We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem on the water's edge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Cumming, GA
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Little Gem on the water's edge”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A last minute change in plans landed us at this hotel and it was awesome. Hotel could not be better located - right on the water, stunning view. Waking distance to shops and restaurants.

Studio suites are much larger than most Residence Inns I've stayed in. Very clean hotel. Bedding was great. Staff is super sweet.

Will definietly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadWarrior0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    382
    99
    21
    11
See reviews for
459
358
24
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn from MA 31-JN3 to attend the Ontario Special Olympics Games held in Kingston. We had a lovely room overlooking the lake which contained a refrigerator, microwave, etc.

Tested out a number of small requests including directions to various places and missing toothpaste. All of these were responded to with care and class. In addition, on the Thursday night, we were feted with a free nightly meal by the Hotel. This was one of 3 nights of the week that the Residence Inn offered such value add ons. Breakfast fare was more than acceptable on all 3 days.

We used the biz centre briefly and were satisfied with the lightning quick speed of the Net. Didn't use the pool, but it appeared excellent and clean.

Our next visit to Kingston will certainly include the Residence Inn!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view on the West side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is my first review I have ever written, I normally do not complain however I felt the need to share this information with everyone. 6 of us booked a two bedroom suite to stay in for a wedding in Kingston this weekend. I had emailed the hotel 3 weeks in advance to notify them we had a wedding to get ready for and asked if they could clean our room first so we would have a spot to get ready.... they replied they would try their hardest and to call them on the day we were arriving to see if it was ready. That saturday morning we called at 11:00am, 12:30, 1:00pm went to the hotel at 2:00pm and called at 3Pm. The lady on the phone was RUDE and not accomadating at all. I am quite dissapointed to say we had to get ready in our car and the hotel did not try and accomadate us what so ever. After the wedding ceremony we all had to leave the reception to CHECK IN to our hotel so we wouldnt have to do it at 2am when we got back from the wedding... the lady once again was not friendly. I am very dissapointed with the respect we recieved especially with how much we paid for a 1 night stay and didnt really even use the room. Other hotels in the area are much better as they accomadate their guests. We had 4 other friends staying at different hotels (The Radisson and Holiday Inn) and they were much more accomadating allowing them to check in early and making sure their rooms were ready,

On a good note.... the 2 bedroom suite was beautiful, the location is beautiful and the breakfast in the morning was good.. BUT there are other hotels in the area (Holiday Inn, The Radisson) that are beautiful, spacious and ACCOMADATING + RESPECTFUL to their guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krista V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YGKRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Good morning and thank you for posting your review.

I am so sorry that we failed to accommodate your request for an early arrival and I will investigate who was on duty to establish who was rude to you. The reason we do not gaurentee early arrivals is because our departure time is 12 noon, if we are fully booked on the prior night this makes it difficult to clean rooms to allow early arrivals. This was the case on the date you were trying to arrive early. In this instance we have to allocate rooms as they are cleaned and we do try our very best to accomodate our guests requirements. In particular our two bedroomed suites are a challange for early arrivals as we have so few, they are in high demand and they take the longest to clean. A two bed suite can take many hours to clean to our highest standard and means that if the guests depart promptly at 12 noon we may not get the suite cleaned before 3pm. Our gaurenteed check in time is 4 pm.
My apologies again.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the other aspects of your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

A nice hotel that forgets they have guests...

Middle of the night (2300) I am awoken by a giant vacuum truck sucking grease out of their restaurant.... may as well drill up the parking lot.

And busy checkouts... forget your room to be cleaned... not enough staff to clean the rooms... for those who stay... room cleaned by suppertime... nothing worse than walking into a messy hotel room. Staff great... but management not hiring enough...

Breakfast in short supply for a brand that prides itself on its breakfast. Been to many Residence Inn.. but running out of breakfast and coffee day after day smacks of lack of oversight...

Nice location... worth the trip... but missing some of the finer details of residence inns in other parts of the world.... i.e. don't call in the cleaning truck in the middle of the night..

Room Tip: Choose corner rooms.... Choose rooms on the entrance side to avoid the grease truck that sound like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zapoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YGKRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Good morning and thank you for posting this review.

I am so sorry that you were disturbed on Sunday night. We were conducting our periodic, every 6 months, cleaning of kitchen extract system and have had this done many times with no disturbance. I am in communication with the contracted company to establish what has changed in the service. This being said, my guests comfort is my main concern and I respectfully ask that you make contact with me on 613 531 7200 as I would very much like to discuss this further with you.

I also note your comments regarding breakfast and housekeeping which I will address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The suites are modern and clean. The rooms are spacious. There is a very good continental breakfast included. The view is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojobiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YGKRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Good morning from Kingston.

Thank you for your wonderfull review, I really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

As in all Residence Inn hotels, the room was bigger than average. What we liked most about this hotel was its proximity to the waterfront trail and all the good restaurants in downtown Kingston (5-minute walk). The view from the room was great too -- we could see Fort Henry and all the boats coming in and out of the docks.

Kitchen - has a full-sized fridge, a small dishwasher, microwave, and a 2-burner stove -- no oven, take note. Some of the plates weren't too clean so I just loaded everything into the dishwasher to be sure.

Pool - a bit small and although it wasn't full at the time, they ran out of clean towels. Thankfully by the time we were almost done, a new batch of fresh towels came.

Parking - costs $17 (with tax), whether you use the underground or open parking lot.

Breakfast - make-your-own waffles, eggs, sausage, muffins, french toast, fruits, yoghurt and the ever-present Marriott oatmeal; if the breakfast area is full, they let you use the tables at the bar/lounge, where you get a nice view of the water

extras: the room had 2 closets, and aside from the usual coffee/tea basket, there was a bag of popcorn for the kids!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabrepaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YGKRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Good morning and thank you so much for posting your comments. I respond to every comment posted and share with my team, I will take great pleasure in reading out your comments at our daily communication meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Had a very pleasant 5-night family stay. Modern, clean facility. Very spacious room (actually a little suite) - comfy beds, large bathrooms etc. Fabulous location right on the water, and a quick walk to all of Kingston's charms. Very good continental breakfast included.

Room Tip: Harbour view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YGKRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Good morning. Thank you for sharing your comments. At Residence Inn we take great pride in our hotel and in our guests. As I do with all comments posted, I will be thrilled to share your comments with my operational team so they know what our guests are thinking about us.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge

Property: Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Address: 7 Earl St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 0A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#4 Business Hotel in Kingston
#5 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Residence Inn Kingston hotel, located in downtown Kingston at Earl and Ontario streets, offers spacious fully-equipped suites and scenic harbour views. Built on Kingston's waterfront overlooking Lake Ontario, the new all-suite Marriott features amenities such as FREE breakfast, FREE high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. Guests love the indoor salt-water treated swimming pool and West Seventy 6 Grill which serves dinner between 5pm-11pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing