We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel in lovely small town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Kingston was a pleasant surprise for a smaller town. The hotel was conveniently located by the river and within walking distance to a charming downtown area. The room was a bit overpriced but spacious enough with an ultra comfortable bed and exceptional pillows. Fast courteous check-in. Overall the hotel was clean and inviting. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tayva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 September 2011

Dear Tayva,

Thank you for your complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel services, as well as our unbeatable location. We would be honored to have you stay with us again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

First, this hotel has a fabulous location!! When you walk out the door, you are right in charming downtown Kingston. So many unique shops and restaurants. The views are like a postcard and you could enjoy the view from the balcony.

Rooms were spacious, pleasant looking, etc. I like having a fridge in the room.

Breakfast buffet was tasty, nice array of choices.

Room Tip: Ask to have a view towards the marina and Lake Ontario ... fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sls_ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 September 2011

Dear sls_ontario,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We were pleased to learn that our location suited you and that your accommodation was to your liking. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront soon.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is the worst room I've ever stayed in for this price range. The ground floor room we were given smelled so badly of dogs (they apparently have "pet" rooms) that you could smell it out in the hall, the carpet looked filthy and had a big mystery stain. It was also right next to the restaurant and it looked directly into the outdoor patio, no privacy. Which I suppose was better then the other side where you over look a large parking lot?

Requested a different room and was given the wheelchair accessible room 2 doors down. An improvement (hidden from bar patio, view of trees and water), still not worth the price, still smelled a bit like dogs, no bath tub as it's designed for wheelchairs. The location is great, this was the only thing about this hotel that was in line with the room price.

Gym equipment was old and rusted. Someones band-aid was floating along the floor of the pool, not the hotels fault, but that it was STILL there 3 days later was disgusting. Tile floor between the gym and pool gets walked on by wet bare feet AND by dirty gym shoes and was encrusted with old scum in the grout.

Cleaning staff and customer service were fine. Bed was comfy.

Room Tip: Request higher floor, unless you have dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 September 2011

Dear m m,

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We regret that you experienced inconsistencies during your stay but are proud that you thought so highly of our staff. We aim to provide the highest level of satisfaction to all our customers and your feedback is key for us in recognizing areas for improvement. We will be embarking upon a renovation program in the near future which involves our indoor pool and fitness centre and other exterior areas throughout our property.
I have shared your comments with our Executive Housekeeper for re-training in the areas you mentioned.
Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact me directly at 613.549.8400 ext 2600. We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed overnight for a family wedding. Staff are helpful, friendly and accommodating. Located on the water and in the heart of many restaurants, pubs, etc. and easy parking. They have an outside patio to enjoy your breakfast in good weather. The manager is very approachable! We had no complaints whatever! You cannot beat the location - local boat cruises at your door, excellent restaurants that you can walk to, walking trail along the waterfront. Location, location, location. We could not hear any outside noise, hotel was quiet and we had a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: A room beside the walking trail overlooking the marina - waterfront is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 September 2011

Dear Kathy E,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We are thrilled that our associates, facility and location were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We are proud to be your hotel of choice in Kingston and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Great room, great view, most comfortable bed we ever slept in, competent and polite staff, perfect location on the waterfront, balcony, fridge, everything was clean, check in and out was a breeze, it was just a really nice stay. 10/10. This Holiday Inn can hold it's own against any other hotel in Kingston. We parked our car and walked to everything. Really, really nice.
A very refreashing experience in today's world where Murphy's Law is alive and well due to a poor economy and work ethics that can leave much to be desired. These folks are running a tight ship and it shows. Last thing they asked on the way out the door was "How was your stay?" We will return when our Daughter Graduates from Queens in spring of 1012!

Room Tip: Waterfront view. Priceless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 September 2011

Dear Chris M,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront and would like to thank you for leaving a glowing review. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Excellent room with a fabulous view from the balcony and the bed. Got an executive king bed room on the harbour side. The nicest surprise was the walkin shower instead of the bathtub.

Room Tip: Get an executive king bed room on the harbour side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Regent64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We came to this hotel for dinner even though we were staying at another excellent hotel in Kingston. It was a quiet evening before the Labor Day holiday. The quality of the food was excellent, the service was quick and attentive without being bothersome, and the prices were in-line for what we ordered. I've read a variety of negative reviews of this restaurant, but let's keep in mind it is a Holiday Inn. If you want high end in Kingston, go to Chez Piggy, but as far as Holiday Inn's go the service and food were above average. Our server was a university student working at the hotel for the summer and he was better than a lot of "professional" servers I've encountered in more upscale restaurants. Keep your expectations in line with what the restaurant is and you will have very good food and a good time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChrisTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 September 2011

Thank you for your feedback on our restaurant. All reviews are taken into consideration by our Team Leaders to identify areas of improvement. We are pleased that you enjoyed your dinner and hope for the opportunity to welcome you back as a guest in our hotel!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
2.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Address: 2 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: £89 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario. We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km)for concerts and Kingston Frontenacs games, 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km), Queen's University (1.53km), boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet. We are proud to present DOX Restaurant & Bar with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. Dox Restaurant & Bar features a delicious breakfast menu and is the perfect place to meet for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Whether you're coming to Kingston on business, looking to hold a meeting or event, or getting away for a family vacation, the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront is your hotel of choice. We look forward to being "At Your Service"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing