We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Rooms, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms, Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

About 15 minutes from downtown but the location is ideal with close access to HWY 401. There is ample parking which would not be the case with the hotels downtown. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Check in staff were friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerJL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    222
    42
    8
    9
See reviews for
231
128
11
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband had to go to a specialist in Kingston so we decided to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Kingston. We were greated by a lovely young lady who was very helpful and very well trained. The lobby was cleaned and our room looked very fresh and clean. It was very refreshing to see nice bright colours and upgraded furniture. The whole experience was very pleasant. The only thing that could be added is a complimentary breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor it was extremely quiet. It your best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

After spending the previous 2 nights at a Hampton Inn, this hotel highlighted how poor customer service can have such a negative effect on a guest experience.

The hotel itself is very nice, clean and provides good rooms and having stayed here before we thought it was a safe bet to come back, however our experience this time around has left me in no doubt this will not be a hotel I will be visiting again.

The receptionist that dealt with my family and I on check-in was very abrupt and rude. All I did was ask why a $200 dollar deposit was necessary in addition to full payment at check-in, and I was made to feel that I had no right to ask. I explained that I had stayed in a hotel in the U.S. two nights previously and didn't have to pay anything until departure, so I was inquiring why this was necessary, initially I was ignored, then the response was "there in a different country and there different"!

Had it not been for the fact I had my family with me at that point I would have cancelled the booking there and then, however I choose to back off and let it go. The ironic thing was after walking through the reception area on several occasions during our 2 night stay, my family and I were totally ignored by this member of staff and made to feel unwelcome.

Well Courtyard Marriott, Kingston - this member of staff has just lost you a customer as there are plenty of other hotels out there that understand the importance of good customer service.

Room Tip: If you have children with you I would recommend a room on the ground floor for ease of access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotsman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardMarriottGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello and Greeting from Kingston!

I am sorry to hear that your experience was not quite as expected.

I wish to apologize for the manner in which the message was delivered regarding our deposit requirements.

Each hotel will have it's own set policies in terms of deposit requirements. With any form of payment, be it cash or credit card, we ensure that payment is available as a form of security. A credit card will have an authorization of the total cost of room and taxes, plus a further amount to cover incidentals, or in far less frequently worst case scenarios, damages or loss.

This is a similar policy for guests wishing to pay via cash or debit. A charge of the total room and taxes is processed, along with a deposit to cover incidentals, etc. Our hotel requires $200. This amount is completely refundable, assuming no additional charges are added to your guest folio.

I hope that helps clarify the policies and the fact that that will vary from hotel to hotel.

All that said, it seems our associate delivered the message in a manner unfitting of the service you rightfully deserve. For that, I must apologize.

Rest assured, we have taken this as a coaching opportunity and reviewed the matter with the associate to ensure a similar situation does not arise in the future.

If you wish to discuss the matter, please do not hesitate to message me or call the hotel directly at 613-548-7000.

Yours in hospitality!

Matthew Fry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The room was great. Good location near highway, shopping centre and downtown! The staff was very helpful. One of my friend forgot the keys inside the car and the hostess helped us find someone that could open the door. It was very nice!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is co-located with an outlet mall that has stores that we don't usually see in the US. It is also located right off the highway for easy on/off access but is a straight shot into town as well. There is a multiplex theater with an IMAX screen across the street as well. The rooms are large, clean and brightly lit. The internet access was frustrating as it was slow and we finally gave up trying to get anything done on the computer. There is a nice cafe in the lobby and the staff is exceptional. When we mentioned that we would like to see a movie, the staff printed off the movies and show times for us. It was quiet and comfortable but most of the food nearby was chain (McDonald's, Boston Pizza, etc...) so plan ahead or drive into town for chow.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nice, new Courtyard located right off Highway 401 within walking distance to a number of chain fast food/family style restaurants and approx.. 10 mins drive to downtown Kingston and its pleasant waterfront. Stayed in on fourth floor King room, was clean and comfortable and up to the latest Courtyard standards. Bed was extremely comfortable, room was quiet, and everything worked well.

Did not use the pool or gym facilities but they looked nice and not too busy.

Would stay here again if visiting the area – nicer than anything in downtown Kingston and only a quick drive away (with free parking on-site).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTLSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stittsville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had no complaints about the hotel, the staff or the room (except perhaps having to buy overpriced coffee-chain coffee at the hotel restaurant. On the other hand, we were not impressed with Marriot's rate matching guarantee. Paying the higher price and submitting a claim for compensation does not impress me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
Address: 103 Dalton Ave, Kingston, Ontario K7K 0C4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
#3 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently off of Highway 401 between Montreal and Toronto, the Courtyard Marriott Kingston's brand new facilities (Including our brand new Water Slide!) are ideal to unwind and re-energize! Business Centre, the Bistro Lounge and Restaurant serving breakfast, dinner, and refreshments, our fabulous indoor pool, slide, fitness facilities, and interactive lobby are unique in Kingston. Benefit from the fabulous Marriott Rewards program each and every stay, and make sure to visit our GoBoard with directions and information on all of Kingston's going-ons! When the day is over, enjoy the comfort of our beautifully designed guestrooms and attentive service. Welcome to the Courtyard Kingston - it's a New Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Hotel Kingston
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing