We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and modern!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Convenient and modern!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is a very convenient hotel just off Highway 401. There are many eateries within walking distance. The hotel is clean and modern and the room is a decent size with a lovely bathroom, lots of towels and Bath and Body Works toiletries. The TV wasn't the best and we were disappointed that the pool/hot tub weren't available (especially since that was one of the main reasons we booked this hotel). The staff was very pleasant and the breakfast (included) was awesome with a great selection of items and good coffee!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaRx57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    155
    40
    14
    19
See reviews for
174
122
19
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel is awful for sports teams!! First of all, instead of putting the entire team on the same floor so that our 10 year old kids wouldn't disturb other guests (something other hotels have figured out long ago!!!), they put us on 3 different floors!! Our kids tried to play mini sticks at one end of the hall at 5 in the afternoon and their sticks were immediately taken away from them, no warnings!!! Kids couldn`t get them back until checkout! The kids were not allowed to even sit quietly in the hallway to play with their Ipods. In the evening, the parents asked for a private room in the main lobby so we didn`t disturb the other guests! Well, the front desk attendant taught we were too loud for her and kicked us out of there, without a single guest room in sight of us! We normally stay at 5-6 hotels per year for sports tournaments and have done so for the past 4 years. Never have we seen an hotel so not accommodating for a sports team! Never again there and sports teams.....keep away `cause you`ll regret it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandriaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. We at the hotel strive to ensure all guest have a quiet and restful stay. To enable this we make policies and decisions as to best accommodate all guests in the hotel not one specific group. While I can appreciate the children like to play mini stick hockey in hallways it creates noise and has in the past resulted in damage to the property. Therefore it cannot be allowed as we expressed to everyone upon check in and on the terms and conditions forms signed on arrival. We do have our Great Room in which people can gather and interact in cordial manner. However, this is not a licensed or private area so no alcohol is permitted under any circumstance as governed by Ontario Law.

We appreciate the sports business we receive as we appreciate all the business that we receive. The weekend you were here we had 3 teams staying with us, and 2 teams found their stays quite enjoyable.

If you have any other suggestions I would be please to hear them, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph ON Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on Sunday December 29th, 2013. Was very impressed by the cleanliness and overall condition of the property. Our room was large, spotless, and had a comfortable King Sized bed. I arrived early and the nice lady at the front desk allowed me into the room at 12 noon. The location is about a minute off Highway 401, and there were tons of restaurants and amenities near by. We didn't have a chance to try the indoor pool, but did take advantage of the free WiFi and breakfast.

Great value for the money too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdcatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 23 September 2015
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Todd D.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Nice rooms staff was great at booking and check in i booked room for my niece coming home from Montreal she was at her moms funeral with her children and was so tired she had to stop for night staff was excellent looking after her when she stoped

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

i will stay here again. i stayed here with my fiance in the summer for a job interview in kingston. after staying at the marriot across the street, i wanted to try somewhere new because i was disappointed in the marriot.
the staff were very friendly and the location is excellent. it's just off the 401 and just north of the downtown core. it's across from a denny's, and a gas station, tim ho's, shopper's, starbucks, etc... anything you could need really...

when we stayed here the fire alarm went off very early in the morning (apparently it was some kids messing around). this was an inconvenience (as you could imagine my nerves right before my job interview), but it was resolved rather quickly. kudos to the staff for being calm, cool and collected in coordinating guests outside! i thought that maybe all guests would receive a discount or something like that on their stay, but we didn't (what can i say, i love free stuff).

this hotel also let us check out a bit later to accommodate my job interview time.... much appreciated!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jibby53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleside
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

everything about this place was great. Super clean, friendly staff. nice pool area and super yummy included breakfast was fantastic for you small girls as they could choose just a little bit of a few different things to try. Fantastic!

Room Tip: we requested a room on the main floor near the pool and they did not have one. by the time we reache...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have started a new job working as a recruiter for a university. This was my first travel experience in my new job and I was quite impressed! The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I have an IHG points card, but didn't know my number. The lady at the desk was more than willing to look it up for me. Whenever I entered the lobby the desk staff would smile and offer friendly hellos. The called me in my room upon check-in to ensure everything was alright. The simple, small gestures like this really can set-apart a hotel. I really appreciated the friendliness and the cleanliness. As this was my first business trip I was super excited about my king size bed! The breakfast was your average continental breakfast, nothing to brag about, but nothing to complain about. Location was fairly far from downtown Kingston, but close to the highway. Depending on your reason for staying in Kingston this hotel may or may not be the best location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your postive comments; congratulations on your new job and hope that there are many more Holiday Inn travel experiences in your future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Address: 11 Benson Street, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from downtown and adjacent to Highway 401, we are steps away from theatre, shopping and dining choices and offer spacious, well-appointed guest rooms and suites. Start each day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast featuring features hot and cold selections. Enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool and 24-hour fitness room. You'll appreciate the convenience of free WiFi and parking. Planning a meeting? Our Loyalist Meeting room is perfect for groups of up to 50. Visit our website for packages and special offers. Earn IHG Rewards Club Points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing