We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stay at this Hotel every week and have done so going on 3 years now. Therefore I expect a clean room, great internet service, friendly staff, and parking close to the main entrance of the hotel. This hotel offers every item I have mentioned. In addition the beds are the most comfortable ever and you have a choice of a soft or firm pillow. Breakfast is a good hearty Canadian breakfast with everything you would expect. I cannot say enough about the staff and by that I mean ALL of them from the chambermaids, to the parking attendants, to the restaurant servers, to the front desk staff, the maintenance staff and management who are out and about ensuring all is well. The guest is top priority here and that keeps me coming back every week. They recognize and greet Priority Club Members on many occasions by name. During the week when I stay there it is a quiet business, family and your mix of guests. Always hot water for your shower. Dogs are relegated to the main floor only so they have easy access to the outdoors. The floors are quiet at night. Check in and check out is quick and friendly. The location is right downtown close to all amenties including shopping and yet is still situated right on the waterfront.
It is an entirely smoke-free Hotel that I appreciate. Rick R.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water offer a better view however all rooms have been refurbished and every room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegasguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear vegasguys,

Thank you again for your great feedback on your experiences at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront.

We look forward to your next arrival.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    294
    188
    88
    45
See reviews for
242
291
24
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed one night on the way to Niagara Falls and we had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel. As others have mentioned, the location is tops, numerous restaurants and pubs and tourist attractions are a short stroll away. The hotel directly faces the lake, providing a beautiful view of the water, city and Wolfe Island.

Our room was a corner suite with a balcony with chairs directly over the water and we thoroughly enjoyed watching the many boats on the lake, it was very peaceful and the view at night was lovely also. Our room was very bright, spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable and easily as good as those in more expensive hotels. The check in was a breeze and the staff were very pleasant. We purchased the romance package which included wine and chocolates which were in our room as promised after we returned from dinner.

I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 as the breakfast was a bit of a disappointment at the hotel. While the staff were very pleasant, and the restaurant was airy and bright, the buffet breakfast was quite plain and limited in choices. They also forgot to bring us our coffee, it was eventually delivered but we had already finished and were ready to leave. But overall the stay was great and the hotel gets a full thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxyRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear RoxyRoadTrip,

Thank you for commenting on your stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. I have noted your comments for immediate improvement to ensure we get the 5 out of 5 we strive for!

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This waterfront hotel has a great location.......walking distance to the harbor, visitor center, restaurants, downtown, city hall, but you pay the price! We felt it was unnecessarily expensive for a Holiday Inn. Also, be aware that breakfast is not automatically included unless you book it that way.
I thoroughly enjoyed the swim in the fitness center that extends out over the water!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonTraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear WashingtonTraveler60,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the wonderful sights of historic downtown Kingston that are just steps from our door. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the waterfront views our fitness centre.

We hope to have you return on your next trip to Kingston.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallaceburg, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Great Location. The rooms were well appointed and clean. It is well located in downtown Kingston within walking distance to various attractions. We enjoyed our stay. We did not eat in the hotel and thus can not comment on the food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheoneandonlyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear TheoneandonlyCT,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We are glad you chose to stay with us and are very happy you had such a nice experience in downtown Kingston.

We look forward welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We booked a block of rooms for our wedding this past weekend and everything was perfect. I would like to thank all the staff and specifically Nick for giving such wonderful customer service. I would say that the rooms were excellant and I love the choice of firm or soft pillows. They are oddly small but the beds were great. My kids loved the pool and the downtown location allowed us to park the car for the weekend. Kinston is a great place. I read a review about the pets/smell and I noticed the odd dog or two here or there. I suggest that you just ask for a room that is clear of the dogs. There is room cleanig fee for those who leave a smelly room if you break the no smoking rule and maybe they do this to the dog owners too.

Room Tip: The way the harbour is I think there are great views on both sides of the hotel. The staff know the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear swip,

Thank you for your complimentary review. We pride ourselves on our associates ability to offer individual attention to each of our guests and make their stay an experience to remember.

We look forward welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This place gets top marks for location. It's situated directly on the waterfront. Some of the rooms have the water directly below your balcony. Many others have beautiful views of the harbour and across the lake. Thousand Island boat tours are next door. Many restaurants and pubs are minutes away by foot.
In our room, the carpets were looking a bit tired. Corridor noise was noticeable a couple of times during the night. Fortunately, it was short lived and we slept well. These are the only two items we could complain about. The rooms are well equipped with very comfortable beds. (Although we're not big fans of those compact pillows.)
Front desk staff were very professional, friendly and helpful.
We had a lunch and breakfast in the dining room and can say the food was very good.
Parking is free for guests. The parking lot is right outside the front door. The lot is gated but the front desk validates your parking ticket which allows in and out privileges.
A very nice touch was the variety of newspapers available for guests.

Room Tip: Ask where the room is located, as you may not prefer to have the water directly below your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Willrude,

Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront; we appreciate your comments and suggestions. Your mention of smallish pillow size has led us to review our offerings and adjust accordingly for immediate improvement and guest enjoyment.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback, we hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

First, I will say I am a business traveler so have been to many hotels. This hotel was about 180 USD per night, with no included breakfast. My room was ready when I got there but three others in the group were not. The rooms I stayed was very dated, the bathroom light switch in next to the main room door, the bathroom door was very water damaged. The fixtures were so old that the brass was showing through the chrome. There was mold around the tub, there were candy wrappers on the floor and a cigarette box on the floor in the patio space outside the room.
I had a second floor room, perhaps upgrades were done on the upper floors. Everyone in our group of 6 complained about the beds and the pillows, if you stay here bring your own.

Since I am a Priority Club member I was told I was to receive a gift, a bottle of water or a granola bar or a couple of items I can't remember. I asked for the water and was told they didn't have any and I would get it later. I never did.

Did I mention that this hotel costs 180 USD per night!

Branden in the bar was the bright spot, He was very nice and did a very good job with the bar.

If I visit Kingston again, I will not be staying in this hotel. Which is a shame as the location is perfect for visiting the area.

Room Tip: I believe the upper floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Steve_Sy

Thank you for commenting on your stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. Your comments regarding the cleanliness of your bathroom and patio have been brought to the attention of our housekeeping department for their review and investigation. I am also delighted to hear that you were well taken care of by Brandon and will be sharing your comments with him.

I welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally and hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves during your next visit to Kingston. I can be reached at 613.549.8400 ext. 2600.

Regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
898 reviews
2.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Address: 2 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario. We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km)for concerts and Kingston Frontenacs games, 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km), Queen's University (1.53km), boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet. We are proud to present DOX Restaurant & Bar with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. Dox Restaurant & Bar features a delicious breakfast menu and is the perfect place to meet for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Whether you're coming to Kingston on business, looking to hold a meeting or event, or getting away for a family vacation, the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront is your hotel of choice. We look forward to being "At Your Service"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing