We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Location, Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff and all around solid Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb Location, Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff and all around solid Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our family's second time staying at this property- both for weddings in Kingston and/or nearby. Firstly, the location of the hotel is perfect- right on the water with sweeping views of Lake Ontario and the summer sailboats in the Harbour.

Secondly-the staff is super friendly and courteous.

Thirdly- there is an onsite gym and pool (not a lap pool) as well as hot tub. The gym is quite spacious, free weights, no machines but some benches and a treadmill, elliptical and cycle as well as two swiss balls and mats. But with the weather as beautiful as it is in Canada in the summer- there are ample paths for walks and runs outside in any case.

There is also a free breakfast-chopped fruit, bananas, oranges, yoghurts, cold cereals, oatmeal, make your own waffles and hot food area. Free coffee and tea also. Nothing to write home about but a nice addition while you're on vacation and you can pick up a few snacks for later as well.

All Rooms are v. spacious and come fully equipped with a full kitchen, nice lounge/couch area, remodelled bathrooms and comfortable beds. The hotel is clean and modernly decorated. And you'll also find a small business centre in basement along with a library type lounge in lobby with some books.

Word of warning- the morning complimentary breakfast rush can be overwhelming and v. busy depending on the hotel's occupancy so it is suggested that you go early if possible.

You're v. close to Kingston's public market, down town streets, museums and so on and this is truly a great find on the Harbour Front!

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early especially on weekends because it can get very busy very quickly and the line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TruBahamianFoodTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Good day Alanna.

Thank you for staying with us and for the detailed and great review! The sailboats are truly a wonderful sight to see from our water-view suites. Especially with the Yacht Club around the corner.

Alanna, as staff, we pride ourselves on our service and I am very happy to see that this was also reflected in your visit to us (your 2nd visit)!

One of our most popular items for brekkies is, as you mentioned, the DIY waffles. It's always interesting to see the sweet and creative concoctions that our guests come up with in terms of decorating with sauces and syrup.

Thank you again for the advice and review! It is most appreciated.

-David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    329
    89
    20
    9
See reviews for
400
300
18
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel every few months for the past 5 years while my daughter attended University in Kingston. I love the location and the spaciousness of the rooms. I have stayed on my own, and with my family. We have always enjoyed our stay and the politeness of the staff.
The location is great to walk to restaurants-Wooden Heads is one of our favorites and it is extra beautiful being located right on the water. The rooms are always clean and the the extra touches are appreciated-free WiFi, free breakfast, coffee, popcorn and candies in the room. I would not stay anywhere else when visiting Kingston and I tried many other places prior to this hotel opening. Stay here and you will be happy with your decision.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexus62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Good day Lexus.

Your kind words are most appreciated. We are definitely an ideal hotel for families of Queen's and St. Laurence students. Queen's is just a short walk from the property. And, as you mentioned, an even shorter walk to Woodenheads! One of Kingston's popular Italian restaurants with a woodfire oven for their pizzas.

I'm glad you mentioned the little candies in the room. My favourite flavour (in the Res Inn candy department) would have to be lemon!

Lexus, thank you for staying with us continually, and I look forward to your return!

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed there for two days with my wife and three kids. Called the hotel ahead of time to let them know we would arrive late. David of the hotel seeing that we come with kids late made sure the crib was set up in the room, so we have to transfer the kids just from the car to the bed.
The staff in the entire hotel was very friendly.
The breakfast room was to small for the amount of people they wanted to feed that days.
Hotel is located great, since it is just a short walk to all the attractions of Kingston.
Rooms are all very clean and up to date.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skywizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Skywizzard.

Thank you for your wonderful review! It was my pleasure to make sure the crib was ready for your arrival.

I'm very glad that you were the recipient of the service we are proud of! Travelling with kids can always be a challenge, as they tend to have more energy than us older folks ;)

Did you know that we have a selection of children's movies on DVD which we offer complimentary to our guests (DVD players also) for a night of movie watching, popcorn (in the suite), and relaxation.

Skywizzard, it is unfortunate that there wasn't ample space in our breakfast area when you stayed with us. I'd like to welcome you to offer any feedback to me regarding this. My email is gss.marriott2@gmail.com

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed many times before. This stay was really nice. Staff are always very pleasant and helpful. Great rooms, and we had a wonderful view of the water. Close
to downtown. Cant wait to go back. It is always nice to be recognized by staff, Makes you feel like part of the family

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Good morning Scott.

Thank you for your frequent stays with us! We are always happy to welcome back a member of our family. :)

We are elated that you can't wait to come back, and the feeling is mutual!

Looking forward to your return.

I was quite pleased to be the person to check you in during your most recent visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Location is fantastic close to the main street of Kingston. The room are spacey and well equipped. This place will do the job albeit without fanfare, but is the residence inn, not the ritz.

Would recommend this hotel if you wish to spend a weekend in Kingston.

Breakfast not good, but on par with what you can expect in that category.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torben_RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Good day Torben.

Thank you for your positive review.

The main street that we're located by is Ontario. It's the start of the path to some of the most popular eateries in Kingston, including Woodenheads, Diane's, and Mio Gelato! I'm glad you were able to enjoy our great location!

Thank you for mentioning also that our rooms are well equipped. We try to cater to the at-home-chef by providing a full kitchen with a complement of dishes, cutlery, ...etc.

Torben, I'd like to invite you to contact me regarding our hot and cold buffet breakfast. Being on par is great, but our goal is to wow! As a valued guest, your feedback is treasured. My email is gss.marriott2@gmail.com

Many thanks and hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We held our wedding reception at this hotel. It was a small reception dinner of about 25 people, held in the Hearth Room. We were given the entire room, with a separate raised section, and a private patio, more than enough space for 20-40 people.

Our event coordinator Stacey was extremely helpful and saw to it that everything was in order for the day. The banquet manager Brent and his staff took care of everything on the night... the food, atmosphere and service were all fantastic. We were very satisfied with the Marriott's handling of our event!

We stayed the night in one of the guest suites and it was beautiful...best view of the Kingston harbour, clean, stylish, spacious and comfortable. We strongly recommend this hotel for events and accommodation in the most beautiful part of downtown Kingston.

Room Tip: Request upper level floor (10th is best) with harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hello Paul.

The Hearth Room is, as you mentioned, the perfect area for a small festive gathering.

Thank you for mentioning Stacey and Brent! They are two of our hard working champions at the hotel and were beaming when we read your review at our daily huddle meeting!

Congratulations Paul and thank you for letting us help you make the most important day of your life a success!

We are always especially excited to welcome our wedding guests to the hotel. We are very lucky to be situated right on the water's edge with the perfect outdoor venue (the Compass Rose).

I sincerely hope to welcome you both back again soon!

-David
PS: I also had a modest wedding (in my backyard though).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had booked a room for our soccer weekend with the kids, the staff was friendly and after our first night upgraded us to a 2 bedroom on a Saturday so i would have more room for 6 girls who are always with my girls (team members) My room was clean and very nice, i loved that i had a full kitchen, but the only thing i didnt like was in my 2 bedroom i did not have a full size fridge, it was apartment sized. Our housekeeper was amazing the girls called her the "cool housekeeper" b/c she was great with them and working around them and let the girls listen to her music while she was cleaning our room ( we were not in the room when she started and some of the girls came back while she was in there ) She was great with all of the girls on the floor and very friendly to parents and children, even gave my little girl( 7) a sticker when she fell in the hall chasing her sister and the other girls.. i would recommend this hotel for both please and business with or with out children... ask to stay on the 3rd floor that house keeper is amazing!

Room Tip: only 2 bedroom suits have a full oven the rest of the rooms have stove tops so if you are traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear SC.

Your cool housekeeper's name is Erin and she was very happy when we read your Tripadvisor review at our daily huddle (a team building meeting we have to daily to prepare for the day).

I'm really glad to see that you enjoyed your room and your stay and especially glad that you were impressed with our service. Many thanks!

Our best regards to you and your girls and please come back anytime, we're glad to have you with us!

-David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
2.5 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge

Property: Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Address: 7 Earl St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 0A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#4 Business Hotel in Kingston
#5 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Residence Inn Kingston hotel, located in downtown Kingston at Earl and Ontario streets, offers spacious fully-equipped suites and scenic harbour views. Built on Kingston's waterfront overlooking Lake Ontario, the new all-suite Marriott features amenities such as FREE breakfast, FREE high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. Guests love the indoor salt-water treated swimming pool and West Seventy 6 Grill which serves dinner between 5pm-11pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing