We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The absolute worst bed I have slept in in many many years. Mattress should have been replaced 2 yrs ago and box spring was broken. Kept rolling to the centre of the bed. Got no sleep at all. (This was a king sized bed on 5th floor.)

It is also very noisy due to heavy street traffic 24/7.

Would never recommend this hotel and will never return.

Rest of the place was fine ... But we are travelling so the main purpose for a hotel stay is to get a good sleep ... And in that respect this place failed completely.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob-Vicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a comfortable sleep at our hotel. We have thoroughly inspected the bed in the room that you stayed in and have found that there is nothing wrong with the mattress or box spring. Our hotel was newly constructed just a few years ago so the beds are not that old. Perhaps the firmness was simply not to your liking. Again, we are sorry that you did not have more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    166
    40
    15
    21
See reviews for
180
127
19
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Olivia at the front desk was wonderful...one night we ate so late that the only thing we could find was take out, so she let us eat in the closed breakfast dining room and even supplied silverware. Alex at the front desk kept telling us that the room had pillows when we asked if the rooms had pillowtop mattresses....definitely a language barrier. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable and in the end, that is what matters to me. But, cable TV was out for our entire visit (3 days), even though it worked in the breakfast dining room. Each time I asked about it, the staff were clueless and said that it "happens" from time to time. Never worked once. Free breakfast was very good, with an assortment of hot and cold items and even though there were some eating places nearby, it was nice not to have to leave the hotel early in the morning to eat. WiFi was excellent and room was quiet. Exercise room humid and a little warm, but adequate with bike, treadmill, elliptical and dumbbells. Parking gets a little crowded at night, and the parking spaces were very narrow.

Room Tip: Upper floor, away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbaron41011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your comments, we look forward to having you back next time your in Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel was perfect for our stop off point between Toronto and Montreal. Room was lovely and spacious and we all had a fab nights sleep. V quiet!

Pool was nice for a quick dip and gym, though small, was perfect for a quick morning work out.

The complimentary breakfast was a fantastic added perk...make your own pancakes...yum.

Couldn't have asked for friendlier or more approachable staff on the front desk. They were a welcome face after a long drive.

Drove into Kingston for a quick look around but ended up eating at one of the chain restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

A lovely stay!

Room Tip: We had a higher floor room and although it looked out onto supermarkets and a road it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaymie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your short stay at our hotel on your way to Montreal. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

What lovely people on reception!! This was to be the bench mark for our 2 visits to this great hotel during our 3 week fly drive trip around the eastern "Heritage trail". The rooms were spotless of a really good size and very well presented. Although we did not use it the pool and gym were again a good size and well equipped. The staff were all polite and attentive and we even got a little note from the chambermaid thanking us for our tip! Although on the edge of town if you did not eat downtown there are plenty of takeouts in the area. Buffet breakfast was the best on our trip. Once again the ladies in the Breakfast room were very attentive and you have to try out the pancake machine great fun and great pancakes! Would certainly stay again and recommend it to everyone!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for this delightful review. We absolutely love hearing from our satisfied customers. We appreciate you taking the time to share these comments and we hope that you enjoyed your time in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. Hotel is very well located just off the main highway and there are lots of diners / fast food within 2 mins walk. The hotel was spotless and the room very comfortable. The breakfast was good. The reception staff were helpful. Kingston was an easy 10 mins drive. We discovered a fantastic local amenity (5 mins max. in the car) - a drive in cinema which was a great (new) experience for us. ( Also, very near to the drive in cinema there is a shopping outlet.)

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank judeandmickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for sharing this great review. We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of all the wonderful attractions our location has to offer. We hope you to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Room dusty on lamps and furniture. Bottom of tub dark and grimy. Housekeeping made bed and found crumbs in sheets.

Upon checking out, I noted a charge for one night even though I had prepaid for the two nights that i staid. When I asked for an explanation the two people at front desk seemed perplexed yet were trying to convince me that the charges were legitimate. When I asked for a manager, I was informed that she had only just arrived 30 seconds ago so she was unavailable. The manager happened to walk to the front and when I prodded she checked the system and noted that I had indeed paid for both nights. She corrected the bill and explained that the employee from the day before made the billing error. I then suggested that she explain that to the front desk employee that I initially asked for help and the manager responded "well she is new". She did not offer an apology and was more defensive and rude than anything.

The manager cold use a refresher course in customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
We are very disappointed to read about your recent experience at our hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for this mix-up and for the manner in which it was handled. I assure you that providing exceptional customer service is one of our highest priorities and the importance of this will be reiterated to all of our employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Angry manager will not honour government rates for government employees! Very rude manager to deal with - called it fraud that I would book a government rate without my stay being reimbursed by the government - that is not how the rate discount is suppose to work or works at other hotels. Very Disappointed in the level of service I received.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear valued guest, We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the misunderstanding regarding your reservation and the level of service you received at our hotel. We are proud to provide preferred rates for government employees travelling to Kingston on official government business. Our preferred government rates are set based on the guidelines provided in the official Government accommodations directory program. During the very busy summer months and weekends we enforce this policy more strictly to ensure that it is not being misused. Once again, we are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your experience. Please feel welcome to contact our General Manager, Brian Kish, if you would like to further discuss this matter and give us the opportunity to make it right. 613-546-3662 etx. 151
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Address: 11 Benson St, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from downtown and adjacent to Highway 401, we are steps away from theatre, shopping and dining choices and offer spacious, well-appointed guest rooms and suites. Start each day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast featuring features hot and cold selections. Enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool and 24-hour fitness room. You'll appreciate the convenience of free WiFi and parking. Planning a meeting? Our Loyalist Meeting room is perfect for groups of up to 50. Visit our website for packages and special offers. Earn IHG Rewards Club Points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing