We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Stay, Thanks To Biba.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“An Excellent Stay, Thanks To Biba.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Kingston is a nice property, very conveniently located near the town's entrance, right on the 401 freeway. There are lots of restaurants around it and an outlet shopping center.

Our stay at Kingston was supposed to be just a night stop on our way to tour the 1000 Islands. Fortunately, we arrived much earlier than originally planned and met charming Biba at the front desk. In five minutes she organized us a tour plan for the whole day: she suggested us what to see, where to eat and even made some phone calls for information about operating hours and reservations. This exceptional service from her simply "made our stay" at Kingston, and we thank her for that.

The hotel has a nice indoor pool and gym. Wi-Fi is free, as well as breakfast – which is fair, and rooms are clean and comfortable. When in the 1000 Islands area – I warmly recommend to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Kingston.

Room Tip: Most rooms at Holiday Inn Express are more or less the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiladIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments; I am glad the staff was able to make your stay so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    155
    40
    14
    19
See reviews for
174
121
19
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northeastern Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
270 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We called the 1-877-660-8550 number to make a reservation at this location. When we called, we were very clear that there were four (4) adults sharing the room. When my husband first called, we were making the reservation for one night only (OCT24). My husband spoke to a gentleman and confirmed the rate of $100.00 (plus applicable taxes)/night for four adults in a non-smoking room with two queen beds. The gentleman asked my husband if there were any special needs/requests and my husband identified that we would be travelling with our parents and our father has challenges walking. The young man said that he would put the request in for a room with a walk-in shower to make it easier. We thanked him very much and he gave us the confirmation number. He then asked us if we were IHG rewards members and it was then that I remembered I had a card so I pulled it from my wallet and we gave him the number. My husband and I have different surnames so when he called my husband by my surname rather than my husband's, we confirmed with him that the reservation was to be made in my husband's surname but yes, the IHG reward card is in my surname. I am 100% certain of what was said during the telephone conversation because my husband is hard of hearing so he uses the "conference/hands free" feature on our phone.

A short while after making the reservation, we were talking to our parents and they suggested we stay for two nights rather than one so my husband called back to add another night (OCT23) to our reservation.

We arrived at the Holiday Inn Express in Kingston early in the afternoon, shortly after 1:30 p.m. When my husband went to see if we could check-in, they were unable to find the reservation. I happened to go into the hotel as it seemed to be taking a long time and my husband asked me if I had written down the confirmation number. I pulled out my iPad and referenced the confirmation number. The hotel clerk pulled up the reservation and proceeded to check us in. As my husband completed the form, we noticed the reference to $130.00 (plus applicable taxes). We immediately asked why there was a difference in price and the two hotels clerks then advised us that it was $100/night for two people and $15/night or each additional person. THIS WAS NOT COMMUNICATED TO US AT ANY POINT WHEN WE WERE MAKING THE RESERVATION and we were VERY clear that the reservation was for four people.

At this point the female hotel clerk said, "we sent you an email advising of this." I again pulled out my iPad and asked where the email had been sent so I could confirm it. At this point she said "well, we don't have an email address on your file." So I asked her, "did you or did you not send the email?" She said nothing.

My husband and I were both upset as our parents were standing there waiting the entire time for this situation to be resolved.

At no point in time did either the male or female hotel clerk offer an apology for the "misunderstanding" or the "lack of communications" on the part of reservations nor did they offer any form of solution other than we pay $130.00 (plus applicable taxes).

The error in communicating the additional costs very well could have been an oversight on the part of reservations but it was certainly not an oversight on our part, we knew we were four adults travelling together and that was how we made the reservation.

We were very disappointed with the lack of customer service shown by these individuals and the unwillingness on their part to acknowledge that this had been an error made by the Holiday Inn Express. This has certainly soured us ... we will definitely pass by any Holiday Inn Express locations in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justjo008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your experience and regret that you did not end up staying at our hotel. The additional person fee is $15.00 per person for the third and fourth adult. This policy and grand total was noted on the confirmation that was e-mailed to you. We are sorry that you received inaccurate information about the rate and additional person policy when you were making your reservations via telephone. We will be sure to contact Holiday Inn Express Central Reservations and inform them of this mix up in order to avoid this situation again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We spent two separate one night stays in the Kingston on our trip to USA & Canada going to and coming back from Montreal. Kingston is a pleasant spot to spend a little time by Lake Ontario. The hotel is well situated just off the freeway and a 5 minute minute drive from the waterfront. Our room was spacious, clean and up to the usual standard expected of the brand, staff were very friendly and helped all they could. Breakfast was perfectly adequate, hot and cold selection set us up for the day.
Recommended for a short stay to visit the 1000 islands etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tojo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your positive comments; we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I had looked forward to staying at Holiday Inn Express in Kingston because my earlier stay a few years ago had been very satisfying.

I arrived late at night but was graciously greeted by the receptionist. It was pleasing to see that décor still looked modern, and once in my room there was evidence that the bathroom had recently been painted. Clearly the hotel was intentional about maintenance.

Holiday Inn Express has always been a preferred choice for me because of spacious rooms, comfortable beds, warm décor and a variety of food items to choose from in the included breakfast. However, it does not appear that all of the housekeeping staff is as conscientious as others. I have come to expect almost pristine white sheets on the bed but I was faced with what appeared to be either discoloured sheets or sheets that had been used and had not been changed. As I took a closer look, I noticed that there was a long strand of hair on the pillow. This strongly indicated that the maid had taken shortcuts and had not changed the bedclothes after the previous guest.

I was very disappointed because the hotel is a plus in so many other ways. If I have to stay there again, I will have to make sure that I specifically request that the bedclothes are changed. It is unfortunate that this basic expectation has to be questioned.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalseyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am glad you found the staff receptive and friendly and the breakfast was up to expectations as well. I am disappointed to hear about the condition of the bedding and this certainly not typical of the sevice we wish to deliver. We will be following to make sure this will not happen in the future. if you wish to contact me directly i would be glad to talk to you about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel for five days for work and thought it was a good hotel. Others stayed at the Days Inn next door and thought it was terrible. I was lucky I checked the reviews prior to booking! My only criticism is that the fitness facilities were minimal and not that great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Canadian_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Best Hotel in Kingston, Internet, Free Coffee and Breakfast

After staying in various hotels in Kingston (downtown, mid-town and north 401 area) we feel the Holiday Inn Express - 401 is the best.

Most of the hotels have nice rooms and courteous staff but this hotel stands out for three reasons:

1. Internet connectivity is great. Using www.speedtest.net for a wired Ethernet connection, we got pings of 15ms, download speeds of 45 mbps and upload of 7 mbps. For wi-fi we got pings of 11 with downloads of 16 mbps and uploads of 8 mbps. The wi-fi worked great throughout the hotel - whether it was in our room or the lobby / dining room area. This is great if internet connectivity is important to you. It is for us as we use the free Fongo app to make free phone calls anywhere in Canada.

2. Free coffee 24/7 in the lobby. We took advantage of this after returning to hotel late at night.

3. Free hot breakfast. This really simplifies the travel experience.

Our experience has the Holiday Inn as the best hotel in Kingston, especially in the 401 area and is much better than their primary competitor the nearby Courtyard Marriott.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetWater8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am glad we were able to make your stay so enjoyable. I will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Sept 2013.. On spur of the moment decision to look into a St Lawrence River Cruise, and no available room at the Waterfront location, I booked a reward night at the Benson St Holiday Inn Express.

Arriving well after 9pm, our room key was waiting for us. Front desk was very friendly. Hotel location is in a suburban area. Hwy adjacent, surrounded by restaurants, drug & grocery stores and other shopping. The room was well appointed, very clean and quiet. Check-out was just as easy. If you don't want the breakfast served at the hotel (included) there is a Denny's Restaurant right next door. Breakfast there was very good.

Kingston waterfront is a short, easy 10 min. drive. I would definitely stay at this location again. Everything you could want seems to be right outside the door...but away from the tourist traffic of downtown Kingston.

Room Tip: Our room was on the backside of the hotel. Very quiet. No road noise. We also had a handicapped room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, I will look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Address: 11 Benson Street, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from downtown and adjacent to Highway 401, we are steps away from theatre, shopping and dining choices and offer spacious, well-appointed guest rooms and suites. Start each day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast featuring features hot and cold selections. Enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool and 24-hour fitness room. You'll appreciate the convenience of free WiFi and parking. Planning a meeting? Our Loyalist Meeting room is perfect for groups of up to 50. Visit our website for packages and special offers. Earn IHG Rewards Club Points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing