a regular room with two double beds, exactly what we needed. The room was neat and clean, as well as a good size for two people. The bathroom was kind of small, but completely functional. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but we didn’t use it at all. There is not much to do directly around the hotel, but the downtown area is a five minute drive from the hotel. Hamilton does not have a ton of stuff to do, but it is a great location for other areas in Ontario. No complaints at all and would stay there again if I needed to be in Hamilton again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

A recent one visit to Hamilton and decided on this location over the other options in town.
Was handy to the theater we were attending and quick drive to the harborfront and a few good restaurants.
In room Fridge, coffee maker, hairdryer.
We were basement level room 04 I believe. We had a key access back door; parking right outside. A great location to get to the pool from outside without having to strut through the lobby half clad in a towel.
Helpful freindly front staff and a nice clean well kept quiet pool.
Internet was a bit sketchy; not secured.
There is a stocked fridge for use if you break the seal; I didnt so can't say whats inside: I believe wine, beer and munchies were hidden in there.
Comfy bed with big fat pillows, if you are a fan of big fat pillows.
Lobby restaurant with dinner and brekkie options as reasonable rates although we headed up the street for some eats so cant rate that either.
All in all not uber fancy but a great stay and location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akyraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Downtown Hamilton
Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visitors Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visitors Inn

Property: Visitors Inn
Address: 649 Main St W, Hamilton, Ontario L8S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Visitors Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Luxurious and affordable". Our array of exceptional accommodations includes 60 tastefully appointed guest rooms featuring all queen and king size beds, Kitchenette rooms, Special Jacuzzi Suites, and Two-Bedroom Family Suites. An extensive list of in-room amenities including: Flat Screen TV’s, cordless telephones, FREE WiFi, individually controlled heat/AC units, coffee makers, irons & ironing boards, fridges, cable & satellite TV, free local calls, personal safes, hairdryers, alarm clock radios, complimentary newspapers and more. Unwind, relax and enjoy our beautiful indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, and exercise room. Other features include Paparella's Restaurant, Conference facilities, and plenty of free parking. Conveniently located minutes from McMaster University/Hospital, and Downtown Hamilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Visitors Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visitors Hotel Hamilton
Visitors Inn Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing