We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value Tiny rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queen's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Queen's Inn
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value Tiny rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the Bluesfest. Great location. Decent value. Extremely tiny rooms. Our friends got a room having arranged to get a cot for one of them. When they got there the room was too small for a cot so one of them slept on the floor. Otherwise it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmegaOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    40
    25
    16
    7
See reviews for
24
45
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Historic, charming, clean, and comfortable,...and an outstanding value! The Queen's Inn is one of the oldest (built in 1830s) continuously operating hotels in Canada. The rooms are small but spotlessly clean with comfortable mattresses, HUGE t.v.s, free high speed internet service, and two lounges and a restaurant on the premises. A nice continental breakfast is served in the Copper Room daily. Fresh juices, toasting bread with a selection of spreads, and fresh-brewed regular and decaf coffee will greet you until 10 a.m. Located in the center of Kingston, Ontario, Canada, it is a perfect launching place for several international music festivals held on nearby Wolfe Island and in Kingston itself. There is a variety of site-seeing tours within steps of the hotel, convenient public parking nearby, a town square around the corner that features both produce and antique markets on the weekend, and every shop one might imagine for the retail-addicted visitor!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We chose to stay at the Queen's Inn as it was recommended by our guidebook, and since it was only for a night, we didn't want to look too much into finding Kingston's best hotel.

Our room was on the top floor. It was very small, with a slanted roof (it's a historic building), so it gave the impression that the room was pretty cramped. On the plus side, the room was clean, which is all it matters for a one-night stay. It was also surprisingly quiet. We expected that it would be noisier since our room was street-side, but not at all. It's also a 2-min walk to City Hall, which is the centre of town and the action. There is limited parking space at the back.

Overall, it was a little bit pricey for the comfort, but it was not that bad.

The staff was very helpful. We asked for questions of things to do around town, and they provided us with a brochure and even made some calls for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Kingston and a stay at the Queens Inn - great place, small rooms but staff was great, location amazing and the pub on site was a real plus ! Kingston was a great town - and there are several hotel chains to choose from but they lack the quaint character found at the Inn. Parking was a about $25.00 for Friday till Sunday, but the lot was very conveniently located right next to the inn. Some reviewers complained about the toast and coffee for breakfast - worked fine for us, white and wheat bread, juice, coffee, jam, marmalade and peanut butter. Would recommend this spot to anyone !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

This is not a new property and I would guess has not changed it's overall look for some time. I booked off a discount web site and was looking for a better experience that a Howard Johnston one. As the other guests have stated, the rooms are small. Very small. Open the door and there's the foot of the bed. Squeeze by on your way to the efficiant and small washroom. And, yes, the shower is small.
Parking is listed but not always available. I think that they have 4 spaces for the whole Inn. An issue for those of us who come in by car. If however you arrived by bus or train, you would be pleased to find the Inn close to the vibrant downtown core and the waterfront..
Staff was friendly.
There are no elevators. Either travel light or start getting to the gym more often. I carried my own suitcase up a set of narrow, twisting stairs.
Breakfast was coffee and white toast with a side of The Globe and Mail or The Whig.
I found my room too warm but, in Kingston there are little flies in the Spring that you do NOT want to open a window to. Every Hotel will instruct you not to open any windows.
My stay was not unpleasant. That being said, I wouldn't revisit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

The room was cozy in size, very comfortable, clean and convenient. We were in town for The Scott Tournament of Hearts at the KRock Centre - which was just a couple of block away. Food, shopping and bars were all within a stone's throw from this wonderfully quaint inn.
The only complaint would be parking...due to the fact that there was an event, all of the parking lots downtown charged a day and evening rate (and the Queen's Inn did not have dedicated parking for it's patrons). We ended up paying about $45 for three days of parking.
I would stay again!

Room Tip: The back room was very very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyG1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate new york
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Went to Kingston last weekend had a great time. We stayed at Queens Inn on Brock st. it was a nice little retreat.
Rooms are small we had a Queen room on the top floor which was very nice and quiet,the only complaint I would have is the size of the shower.
The staff at the hotel and both pubs were very accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylemech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Confederation Place Hotel
Confederation Place Hotel
#28 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
4.3 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Inn

Property: The Queen's Inn
Address: 125 Brock Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1S1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Queen's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen`s Hotel Kingston
The Queen's Inn Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing