We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Hamilton”
Review of Visitors Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Visitors Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We tried everything from changing rooms (streetside to highway side) to get away from traffic noise to pushing the mattress from the extra bed up against the window to create some makeshift soundproofing. Nothing worked. .. The best solution? Moving to another hotel. Will not return.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank CUL8RLethbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

The location of this hotel is very convenient to McMaster University, which is a big plus if you are visiting that institution. The property is clean and the rooms are big. However, the windows are paper thin and the street noise, from a busy street is very loud. It took 3-5 minutes to get hot water to come out of the shower, the soap can best be described as sandpaper-like rather than creamy, and the bath towels are only a few inches larger than a face towel. The breakfast, while quite inexpensive, was nothing to write home about. Very greasy and bland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank likeeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

When staying in Hamilton great value. The staff are very friendly. Good food. Rooms are well keeped. If your looking for a pool it's open till 11pm. Would stay here again. The room I stayed in had a mini kitchen.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We had initially booked one room with two queen sized beds for 4 adults. However, the room was too small for all of us. Two of us received a double room with one queen bed plus a kitchenetter. The other room, which also had a fridge and coffee corner was less comfortable as the two beds took up most of the room The windows could not be opened and it took some time to work out the airconditioning so it would not be too hot or cold. Everything was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was of a good size. A safety bar on the wall of the bath would be helpful.

The staff helped efficiently to deal with the room problem.

There is a dining room and breakfast costs extra. The food was adequate and reasonably priced, but not inspiring. There are set prices and a la carte.

We were in a small group. - We did not use the swimming pool, but those who did commented on it favorably.

Room Tip: The rooms with kitchenettes are more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dynamon2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I've stayed here a couple times before when I had to come to Hamilton, and it's much nicer now after the renovations they've done. Our room had a kitchenette this time, which was great.

There's a pool, hot tub, sauna, and little outdoor patio for guests, a fairly weak exercise room in the basement, coin laundry, and a restaurant with decent breakfasts. Also free computers with internet in the lobby, and family rooms with separate bedrooms, which I wish they'd had in the past!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We were in Hamilton dropping off our daughter to MacMaster U. Labor Day weekend. This hotel is conveniently located close to the university, downtown and major highways. Albeit the room was somewhat small, it had everything we needed; small kitchenette, fridge, microwave, stovetop burners, pots and pans, in-room safe, wifi, flat screen tv, large work desk, small table with two chairs, very comfortable beds, etc. The indoor pool and on-site restaurant are added bonuses. But what impressed us the most was the cleanliness of the entire property. Even the parking lot was impeccable! As far as the price is concerned, we found it reasonable.
When visiting my daughter or for any other reason we are in Hamilton, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Seems all Hamilton,Ontario hotels are overpriced, as is this one, however the Visitor's Inn is "squeaky clean" and the staff is friendly, helpful and accommodating. Fairly good location close to freeways in a safer area of town. Nice pool,well serviced bar/restaurant, clean rooms albeit a little small. All in all, based on Hamilton's high priced accommodation (why???), as good as it probably gets.

Room Tip: First floor (lobby floor) easy to access. Rooms with two queens very cramped so go for one queen wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjredeemed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
236 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
732 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visitors Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visitors Inn

Address: 649 Main St W, Hamilton, Ontario L8S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: £87 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Visitors Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Luxurious and affordable". Our array of exceptional accommodations includes 60 tastefully appointed guest rooms featuring all queen and king size beds, Kitchenette rooms, Special Jacuzzi Suites, and Two-Bedroom Family Suites. An extensive list of in-room amenities including: Flat Screen TV’s, cordless telephones, FREE WiFi, individually controlled heat/AC units, coffee makers, irons & ironing boards, fridges, cable & satellite TV, free local calls, personal safes, hairdryers, alarm clock radios, complimentary newspapers and more. Unwind, relax and enjoy our beautiful indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, and exercise room. Other features include Paparella's Restaurant, Conference facilities, and plenty of free parking. Conveniently located minutes from McMaster University/Hospital, and Downtown Hamilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Visitors Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visitors Hotel Hamilton
Visitors Inn Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing