We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new discovery!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
DeWitt, New York
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great new discovery!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We visited Kingston and this property for the first time and were charmed by both. This hotel is relatively new so everything is in perfect condition. The suite and bathroom were immaculate. The breakfast was bountiful and seating area attractive.There is a fee to park. There was a good breeze blowing off the lake, so be prepared if you plan to walk into town. The hotel is well situated to do your exploring on foot. Kingston is a nice blend of historic and trendy when it comes to architecture, shops and restaurants. A great place for parents to stay when in town for events at Queens University.

Room Tip: Water view or city view...take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear SJG,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm very glad to see that we are still being discovered. We are truly well located for families of Queen's students (with the campus just a 10 minute walk).

I'm also really happy to see that you were charmed not only by the Residence Inn, but by Kingston itself! We are an older city and a proud one. I certainly hope you come to pay us a visit again soon. I'd like to recommend that at your next visit, you try out the Kingston Haunted Walk. The starting point is just a short 5 minute walk from the hotel. You get a real sense of our city's history in a captivating way (by the telling of ghost tales and visiting some of our city's many haunted locations).

Even from some of our city view rooms, you are overlooking the historic Portsmouth Village. A charming historic location in Kingston.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    369
    96
    21
    9
See reviews for
440
344
24
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Matthew Gifford front desk provided excellent customer service. Rooms were big with fully equipped kitchen; living room area; king size bed & nice bathroom. Spotless! Breakfast was fabulous & nice bar to have a nightcap after a long journey. Worth the money to stay here. All staff very nice! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RASCAL1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Good evening Rascal.

Thank you for this great review! Matt is certainly a rock star, and he'll be quite happy to hear how much you appreciated his service.

The next time you stay with us, you might be interested in trying our new concoction! The Brock Street Pothole - perfect for a night cap or an after dinner drink.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have been staying at this property for over a couple of years now. This is one of three properties i like to stay in Kingston. All rooms have well-equipped kitchens and pull out sofa beds. There are also some one and two bedroom suites. It is a relative new property so everything is nice and clean. Other than one and tow bedroom suites, there are no bathtubs but only shower stalls in the room so please choose accordingly. Most rooms have view of lake Ontario other than those located on the North side of the building with south facing rooms having the best view obviously. The indoor parking gets filled rather quickly so arrive early or park outdoor. Which brings me to the point which made me give this property very good as opposed to excellent. The parking rate used to be $16 per night which i think have now gone to $18. I thought even $16 was high as free overnight parking is available all around the hotel. Try parking it on the street just East of the hotel (adjacent to hotel's own parking lot) and if you are checking out early, you can park there for free between 5 p.m. and 9 a.m. (disclaimer: please read all the signs carefully).

The rooms are alway very-well stocked when you first check-in (yes, there is pop corn). On long stays, however, there have been times when i had to call house-keeping to restock some items. They were always quick and friendly and full filling my requests.

Breakfast is served every morning and the buffet is always well-stocked. Folks at the front desk are extremely polite and friendly. I did have one not so great experience despite being a regular but that was an anomaly and I have no hesitation recommending the hotel and its services. In summary, this is perhaps the best hotel in downtown Kingston.

Room Tip: Anything other than north facing rooms will have a good view of the lake on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKhanCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hello Akhan.

Thank you for such a thorough review! This is correct, we do feature a stand up shower in all our guest suites, with tubs only in the two bedroom suites and most (but not all) of the one bedroom suites.

I should clarify our parking price. It is still $16/night (on par with downtown properties) with unlimited re-entry. After taxes, it comes to just a smidge over $18. However, for guests interested in staying for 5 nights or more, the parking rate is reduced.

I would like to invite you to contact me directly to acknowledge the unsatisfactory experience you had encountered. I can be reached at the hotel via phone or email: (613) 544-4888 or gss.marriott2@gmail.com We always welcome a chance to improve!

I am glad that you have been enjoying your frequent stays with us, and I’m very happy to welcome you back for future stays too!

Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefield, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We got a two bedroom suite here with 2 king beds and pull out sofa. The suite had a full kitchen - oven, dishwasher, full fridge with freezer, cutlery, dishes, glassware, a few pots and pans etc.. The kids enjoyed the pool and the hottub. I enjoyed the jacuzzi tub in the onsuite bathroom. There was wifi in the room which was speedy and easy to access. Saturday morning paper was free in the lobby. The breakfast was included which was excellent - coffee, tea, juice, hot chocolate etc., cereal, fruit, yogurt, muffins, toast, eggs, sausage / turkey bacon, and make your own waffles with all the toppings.
We had booked in with the family special which included a large pizza and 4 drinks, as well as a VCR and free movie rental. We actually watched 3 movies over the time we were there as we just kept switching them out. We asked for early check in and were accommodated. There was underground parking for a fee of $16 a day.
This hotel is an easy walk to Queen's University and also an easy walk to the KRock Center and all the shopping on Princess Street.
We were on the 8th floor and it was very quiet. We did not hear anyone else!!
The only negative was that there was no recycling bin in the suite. We had to ask for one at the front desk.
Overall, a great stay in Kingston :o)

Room Tip: Try and get a lake view room. It is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Good day Cathette.

Thank you very much for the detailed review! This is most appreciated and helpful to fellow travellers. It certainly sounds like you were able to enjoy our amenities to the max. The waffles at breakfast are definitely a great means to express your culinary morning creativity. Especially if you have a sweet tooth!

I do apologize that there wasn't a recycling bin in the room. But, I am glad we were able to bring one up at your request. We pride ourselves on our 'green' vision and realize that most of our guests do too.

Thank you for staying with us recently. And hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Excellent hotel, excellent rooms, excellent service, excellent amenities, excellent food!
Travelling with kids (5 & 8), we can be quite picky but this place exceeded our expectations! The breakfast that is included is by far the best we've had at a hotel (included or not).
The staff is amazing.
The fitness ctr, pool and hot tub is great, too.
Highly, highly recommended by us!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettencourtFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Good day Bettencourt Family.

What a great picture you've put up of your smiling kids enjoying the saltwater pool! Thank you for sharing. It's an absolute treat to get an overall rating of 5 from your stay. That indicates to me that we were able to help you enjoy your getaway.

Did you know there are so many family activities in Kingston (especially in the summer) within a short walk or drive from the Residence Inn? Just a few blocks away are the Marine Museum and Pump House. Both very interactive and fun places to visit. One of my favourite features in the Pump House is the functioning model train set room.

I hope you get a chance to return to us in the summer with the family. Judging by those smiles, I am confident we'll see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Warm Welcoming, friendly, specious rooms and hot breakfast wow!!! I'm impressed with entire team.Special thanks to David and Kate, Baldeep, Stacy,Jim and juno at the front desk. Our family had a wonderful gateway and enjoyed in every min in your excellent property.you really do know what guest needs.much appreciated to you David!! Definitely coming back in Kingston Marriott Residence inn water's edge !!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anarkoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Wow Anarkoli!

What a great review to get from you!

Our team is certainly a proud one and we are overjoyed to hear that we were able to deliver exemplary service to you. Thank you very much and I certainly hope we can welcome you and your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Got a nice large room with a King bed. Kitchen. The view of the lake was nice. Very short walk to downtown and all of the hot spots. Front desk staff was friendly, very fast wifi. The breakfast was very diverse, lots of variety. Only draw back was you need to pay for parking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2013ejp1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Ejp. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are proud to have some of the most spacious rooms in Kingston with a view of the lake. The winter view can be quite magical with the Wolf Island Ferry gliding through the icy waters. And to complement that view in the morning, a nice hot cup of cocoa with hot oatmeal and maple syrup from the breakfast buffet. We did have a long winter this year, and I’m glad you were able to spend some of it with us.

You are correct, we do charge for parking. We try to keep our parking price competitive by offering a rate on par with other downtown properties. And believe it or not, we’ll even reduce the rate if you stay for 5 nights or more.

Ejp, I hope to welcome you back in the summer for an extended stay! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge

Property: Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Address: 7 Earl St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 0A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#4 Business Hotel in Kingston
#5 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Residence Inn Kingston hotel, located in downtown Kingston at Earl and Ontario streets, offers spacious fully-equipped suites and scenic harbour views. Built on Kingston's waterfront overlooking Lake Ontario, the new all-suite Marriott features amenities such as FREE breakfast, FREE high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. Guests love the indoor salt-water treated swimming pool and West Seventy 6 Grill which serves dinner between 5pm-11pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing