We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need in the best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I am a big fan of Residence Inn and this one in Kingston was another pleasant experience.
The hotel is perfectly located in a beautiful quiet corner just in front of the water, at easy walking distance from the town attractions, shops and restaurants.
Everything looks new and nicely designed for the guest comfort.
As always in Residence Inn hotels, all rooms are actually spacious suites, equipped with a complete kitchen corner (with full size fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, etc., everything brand new and spotless) a living area (with table and chairs, an additional working desk, a sofa with small coffee tables) and a good size closet with ironing facilities. The only thing I keep missing when staying in a Residence Inn is a safety-deposit box...
Our bathroom was not big but functionally designed: we liked in particular the walk-in powerful shower and the fluffy towels. Extremely comfortable King size bed with soft linen and a wonderfully light duvet.
We stayed in room number 1011 and, even if positioned on the rear part of the hotel, we had a nice view of the waterfront (due the shape and the position of the hotel, I suppose that quite all rooms have great views, maybe ask for the ones directly facing the water for the best).
Free and easy-to-use wi fi.
A great buffet breakfast is included in the hotel rate: large choice of cold and hot dishes (choice of eggs, bagels, muffins, yogurt, cereals, fresh fuit, etc.)
The underground garage parking is a bit expensive (18$/day) but we noticed that there is also a private outdoor parking lot just on the rear of the hotel (not sure if they charge for it).
Another great staying at a Residence Inn, we can only strongly recommend it!

Room Tip: Higher floors on the waterfront side have best views. Just avoid the "city view"
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefi1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Stefi1970.

Glad to hear that you're a big fan of Residence Inn, did you know that Residence Inn just happens to be your biggest fan too! I'm glad you mentioned our location. You are correct, we are conveniently located within minutes from Queens University, Kingston General Hospital, and the downtown core.

Stefi, did you know that we have safety deposit boxes at the front desk? They are complimentary for all our guests.

Regarding the parking, just to clarify, after tax, it does come to $18.08 per night (with in and out privileges), and we do charge for the outdoor parking also.

Thank you for posting such a detailed and great review! It is much appreciated. I'm looking forward to your return!

-David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,218)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

I had an excellent time at this location; the service provided was great and the room was spacious, clean and nice. The staff cleaning, decorating and servicing these rooms obviously were not just trying to pass their hours but also put some thought and passion into their work.

The price was slightly higher than I was expecting from the city (judging based on location, not service/room size).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RyanFarCry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Good day Ryan,

Your words are very appreciated! We do try to reflect our passion for the industry and I am glad you recognized that!

Ryan, did you know that we also offer discounted rates and that all our rates include a hot buffet breakfast as well as two dinners (small buffet on Tuesday and Wednesday evening). Some of the discounts would be CAA, Senior, or Advance Purchase.

If you'd like to make your next booking directly with the hotel, feel free to fire us an email! info@marriottresidenceinnkingston.com

Many thanks and looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our first wedding anniversary in a historic place and picked Kingston, Canada's first capital. We enjoyed our trip overall as we found the city and its people very welcoming and the old houses and buildings were simply marvellous. We stayed at the Residence Inn by Marriott and were regularly welcomed and greeted by friendly and efficient hotel staff. We got a studio room that provided all the comforts of home which included a kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, dining table, work desk, and living room. Whether you're travelling on business or vacationing, alone, as a couple, or with family, the hotel seems to have facilities for everyone's needs. We certainly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it to anybody. Of course, the location, being right next to the water was a definite plus.

Room Tip: If you like the view, ask for a higher room at least a week before your arrival. I asked for a high...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JJPil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Guest Service Supervisor at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello JJPil,

I'm very happy to hear that you chose our lovely historic city to celebrate your wedding anniversary in! I am quite proud of Kingston and my fellow Kingstonians. Your kind words are not unheard! :)

My favourite rooms are also the studios. They have a spacious feel to them and come in 3 varieties;

-City View
-Water View
-Premium Water View

As Canada's 1st Capital, we also had Canada's 1st Prime Minister! Mr. Sir John A. himself! A bit of an off beat destination would be at the Cataraqui Cemetary to visit his grave.

Thank you again for staying with us and I'm looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were I town for a wedding nearby. Our travel agent had a booked a great deal for us. The 2 night stay included a large well equipped room overlooking the water, a free pizza and pop, breakfast, and great location.
There was even firework across the water from us one night.
The room has a great well supplied kitchen, separate seating area, king size bed.
Staff were cordial and helpful.
Breakfast was good, nice selection,and as the weather was nice we were able to eat it outside overlooking the water.
All in all it was a good, stay, only negative was the charge for parking out car, $16/night! Chintzy, this is Kingston, not Toronto!

Room Tip: Water view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LaHaZe703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Gifford, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Greetings LaHaZe703,
Thank you for your most recent feedback. I am happy to hear you got to take advantage of our Experience Family Package which includes and pizza and pop (2 night minimum)... Hang onto that travel agent as they got you a great deal!

Parking is always a challenge in any city and Kingston is no exception. Street parking is always available however most areas charge by the City of Kingston (even on Saturdays). We have tried to maintain a competitive rate in accordance with the other downtown hotels in Kingston. Thankfully this isn't Toronto; my most recent stay at a Marriott downtown Toronto cost me $40 for parking... but thankfully they parked it for me!

We look forward to welcoming you back. Please feel free to contact us directly should you choose to share any additional information.
Kind Regards,
Matthew Gifford
Guest Service Manager
613-544-4888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Beautiful large apartment type room with cooking facilities and lounge area.
As the hotel name suggests it is right on the waterfront with a pleasant walk to Kingston with all its restaurants, top 3 picks Woodenheads, The Keg and The Lone Star.
Breakfast was included and although the dining room was manic at times the food was good.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Gifford, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you Paul G!
What a fantastic review... Thank you for your business and for helping us to continue to be sucessful!
Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your next visit.

Please contact us directly should you need to make another booking.
Hint: Don't forget to mention you are a returning guest!

Kind regards,
Matthew Gifford
Guest Service Manager
613-544-4888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Location is good, just a 10 minute walk from the city centre. Rooms are spacious and clean. It is a typical business hotel and so is the staff, helpfull but not so friendly a bit detached. Everyone goes around their own business. Breakfast is included but very basic. Housekeeping is poor, they forgot to replace all towels after cleaning and no coffee or tea.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with view on the lake
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Henk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Gifford, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Greetings Boxter09,
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay.

I must admit, it is disappointing to see that our team let you down this time around. I can assure you that this is no "typical business hotel" as we pride ourselves on delivering outstandingly consistent customer service to all of our guests, as I am sure you can see by our glowing TripAdvisor comments. By offering over 50% larger suites with deluxe complimentary breakfast and a great location, we feel we have really set ourselves apart from the other fine hotel establishments within Kingston.

It looks like we missed the opportunity to wow you on this occasion and so I apologize sincerely about this. I will continue to work with our housekeeping, front desk and food & beverage team on delivering this promise and hope that we can welcome you back on a more positive note. Please contact us directly should you chose to share any additional information regarding your most recent stay.

Kind regards,
Matthew Gifford
Guest Service Manager
613-544-4888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Location of this hotel perfect in Kingston. It is a comfortable distance walking for pretty much everything in Kingston. We had a view of the water. The room was good size and a comfortable bed.

The free breakfast was just average slightly below average. The staff was wonderful very accommodating and pleasant. That includes the front desk staff at check-in and the chambermaid.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more for the waterfront room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank img712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Gifford, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Greetings img712,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review from your most recent stay. I will agree, we have one of the best staffs I have ever had the privilege of being a part of!

The location of the hotel is second to none, as we are just outside the noise of the downtown core without having to walk a great distance to some of the most incredible restaurants in Kingston. Not to mention our sweeping waterfront view!

Thank you for your comments regarding the breakfast area as well. I will working with our breakfast team on providing a more relaxing and enjoyable breakfast experience even during the busy summer holiday season. Please contact us directly should you choose to share any additional information regarding your stay.

Kind regards,
Matthew Gifford
Guest Service Manager
613-544-4888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge

Address: 7 Earl St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 0A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#4 Business Hotel in Kingston
#5 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: £103 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Residence Inn Kingston hotel, located in downtown Kingston at Earl and Ontario streets, offers spacious fully-equipped suites and scenic harbour views. Built on Kingston's waterfront overlooking Lake Ontario, the new all-suite Marriott features amenities such as FREE breakfast, FREE high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. Guests love the indoor salt-water treated swimming pool and West Seventy 6 Grill which serves dinner between 5pm-11pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing