We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel close to airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Hamilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Hamilton
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Nice clean and quiet even during renos.ask about the cost of Breakfast it was $13. I booked rooms for my wife there on priceline and got them for about $75 US so try bidding to save money but no guarantee you will get this hotel. We'd stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LacombeFamily12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Hamilton, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
LacombeFamily12,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Courtyard Hamilton. We're happy to hear you enjoyed a quiet stay and would return for future visits. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    110
    29
    7
    12
See reviews for
69
46
27
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel has been recently renovated, and the restaurant was still being renovated in early March 2014, but was close to done. It is a very nice facility with a small pool, exercise room, moderate sixed TVs, free newspapers and Wifi, and a good breakfast that is not too expensive. The staff is efficient, the rooms large and well-appointed and of course very clean after the reno.

The only aspects that bothered us were that the doors closed very noisily and were not good at muffling any hall noises. They actually charged for local telephone calls -

Room Tip: Stay away from the staircase doors because of noise. The 4th floor is "dedicated quiet".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Business155012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Hamilton, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Business155012,
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for writing a review from your stay at Courtyard Hamilton. It's great to receive your compliments regarding our renovation updates, and we're glad our hotel and amenities were well suited for your travels. I apologize for the noise disturbances you encountered during your stay. We value your business and hope to welcome you back in the future. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

we were able to check in early which was very much appreciated. The room was nice and clean. the bed was very comfortable. Internet connection was great. Emily and Amanda at the front desk were helpful in getting billing issues straightened out. The hotel was not noisy at all despite the renovations that were going on. Parking was at a premium in the daytime because of meetings but only because of the snow that was piled up around the parking other wise there was lots of parking at night even with 5 buses there.

there were only two small things wrong - 1 was that we found tiny ants in the bathroom on the third night of our stay and 2. the shower door would not close properly.

we will stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: book early as rates very due to the number of sporting events held in Hamilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011taurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Hamilton, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
2011taurus,
We appreciate hearing feedback from your visit to Courtyard Hamilton. It’s great to know you enjoyed a comfortable stay and found our hotel well suited for your travel needs. I look forward to sharing your comments with Emily and Amanda on their helpful service and thank you for recognizing their efforts. We apologize for the issues you encountered in your room and assure you that these concerns have been addressed with our staff in order to prevent future occurrences. We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions now so that we could get early morning flights. Great spot close to restaurants and airport. We were treated royally by Kenye and he even remembered us from our previous stay. We felt very welcomed. Tim picked us up promptly and the shuttle service was terrific!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Hamilton, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Diane S,
Thank you for your kind review and return visit with us at Courtyard Hamilton. We're pleased to know that our park and fly package added convenience to your travels, and you found our staff to consistently provide excellent service. Please plan to visit us again for your next trip. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We required a overnight stay near Juravinski Hospital. The hotel amenities, room and staff were beyond our expectations. Good parking privileges. It was a short drive to the hospital as we had to be there for 7:00 AM. We would definitely stay here again, if required.
The price was a little steep and we would suggest that they provide a special rate for people who have to attend Juravinski for treatment.
There was a sign indicating renovations were underway but we experienced no inconveniences because of the renos.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Hamilton, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
buzzie2,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay with us at Courtyard Hamilton. We appreciate the opportunity to serve your hotel needs before your early morning appointment at Juravinski Hospital. It's fantastic to hear we exceeded your expectations with our amenities and service. We hope to extend our hospitality again if you return to the area. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

My friend & I stayed here for one night, she asked for a room on the ground floor due to health reasons and we were provided with a ground floor room near an exit. A couple of hours into our stay our room smelled like cigarette smoke, possibly from people smoking close to the exit or smoking in their room with the window open. We called the front desk and asked to be moved which was no problem. We moved to the 3rd floor to the farthest room possible away from the elevator (mabe it was the only room available) not a good thing for my friend who has a hard time walking. The hotel is under renovations which was blocked off appropriately so there was no hazard in the area.
The only other complaint besides the smell of smoke would be the placement of the TV in the room. We had a king size bed and the TV was on a desk on the right side of the room slightly blocked by the armoire. Besides that, the rooms were very clean, the beds comfortable and there were restaurants with-in walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: if you have a mobility problem ask for a room close to the front desk, on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Hamilton, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
T M,
Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate your complimentary feedback on our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as providing opportunities for improving our guest experience. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is important to us and we hope to provide a more positive stay in the future. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Kenya was extremely helpful and courteous when helping me get things set up for my parents who were without electricity during the ice storm. He reserved a roo and let me know that they are being very flexible with the cancellation policy as they understand that the power outtage was a big unknown to those affected. He even arranged to have a shuttle pick up my parents and drop them off at the end of their stay. Another front desk staff (sorry, I forgot his name) checked in my parents. After realizing that they had brought some food with them, he offered to bring a microwave directly to their room free of charge. that's going above and beyond. Thanks Marriott staff for treating my parents so well during this difficult time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Hamilton, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Rain L,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your experience with us at Courtyard Hamilton. Our staff makes sincere hospitality their priority, and I'm pleased to hear their excellent service exceeded your expectations. I look forward to sharing your compliments with our team, and I will make sure Kenya receives a special commendation for his outstanding service. We appreciate the opportunity to serve your parent's hotel needs during the ice storm, and we're glad they felt well taken care of by our staff throughout their stay. Thank you once again for your great review.

Sincerely,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Visitors Inn
#6 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hamilton

Property: Courtyard Hamilton
Address: 1224 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C 3B1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Courtyard
Courtyard Hamilton Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing